We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our all-time favorite b&b”
Review of Le Mas Azemar

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mercues
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Mas Azemar
Ranked #1 of 2 Mercues B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Having stayed with Claude and Sabine previously, we returned with friends for three nights. (We liked our experience there so much, that we planned our trip to include the b&b as a base for exploring areas around Cahors and Sarlat.) Not only are the facility and the sleeping rooms beautiful, the mid-18th century home is decorated tastefully, everything about the location being inviting. Claude's English is improving (!), and as Sabine's earlier career demanded a command of English, this couple provides a casual home-like experience in the Lot region, Sabine being most helpful too in assisting with recommendations for day-trips and restaurants in the area. A special treat was the dinner that our hosts shared with us, the food being delectable, the presentation entirely welcoming.

We have stayed in many small b&b's, but especially nice here is the individual attention and the sense that our hosts genuinely enjoy welcoming guests into their home.

This is a facility that warrants planning a part of the Lot/Dordogne exploration with Le Mas Azemar as the base from which to explore the towns, local foods, and the Cahors malbec, as well as the incredible scenery and surrounding villages.

Room Tip: There are no "bad rooms," and each is beautifully decorated and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJT12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2013

We two couples traveling together were the only guests on the night we stayed here, which gave us a special opportunity to talk with our hosts, Claude and Sabine Patrolin, who shared cocktail hour and then dined with us. Both are fluent in English and well traveled. They are happy and patient to help you learn French, and it was a true delight to talk with them. We learned an immense about the food, wine, and culture of France in that one evening, and the atmosphere was so warm and cordial that by the time we got up from the table we felt we had known them for a long time.

Sabine and Claude share the cooking, and our dinner and breakfast were delicious and so plentiful that one has difficulty choosing, all served on Sabine's extensive collection of china and silver. It is a beautiful 18th century home which they renovated to modern standards while preserving its character. It is furnished throughout with interesting antiques, and is cool, quiet, and serene. Our spacious rooms overlooked the flower filled back garden and the pool.

Its location in Mercues puts you west of Cahors, on the edge of the vineyards of the Cahors wine region. We had a quite wonderful wine tasting at Le Chateau Les Bouysses, so near that we could have walked to it. Sabine is generous in assisting with trip planning, and we particularly enjoyed her recommendation of the ancient hill town of Cordes sur Ciel, just over an hour east.

If you want to begin to see France through the eyes of the French, you should plan a visit with this delightful couple.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JTWNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

You've read those books about escaping a dreary life to start a B & B and the challenges that come with it. Here's how to do it. The Mas Azemar has an interesting history, charming hosts, excellent family style dinners and breakfasts but is all up to date and decorated in a very charming way. You'll feel very much at home here with all your needs met and questions answered. As a travel professional I give the Mas the highest marks in all categories!!

Room Tip: No two are alike so arrive a little early so you might be able to choose from those available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chianti1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

In May, 2011, we stayed here for 2 nights with another couple. The place is quite amazing and Sabine and Claude do their best to make their guests feel welcome. The place is a cross between a chateau and a museum!

We had one communal dinner (12 people) and it was wonderful. The ambiance was delightful.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sssteveg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

We stayed here for two days in September. We received a warm welcome from our host (Sabine) who speaks fluent English. The room was spacious, clean and well decorated. The bathroom was fantastic and the bath was amazing. Sabine was very helpful and gave us some tips for visiting the local area and some useful maps. The hotel has a beautiful garden and its own secluded pool.

We also stayed for a candlelight dinner in the evening. We had some lovely Cahors wine and some good French food.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Coverack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

The old facade of this mas hides a very cozy and well decorated interior with spacious bedrooms and dining room as well a giant swimming pool in the backyard. The lady of the house is a perfect host and serves a fine breakfast with home made products. Absolutely recommended when you visit Cahors and its wine region.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Regina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

We stayedat the Mas Azemar on a whirlwind trip down France to Barcelona. We arrived late one afternoon and had to leave first thing in the morning, so were not really able to make the best of the hotel. However, we found a most welcoming host, Sabine and a beautiful property on the ouskirts of a quiet village a few miles from the town of Cahors.

Mas Azemar is the ind of property that you dream of buying in France, but to stay there is a whole lot easier! We had a relaxing swim in the welcomed pool after our 600-mile drive, before meeting for drinks with our hosts and the other guests on the terrace. This was followed by an excellent Table D'Hote meal with wine aplenty and we had a wonderful evening during which we were made to feel as if we were family friends.

My room was very characterful, in keeping with the whole of the property. The bathroom was adequate, but the large and rustic bedroom was very pleasant, furnished with a nice selection of antique furniture. Needless to say I had a very good night's sleep.

Breakfast was again communal, and there was a lovely selection of breads, jams and cheeses as well as cold meats and other delights.

We were sad to have to leave Mas Azemar so quickly, and I would definitelt plan to mke it part of my journey again in the future if ever I find myself in that neighbourhood.

Thanks Sabine, for making us so welcome and for a relaxing stay and such a hearty meal.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank grumpyguts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mercues
0.7 mi away
Chateau de Mercues
Chateau de Mercues
#1 of 1 in Mercues
361 reviews
4.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Divona Cahors
4.4 mi away
Hotel Jean XXII
Hotel Jean XXII
#4 of 13 in Cahors
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Le Clos Grand
Le Clos Grand
#1 of 1 in Pradines
133 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel La Chartreuse
Hotel La Chartreuse
#5 of 13 in Cahors
365 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kyriad Cahors
Kyriad Cahors
#11 of 13 in Cahors
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mas Azemar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas Azemar

Address: rue du Mas de Vinssou, 46090 Mercues, Cahors, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Lot > Cahors > Mercues
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mercues
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing