We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great stay...again”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Drougas' Windmill

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Windmill -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Tripiti, Milos, Cyclades, South Aegean

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Mark_Jell...
Northampton
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great stay...again”
Reviewed 16 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Am amazing week at the start of the season. An upgraded bathroom, new BBQ and sun lounge area - it just makes this even more special. It just feels like home when you arrive. Thanks to the family for making us feel very welcome. We will be back in 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laura1
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 21 September 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Great accommodation, fantastic view and looked after superbly. What more could you want?! Perhaps some detail.

There has obviously been a lot of time, money and effort put into renovating this old windmill, the quality is very apparent when you arrive. Its setting at the end of the row of windmills on the ridge gives it the edge over others in the view stakes as you have a great view over the bay and also over the island in the Adamas direction. The welcome food gifts were very generous and much appreciated. The orange marmalade came home with us to enjoy while reminiscing about Milos.

Two further comments, the stairs are very steep and quite narrow but as we were only staying two nights we left our big cases on the ground floor. On the first morning there was a problem with the electrics triggered when we pulled out a plug in the main bedroom. This unfortunately meant no water at all as the water reaches the property via an electric pump. However this was fixed within a couple of hours while we were out enjoying a boat trip. We were informed by text message, I was so overcome with joy that I replied to the text message accidentally with two kisses!! Great customer service.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEtravler...
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just amazing”
Reviewed 15 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Second stay here absolutely amazing place. The owner is so friendly and it is so peaceful a must.... The windmill is so clean and well kept - woodland advise a hire car

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue A
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous views and place to stay”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed here late Sept early Oct 2015. This is a fabulous place to stay and the views are fantastic! Maria looked after us very well coming in every day to clean and make the beds. As other people have said there is a welcome package - everything you need to drink and snacks as well. Cooking is easy as the kitchen is very well equipped and everything you need for clearing up too! Like others have said the towns of Tripiti and Plaka are walking distance and are worth visiting. We hired a car so went further a field and found some lovely remote beaches and some more organised. We were there towards the end of the season so some restaurants were closed and some beaches had shut up too but it didn't cause us any hardship. Would definitely go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrequentG...
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A-mazing place to stay!”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This is one of the best places I have stayed in while travelling in Greece. The windmill has been finished to a very high standard and has everything you need for your stay. The views are incredible and nothing made me happier than sitting in the sun looking out to sea while drinking the wine the owners had left for us. I can't wait to stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta22...
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Have traveled a lot, and this is by far one of my favorite places I have ever to stayed. The hospitality was incredible, and so were the views. If you want a true authentic Greek experience, you should stay here. The owners welcomed us fresh food and drinks, and even stayed up until our ferry came in (4 hours late!) to welcome us. It was comfortable for our family of 4, and had plenty of outside space to relax and enjoy. If you are considering a visit to Milos, you should look into staying here.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jebby3
Greece
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect sanctuary and even more perfect location”
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect spot. You are the last windmill on top of a plateau with 270 degree views of the sea; next door, but not too close, is another windmill preventing the 360 degree view. The kitchen and the second bath is separate, with a large comfortable sitting and dining area covered by a pergola and a garden; all in a gated compound. The windmill itself has a master bedroom not to be missed The hostess upon arrival has stocked the
kitchen with beer soft drinks, wine, water, coffee and various local snack items. Very easy place to stay; walk into the two conjoined towns for meals or shopping; or drive to one of the many (79) beaches on the island. My second trip to Milos this summer; planning a third to stay in the windmill in mid October when the island is a bit less crowded. Highly recommend the windmill.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location; setting, and view
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing