We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Father and teenage son...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aloita Resort & Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mentawai Islands
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aloita Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Father and teenage son...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

From Padang Airport to the resort and back again, absolutely seamless.

My young teenage son and I went there during a school break with the goal of standing up on a board .... (probably sacrilegious to surfing community, given the reputation this area has for its surf)... and had a great time. We ended up diving and surfing. Our surfing guide and the boat crew were outstanding and the scuba diving instructor was patient and supportive to the needs of a young diver.

If, like us you are learning to surf, booties are a must.

The team on the resort were attentive and the activities well organised with an enthusiastic team that looked after us extremely well.

Rooms (clean, and would pass my wife's test... says it all), meals (we ate way too much) and facilities (lots to keep you entertained between trips out).

My son and I look forward to going back again with the whole family.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ovas69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    33
    5
    6
    2
See reviews for
17
37
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sal Rei, Cape Verde
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Everybody should have the Aloita experience atleast once. The bungalows are really confortable and well furnished. Rooms are top, especially the sleeping quality by huge beds. All the little jungle around makes you feel in a very untouched place, no mosquito azards by the way. Food is great, there's everything you need and the staff is very nice. Surfing is very good even if only 4 or 5 spots you can make all your days because of the few crowd. The Manager Alessandro is very friendly and helpful. From the very first moment I landed at Padang till the last ferry to come back. I stayed 3 weeks and I wished I could have stayed more. Hope to come back soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Furstenfeldbruck, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

it was just amazing !!! wonderful resort realy nice stuff and realy good food.

perfect surf in uncrowded waves over realy realy shallow reef.

perfect guiding and a realy realy good and experienced boot crew.

If I could I´d go back right now !!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stuessy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Aloita is a true paradise, a jewel in the indian ocean sea.
The island is very small. There is no luxury there: the rooms are clean but very simple, with indonesian style bathroom. The food is good and indonesian as well.

What is really making the difference, is that Aloita is still a real indonesian island, with amazing beaches and a sea with such colors that you will dream of for a very long time.
The waves there are one of the best I have ever seen.

The dive spots around the island are incredible. You will see mantas, turtles, and thousands of tropical fish. The diving center of the island is awsome.

I would recommend this island to everybody as it is a real paridise on earth.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emanuele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We just spent a week in this fabolous place. Located in the wild where the only noise is wind and sea it offers comfortable accomodation , cozy enviroment and very kind and fun staff ! A mix of indonesian italian australian argentinian culture and simpaty made this experience really great ! Mentawai are already very well known for world class surf and we can confirm that surprisingly also the diving was amazing: such as deep, drift, naturalistic.. we tried everything the sea could offer and we got our PADI advance diving cerification. Dive master Mario took very good care of us never forgetting safety too in such a wild enviroment. The food is yummy and different everyday and the staff always kind and happy to climb the closest palm tree to get a fresh coconut for us and our relax after diving or surfing.. Manager Alessandro always available for any needs or pool competition... We will definetely come back ! Massi & kelly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Massimo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wshitler
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Really nice resort. Accommodation was perfect. Food was good, fresh and staff was really nice. Good waves around the area. we had fun surfing. Great for a couple or group. Great beach and swimming right in front. Snorkeling is pretty right in front of the resort. Easy to hang out for a non surfer also.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Legian
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Far out. Where to start...?
Ok, before we even got to the Aloita, we were impressed by the way logistics were handled on the ground. This would stay true for when we got to the island.

I got off the boat and onto the jetty/boardwalk on arrival and sarcastically said "Gee, I thought it would be a bit nicer than this!" It is your archetypal tropical island paradise: crystal-clear aqua-blue water; pristine, coconut tree-lined, white-sanded beaches. Aloita have decked it out nicely with impressive polished timber bungalows with palm leaf-thatched rooves.

The waves. What ever the conditions, the surf guide Cahn would take us to the spot that would balance quality waves with fewer crowds. We ended up surfing at least once a day with only a few others out. We were happy to trust Cahn's experience as he has lived in the area for over 6 years and knows the place inside out. It shows. We didn't always surf the 'big name' breaks but were treated to a variety of waves while avoiding the crowds. When the swell picked up, Cahn was onto which breaks would be busy and when. He had a few tactics on timing which payed off for the group. I would highly recommend forgetting about swell reports for the Mentawais they are generally unreliable and its out of your hands anyway. Wake up on the day, and leave the it to the guide... When there is more than 1 option, you'll get a choice. Oh, if you're lucky, he may go out spear fishing and bring back a catch that will turn up as the freshest of sashimi you might ever eat...

The captains of the boats were knowledgeable, experienced and safe.

I stayed there with my fiancé (also a surfer). We found our bungalow to be very comfortable and spacious. Staff made the room up everyday and were very considerate with their timing in doing so. In 3 weeks, our paths only crossed with cleaning staff a couple of times.

The staff were always helpful, happy and conscientious. I don't remember having to lift a finger with luggage and special requests were seen to when we had them. We had fun practicing our Indonesian with the serving and bar staff. Management staff sat with us during meal times entertaining us with some good stories. The photographer McLovin' took great photos and went to a lot of effort to take snaps from a variety of angles. Fun guy to have a beer with too.

The food was good and there was plenty of it. It was always fresh. I recall the chicken (and sometimes the fish) being a bit dry on the BBQ nights, that could improve. We never felt like we had to order anything extra as the buffet always had something tasty on offer...

The extras were pretty heavy. Beers ended up being almost as expensive as at home in Australia. Washing was charged per item of clothing (starting at about $2each +21% tax). All of this we were made aware of on arrival as it is written in a brochure in the room. So we were prepared for a bit of damage. We ended up extending our stay and felt we were well looked after by management in this respect.

On a couple of surf lay days. We went SCUBA diving (my partner did her certification there). There were a couple of pretty cool sites. The dive master made a great guide and teacher and we were both happy with him.

All in all, like anywhere in the Ments you will pay more than in the rest of Indonesia. But we will never regret what we spent for the quality of experience... You all do a really good job, Aloita :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mentawai Islands
0.0 mi away
Krui Mutun Walur Surf Camp Guest House
0.0 mi away
Hollow Tree's Resort
Hollow Tree's Resort
#4 of 5 in Mentawai Islands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
25.8 mi away
Playground Surf Resort
Playground Surf Resort
#1 of 2 in Pulau Masokut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Matungou - Mentawai Surf
0.0 mi away
Surf Camp Siberut
Surf Camp Siberut
#5 of 7 in Siberut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloita Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloita Resort & Spa

Property: Aloita Resort & Spa
Address: Simakakang Island, Tuapejat, West Sumatra, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > West Sumatra > Mentawai Islands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mentawai Islands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloita Resort & Spa is the most complete and comfortable Resort in Mentawai-Indonesia.Aloita is the ideal place for surfers, divers and for those persons that simply want to relax.Please feel free to contact us for further information and rates. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aloita Hotel Mentawai Islands
Aloita Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing