We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational!”
Review of Chateau de Mercues

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau de Mercues
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mercues
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sensational!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Wow, this hotel is fabulous - the food, the service, the building, the wines, the setting and location are world class - with prices to match - if you can justify treating yourself to a stop over and meal do it - you won't regret it!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mark b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gvigouroux, Propriétaire at Chateau de Mercues, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at the château. We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay here.
We hope to see you again !

Hervé Philippon
Maître de maison.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    72
    23
    14
    4
See reviews for
42
198
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

What can I say but AMAZING! You are staying in a renovated castle that is lacking nothing, robes and towels for him and her that are different c,OE's and a mans robe that was big enough for my SO! The rooms are quiet, have wonderful views and nothing is spared. We had chocolates when we arrived, a wine opener to keep, and even got a tour of the cellars below the Chateau. The help is amazingly attentive and nothing is spared. It can be a bit pricey, but we splurged for a night and it was worth it. Wish we had stayed two.

We ate at the restaurant, a one star Michelin restaurant, and the food was divine. Perfect portions, unique combinations, and the presentation was like art on a plate.

Room Tip: Stay here if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khakijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

If you like tranquillity, Incredibly hospitality , Michelin star food and best Malbec than this is the place to be. Medieval Castle with incredibly view and superb amenities.Besides that Cahor is beautiful and there's so many things to see.

Room Tip: All rooms are different and on my opinion depends on the size off the group you will enjoy all of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Igor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gvigouroux, Propriétaire at Chateau de Mercues, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
The whole team joins me in thanking you for your kind words. It will be a pleasure to see you again at the hotel.

Hervé Philippon
Maître de maison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Imagine living in a 13th Century castle overlooking the Lot valley. Well you can at Chateau de Mercues. This amazing four star establishment is a fantasy come true! The views across the Cahors countryside is breathtaking, the staff are well trained and professional and the decor beautifully fits a Chateau that was built in the1300's. The food was awesome, foie gras extraordinary, asparagus as only the french can prepare and the entrecote tender and tasty. Altogether an amazing experience!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ernestjdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The review for this hotel has to be short, because the hotel is so good! Chateau de Mercues is a great hotel in a magnificent setting with breath taking views. Wine is excellent (we ended up taking a few bottles back to Switzerland with us) and the staff was very pleasant, welcoming and forthcoming in a very discreet and friendly way. Our stay was a true 5 star experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Srdjan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gvigouroux, Propriétaire at Chateau de Mercues, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Hervé Philippon
Maître de maison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cahors, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Really nice place to say the least and somewhere I have been wanting to go for a while. We met some friends there, warm welcome and very good wine for the apero. Slight disappointment with the food in that there were too may courses with creamy sauces but otherwise good and very Professional.

If you just do it once it is worth it for the site itself. We were there only to eat for the evening.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovetoeatinfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Wow. A real chateau. I was really looking forward to it. The location, outside of Cahors on a hill overlooking the Lot River, was spectacular. The chateau oozed historic authenticity, and I kept reminding myself that I should expect tics and eccentricities that come with a hotel being hundreds of years old. However, the place was a bit beat up, paint worn off the doors, stained worn carpets in the guest room hallways (although the other common spaces were kept up nicely). We arrived to find a hand written note (and a gift of a cork puller) in the room. We had a large corner room that smelled quite musty although it was clean. The bathroom was huge, but there was only a tub with a hand shower, which created challenges. The beds were very comfortable. The room was quiet. We ate three breakfasts and two dinners in the chateau restaurant. The breakfast buffet was excellent, with many good choices. Dinners were also quite good and service was good. We did a wine tasting one night in the chateau wine cellar, and house wine was good. The only internet access in the lobby, but it is free. They offer laundry service but it is quite expensive and had a 48 hour turn around when we were there. I think this was a great experience but if I were to return to Cahors, I would probably stay in town.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DivineMissMaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mercues
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Divona Cahors
13.7 mi away
Hotel Spa Le Saint Cirq
Hotel Spa Le Saint Cirq
#1 of 2 in Tour-de-Faure
942 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel La Chartreuse
Hotel La Chartreuse
#4 of 13 in Cahors
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Brit Hotel Cahors - Le France
3.9 mi away
Brit Hotel Cahors - Le Valentre
2.3 mi away
Le Clos Grand
Le Clos Grand
#1 of 1 in Pradines
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Mercues? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Mercues

Property: Chateau de Mercues
Address: Rue du Chateau, 46090 Mercues, Cahors, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Lot > Cahors > Mercues
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mercues
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de Mercues 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful like the painting of a great master, Chateau de Mercues bears witness to eight centuries of history and culture in perfect harmony. Both a wine estate and a Relais & Chateaux hotel with a nice fine dining restaurant. Chateau de Mercues is a haven of peace in the heart of the Lot region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Chateau de Mercues reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Mercues Hotel Mercues
Chateau De Mercues Cahors

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing