We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmont Motor Lodge

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Belmont Motor Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
NZ
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

Great accommodation with very friendly hosts. Spacious rooms, comfortable big beds and lovely modern bathrooms and decor. Very close to motorway and shops. Wireless internet that works. Quiet area and good parking.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juliababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    16
    4
    1
    22
See reviews for
19
33
3
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

This was a first class motel, modern, spacious and well laid out. Warm welcome from the owners Sue and Brian who were very helpful. Everything was sparkling clean and was kept that way during out stay. We were able to commute into Wellington by train, the station being only a few minutes from the motel. There was also a large supermarket and shopping mall again within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

I traveled to New Zealand in January to attend a family wedding. I stayed in the Belmont Motor Lodge for 8 nights and it was a wonderful place to start New Zealand holiday and set the bench mark for accommodation for the remainder of our stay. Our one bed apartment was spacious and clean. The bathroom even had a large corner spa bath. The owners were friendly and helpful at all times. The location is excellent with a 5 min walk to train station and under 10 to Porirua city. The train service is very good and Wellington is easily accessible. I'd highly recommend the Belmont Motor Lodge for value, service and location.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

Our Team was there for 2 nights, ,whilst the units were very nice, we are uable to say the same for the Host I guess Susie & Brian are still there, would not accept a cheque, wanted her hubby to take me to the bank,to get cash , she backed off, when our team Coach stepped forward with her Credit card, I think it was 2 units ran out of hot water, was told well you just need to wait 5 mins then it's hot again, how were our ladies ment to know that, Susie needs a course in people skills

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Majors-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

We stayed for around 10 nights at the Belmont whilst we were visiting family and had booked it on the internet as we are based in Scotland. We were delighted with the property which was very convenient, exceptionally clean and quiet. The units are fitted out to a high spec throughout and the owners could not do enough to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. The kitchen facilities are excellent and we found no problems in cooking dinner for the family. The bathroom is also well equipped with Jacuzzi bath. Despite being close to the main road to Wellington - the rooms are very quiet.We would highly recommend the Belmont and found it great value.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Highlander52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

Perfect location, one level motel in lovely setting. Our unit was very quiet ,an advantage not having a room above us, it was lovely and clean and the room was warm and welcoming. The staff were friendly and helpful and I would rate this at 5 star plus!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Belmont for the second time from Australia, the rooms are spotless, the facillities are excellent and the hosts very friendly and happy to help out. So I am not sure what the people giving bad reviews are talking about. Would recommend to anyone and will definitely be staying again on our next visit to Wellintgon.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porirua
10.4 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
18.5 mi away
Wrights by the Sea Motel
Wrights by the Sea Motel
#4 of 7 in Paraparaumu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amethyst Court Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
AAA Mana Motel
AAA Mana Motel
#2 of 2 in Porirua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
3.8 mi away
Spinnaker Motel
Spinnaker Motel
#1 of 2 in Porirua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
4.5 mi away
Moana Lodge
Moana Lodge
#1 of 1 in Plimmerton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmont Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmont Motor Lodge

Property: Belmont Motor Lodge
Address: 1 Mungavin Avenue, Porirua 5024, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Porirua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Porirua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Belmont Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing