We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friday night is music night!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Greswolde Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Knowle
Inkpen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Friday night is music night!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We booked this hotel as we lived in the area until 6 years ago. The room was designated for disabled and I am glad we are able bodied even though we are 70 plus. The shower is a standard over the bath so if you have mobility problems you will find accessing the shower over the bath side difficult. The shower itself locked on and could not be turned off. The Housekeeper got her hair soaked leaning under the shower but succeeded in turning it off. She offered the showers in the Gymn next door which could be a noise issue. The bath taps were set against the wall and difficult to turn on and off even without arthritic fingers.The room is on the ground floor next to reception and bar. Externally there is a drinkers/smokers terrace and a roadway with entrance to the hotel car park. Friday night is music night and a "rock" band played amplified music until midnight. We were not warned about this by the hotel.So avoid the Packwood Suite which is noisy and not suitable for disabled guests. The staff were very good. Our farm fresh eggs were stored in a refrigerator,both receptionists were helpful and friendly. We had continental breakfasts which was all we needed.

Room Tip: Check position re main High Street,bar,drinkers terrace,car park entrance and access road wrapping a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmanbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Greswolde Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Emmanbee

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review regarding your recent experience at the Greswolde Arms Hotel

I would like to apologise that we failed to meet your expectations at the pub in regards to the service you received. I can assure you that I have passed on your comments to the Management Team who would like to investigate your feedback. We have sent you a direct message to discuss this further.

Kind Regards

Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    124
    74
    28
    33
See reviews for
76
99
19
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a business meeting and used the conference facilities the next day. Service from the staff was excellent. Rooms were very well kept and bathrooms spotless. Only downside that I stayed on a room facing the high street which can get rather busy early on.

Bar and food facilities were spot on. Lunch provided was of exceptional quality.

Lovely little hotel with free parking and wifi. Seemed to be popular with the locals.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank 1bellagio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This place is shocking, the service was disgusting, we went in and it took 15 minutes for a member of staff to ask us if we needed a table, so we sat down and it took a further 15 to get served drinks, in the end we left and I am sure the staff wouldn't had notice,vas we where leaving we asked a passerby where another pub is,they suggested one down the road but it was a carvers, however as we where driving home we noticed The boat inn, and our experience was second to none there. Amazing. It wasn't u till today I went to write the reviews and noticed they are under the same company, and I was shocked. The boat inn was amazing and this place was horrendous... Do not go

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Greswolde Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Darren B

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise that we failed to meet your expectations at the Greswolde Arms with regards to the service you received. I can confirm that I have passed on your concerns to the management team who would like to investigate your feedback. We have sent you a direct message to discuss this further.

Kind regards

Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Knowle hotels

Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We were really disappointed with the poor service we received. We asked if we could move tables to be nearer some friends of ours and it was like we had asked the impossible. We ordered gammon steak off the set evening menu and this had already sold out (at 6pm!) So the meal we ended up ordering was much more expensive than we had first anticipated. We then had to wait over half an hour for our food to arrive, we had to go and find out where the food had got to, it eventually arrived then the food was put down on the table without any word from the waitress. After finishing our first course we then waited half an hour and no waitress - we had to go and find her again and then had another long wait for dessert which was slammed down on the table. Then to top it all we had to ask if we could pay which they didn't seem bothered if we did or not.

This has to be the most appalling service we have ever received when eating out. We asked the waitress why the service was so poor and she said well 'it's because you moved to the bar area so we forgot about you'. In actual fact there was no obvious line between the bar and restaurant area and we were literally one table away from where we had originally been seated.

We had never eaten here before as we usually dine at a very popular, and much cheaper, establishment a few metres down the road but chose the Greswolde as we were meeting friends later on for drinks. I know where we will be going in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePurpleScorpion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Greswolde Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear ThePurpleScorpion, thank you for your recent feedback on Trip Advisor. Your comments were a concern to hear and I would like to investigate your visit further with the Management Team of the pub. I have sent you a direct message to discuss this further and look forward to hearing from you soon. Kind Regards, Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

A lovely meal had with work colleagues. Service was very good and all meals arrived at the same time (despite big group). Food good and warm. Evening set menu very good value!
Desserts went down well!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I should start by saying this hotel is in a great place. Really easy to get to lots of places in the Midlands, and it's situated in a nice little town. The good things about this hotel are the staff, they are great and I couldn't honestly find fault with any of them. Breakfast was also good and speedy with lots of variety.
Sadly there were a few things that let the place down, firstly the shower in our room was temperamental and got so hot that my partner actually screamed in pain. The staff let us use another room to shower and we were told the shower was fixed, and it did seem to be. However, the next morning the same thing happened. The shower started normal and then turned boiling after about a minute or so. We reported it as we left so that they could look at it again, but it was a very unpleasant experience. Also food in the evening was a bit hit and miss, again to be fair, the staff agreed that the food had been badly cooked and took the meal off the bill - it was a steak and ale pie, but looked more like a cremated wellie on one side. Also on one of the mornings literally a coach loads of men in fancy dress arrived at breakfast time. They were loud and crude and not what you expect at 9.30 in the morning!
Finally, when we left the bill was completely wrong. We had been charged again for breakfast even though we paid for B&B, weirdly we were actually charged for 6 breakfast instead of 4. Also we had an extra something else on the bill which we hadn't had, so in total the bill was about £20 extra. It was dealt with after some explaining, but these sorts of things tend to sour the whole experience for me. Probably would think twice about staying here again even though it was cheap!

Room Tip: We had a room over looking the car park and it was large and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loncat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

As this hotel is only 10 minutes from the airport it is convenient and more interesting than staying at an airport hotel. The rooms are fine and big enough. Even the rooms on the back of the hotel come with some noise - kitchen extractor, planes etc. There seems to be plenty going on in Knowle if you have time. The meeting room is quite small, maximum 5 people.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knowle
1.8 mi away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
842 reviews
2.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#9 of 28 in Solihull
653 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
2.6 mi away
The St. John's Hotel
The St. John's Hotel
#14 of 28 in Solihull
1,092 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Oak Hotel
The Oak Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hockley Heath
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greswolde Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greswolde Arms Hotel

Property: Greswolde Arms Hotel
Address: High Street, Knowle, Solihull B93 0LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Knowle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Knowle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Greswolde Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its distinctive fresh white exterior and a prominent position on the High Street in the historic village of Knowle, The Greswolde Arms Hotel is a 17th Century former coaching inn on the old turnpike road from London to Birmingham. Situated three miles south of Solihull and midway between Birmingham and Warwick, it is the perfect West Midlands hotel location to explore either city, or enjoy some of the lovely surrounding Warwickshire countryside. Warwick Castle, Cadbury World and Royal Leamington Spa are within easy reach, and Knowle itself retains much charm, with many attractive timber-framed cottages and a 15th Century church and Guild House. The hotel is located just three doors up the High Street from Knowle’s famous 15th Century Chester House Library, a beautifully restored timber framed listed building boasting an authentically designed Elizabethan Knot Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Greswolde Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greswolde Hotel Solihull
The Greswolde Hotel Brasserie
Greswolde Arms Hotel Knowle, West Midlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing