We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Cupboard Under the Stairs”
Review of Aotea Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porirua
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aotea Lodge
Ranked #2 of 3 Porirua B&B and Inns
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The Cupboard Under the Stairs”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This Lodge is great ... we had a lovely good sized room (plus Queen bed in the lounge), swimming pool is excellent, dining room and bar (although we didn't use them) looked very, very nice, and they have an all day café (which we did use) with great food. Staff are friendly, Lodge is well enough off the main road to be very quiet, and the close-by walk around Aotea Lagoon was a highlight. Oh, and very friendly staff.
However ... don't let them give you The Cupboard Under the Stairs. The room we were first directed to (401 - AVOID! And judging by the floor plan, avoid 301 as well) was, quite literally, a cupboard under the stairs. Dark, gloomy, and check out the view from this room! Then check out the view from the room we were moved to after complaining ... which only costs $5 more a night! If you're worryingly obsessed with Harry Potter you'll love room 401, otherwise, keep well away.
Oh, and the spa was disappointing ... only luke warm.

Room Tip: Don't let them give you 301 or 401.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarolynTimarkos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    20
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
30
10
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Recently stayed here for 2 nights, rooms were basic maybe not the cleanest. We were with a group so meals were suuplied on both nights, they were basic but nice. Dissapointed with the pool as is too open, good for kids. Spa didn't look the cleanest so gave that a miss. Friendly and helpful staff, owners were also very accommodating. Don't think I would stay again although location is good.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackie011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bargara, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights and tripped to Wellington by train. We also walked in the area and did a little shopping at Porirua. The room was well kept and equipped and very comfortable. We would happily stay here again on our next trip to the area. The dining room was good as was the Internet connection.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Unable to get a room in Wellington our NZ friend made this reservation. The NZ bus let us off right at the hotel. New Zealanders are so kind! Nice family room, two couples, worked fine. Only problem was it was party time all night. People were hanging outside our windows and beside being very loud they were smoking. The office closed at 7pm so we just had to put up with the noise.

Room Tip: Maybe get a room upstairs. If you are walking to town or the train, the driveway at the hotel is ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank FloripaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stayed at the motel for 3 nights. The prices in wellington are not cheap and this motel offered more facilities compared to motels at similar price. It is just 20 minutes to Wellington town center, and 5 min drive from Porirua shops. The rooms are basic, but there is also a swimming pool and a hot tab which we enjoyed. The service was very good, and people were friendly. The internet available at low cost and is excellent for NZ motels.

Room Tip: A family room, has an extra room for a kid, and few of the rooms also have cooking facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirakl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Stayed only 1 night but the superior studio is spacious and well appointed for longer stays. Although a studio, our room had a couch & armchairs plus a small coffee table which helped define the "living" space. Small kitchen was off to the side, and roomy bathroom had large spa bath. Room and furnishings were clean, modern and comfortable. These units are at the back of the property so it was nice & quiet, and our door opened onto a grassed area giving a nice outlook. Very easy to find being just off the highway.

Room Tip: Go for a superior studio if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrdarcyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We were unable to find accommodation in the city but this place is so handy to the motorway it was a brilliant find.Stayed just one night but would stay longer in future.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hillsflat168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porirua hotels
2.7 mi away
Spinnaker Motel
Spinnaker Motel
#1 of 2 in Porirua
48 reviews
1.4 mi away
Amethyst Court Motor Lodge
1.9 mi away
AAA Mana Motel
AAA Mana Motel
#2 of 2 in Porirua
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Moana Lodge
Moana Lodge
#1 of 1 in Plimmerton
120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marina Motor Lodge
Marina Motor Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mana
46 reviews
1.2 mi away
No photo provided
Belmont Motor Lodge
#6 of 7 in Porirua
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aotea Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aotea Lodge

Property: Aotea Lodge
Address: 65 Whitford Brown Avenue | Papakowhai, Porirua, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Porirua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Porirua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation, restaurant for in-house guest and public, conference facilities, private functions. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing