We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small beds & room”
Review of Spinnaker Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spinnaker Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Porirua
Oxford, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Small beds & room”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We were in the older part of the motel and hada very small room with a small double bed that was also very uncomfortable! Our host was very helpful and at least the roo was clean, but we were alsobacked on to a main road which was very very noisy!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kezzie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSpinnaker, Manager at Spinnaker Motel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thank you for your review and yes we do have different size rooms and it sounds like you were in one of our basic studios. This is the first complaint about beds being uncomfortable and if we knew what unit this was we could then have a look at this particular bed. As for the noise, we are investigating ways around this problem, which we hope will be solved before the end of this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    17
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
12
21
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Unit very clean, only needed for a stopover before getting ferry. Shame the light was left on outside all night. Otherwise suitable for a quick stopover. Fantastic Pizza restaurant in Plimmerton - best we have ever had! Highly recommend The Big Salami.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSpinnaker, Manager at Spinnaker Motel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you found the room very clean and we will certainly pass this onto our cleaners. As for the light being left on, we are very security conscious and having lights on outside the units at night not only does this assist guests who have been our or are arriving late, but it also helps to deter anything happening to the premises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosnells
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Probably our worst noisiest night in New Zealand. The constant rumble and noise of big trucks,cars and motor bikes was awful. Not only from the highway but from a side road. Unit was spotless, well equipped and comfortable. Traffic noise is not a problem for everyone, but we defintely could not recommend if you want a good nights rest.

Room Tip: As far away from either road as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripper128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSpinnaker, Manager at Spinnaker Motel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
We are sorry that you felt that the room was very noisy and do apologise for this. We are the new managers here and that is one thing that is on our agenda is to look at ways of cutting the traffic noise down for the occupants of these particular units. We cannot promise immediate action, but we are investigating ways around this problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We booked this motel via wotif. when we got there the owners were away and we were greeted by a very friendly man. His level of service was awesome. The unit was clean and comfortable. Sadly no spa pool.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LianneJ57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I had researched this motel using Trip Advisor before our holiday to the North Island but did not book as I did not know when we would make the crossing. Once we got to Picton and booked the ferry I rang the motel and asked if we could stay the night but would not get in till 11.30pm. It was no problem for the manager who took our payment, gave us directions and told us which room. When we arrived the room was warm and comfortable and very welcome after a long day. Great to be able to use the internet too. We were so happy with our stay we also stayed on our way home. Smaller room this time but still comfortable. We would stay there again and recommend it to travellers.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GM1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We chose the Spinnaker as we were heading to a party at the Mana cruising club, it was myself, partner and baby, we found everything perfect. The customer service was fantastic and very welcoming, the rooms were tidy, clean and modern. All added up to a lovely, stress free family getaway. Definitely recommend as a great place to stay, we'll be back. Thanks!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MinFerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

A very pleasant stay at the Spinnaker. Spotless rooms, friendly atmosphere. Extremely handy if using the Wellington to Picton Ferry. We stayed at the Spinnaker on our way south and again heading home. The hosts Vaughan and Anna were friendly and welcoming and ensured our stay was a pleasant one. I now know why my husband continually stays at the Spinnaker with his work colleaques! Thank you again, Bev (Rotorua)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skudder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porirua
15.2 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
670 reviews
14.7 mi away
Wrights by the Sea Motel
Wrights by the Sea Motel
#4 of 7 in Paraparaumu
95 reviews
1.0 mi away
Moana Lodge
Moana Lodge
#1 of 1 in Plimmerton
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
AAA Mana Motel
AAA Mana Motel
#2 of 2 in Porirua
62 reviews
4.0 mi away
Amethyst Court Motor Lodge
0.0 mi away
Marina Motor Lodge
Marina Motor Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mana
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spinnaker Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spinnaker Motel

Property: Spinnaker Motel
Address: Cnr Grays Road and State Highway 1 | Plimmerton, Porirua, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Porirua
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Porirua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spinnaker Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome is waiting for you. An older motel that has been extensively refurbished throughout. Local beach which is safe for swimming and lovely for walking along. Close to local facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Spinnaker Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing