We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply great”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mentawai Islands
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aloita Resort & Spa
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Great place, stunning location and awesome staff. It's the kind of place where you can just swim, relax and never get bored even if you don't do anything all day long :). The spa does not offer many services, but the massages are great and inexpensive. The surf guides are exceptional !!...thank you guys!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bubaloid j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 51 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is a wonderful resort. If you want to get away from the chaos/excitement of Jakarta, Padang, and all the other busy towns in Indonesia, this is the place. From the beach, you can hardly tell that there is a resort behind the trees. We don't surf and went to Aloita to get away (we live in Padang) and dive (we are marine biologists). Mario (dive guide, resort manager, etc.) took us to the twin islands to the west of the resort (2 dives) and a submerged reef seaward of the islands (1 dive). Visibility was good and small and medium sized fish abundant. One of the real treats was on the submerged reef. As we dropped into the water a huge school of barracuda met us. Not long after schools of humpheaded parrotfish swam around us for an hour. We also enjoyed the reef just off the resort - just need to dive at the top or bottom of the tide so you don't have to fight the current. Lots of fish and coral. We also dived a coastal reef in a more protected area and enjoyed the lack of current and the coral diversity in this protected area. The accommodation was very comfortable - wonderful to sit out on the verandah and have a read with no one else around. The food was diverse and delicious and the staff great. Fun to hear the surfies talk surf talk. A change from divers talking about nudies and wunderpus. Diving is Indian Ocean and not as diverse as Manado. Everyone went out of their way to help us. Thanks Nelvie, Nacho and everyone else. We will be back.

Room Tip: only 8 bungalows. all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank divernorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The title says it all. I recently spent 15 days at Aloita with some friends, and it was unbelievable! We lucked into two weeks of awesome surf, and we were able to hit all of the great breaks in the local area, at Playgrounds, and Lances. Our surf guide, Cahn, was exceptional and took a great deal of pride to get us into pumping waves away from the traffic of the charter boats that were working in the early season. I can't say enough about Cahn's professionalism, good-natured and fun-loving spirit, and his love for the Mentawai and the surf.

The resort staff is wonderful. Alex, Mario, and Nacho, always went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed to thoroughly enjoy our trip. The food is first rate, and after surfing 6 to 8 hours a day it was great to unwind ON LAND in the comforts of the resort.

This is my second trip to Aloita and I know I will return!

Room Tip: All the bungalows are great. We stayed in the Family bungalow, which worked out well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 890RobertR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

A girlfriend and I decided to spend a week in the Mentawai's, despite not being surfers. We arrived from Padang with no plan and the Aloita staff were incredibly accommodating. We went in low season so it was very quiet and peaceful (I imagine it's like this all the time though!) and were blown away. The staff were so lovely and helpful, the food was amazing, massages were great, snorkelling was unbeli and the island is just so beautiful. As two young women we felt safe and very looked after. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8aliceecila8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I can't rate this place high enough. As an experienced surf guide working currently in the Maldives ( 3 years ) and as a surf instructor for ten years before that I understand the industry very well.
Taking a trip to aloita resort and sitting on the other side of the fence as a guest I was overwhelmed by the friendliness, manner and professional attitude that all the staff employed.
The area surrounding the resort is truly stunning. It is like taking a trip back in time with magnitudes of deserted beaches and lush jungle. Also, tiny isolated villages where local mentawaii tribes still live day to day, without any western creature comforts who every time, are so stoked to see you. It's really remarkable.
The team am aloita, Alex and Mario who manage the resort do so in such a relaxed yet professional manner allowing all guests to truly become their friends which makes it a very homely feel. Nothing is too much for these guys. My hat goes off to Kahn, our surf guide who knows this part of the world like the back of his hand. Extremely knowledgable and happy to share his information, he is the first white man to marry into the mentawaii clan, living with his local wife and beautiful baby girl when he is not working for the resort. The guy rips too.
Nacho the dive guide/ bartender will help you out with absolutely whatever you need , a really lovely guy who just doesn't stop working the whole time. He has time for everyone.
Nelfi makes the most beautiful food and is always around with a smile to make your glorious day even better.
To make things even better, the waves were pumping ! We scored early season February, waves everyday with the highlight being a session at the famous ht's, where it was flawless all day with only 5 guys out. Google "swell net aloita early season ments" to check out the evidence.
The trip gets a 10 out of 10 for me... Already planning to go back in November.
A massive thank you to all the staff at aloita who made this the best surf trip I've had for a very long time. Can't wait to see all again soon !

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank robertunderwood23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We visited Aloita Resort & Spa at the beginning of February and stayed for 7 nights. We had a wonderful experience from the moment we got picked up from the airport to the end of our stay. The staff were friendly and made our experience there a very pleasant and memorable one.

The resort is located in an idyllic setting with a beautiful sandy beach and amazing views. Our bungalow was extremely well appointed and comfortable. The food that was served to us everyday was delicious, fresh and plentiful.

Unfortunately, the waves were not very good when we were there in early February. However, we still had a wonderful time at the resort. It's a fantastic island getaway for both surfers and non-surfers alike.

Thanks to everyone for the great experience! :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teeleef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

From Padang Airport to the resort and back again, absolutely seamless.

My young teenage son and I went there during a school break with the goal of standing up on a board .... (probably sacrilegious to surfing community, given the reputation this area has for its surf)... and had a great time. We ended up diving and surfing. Our surfing guide and the boat crew were outstanding and the scuba diving instructor was patient and supportive to the needs of a young diver.

If, like us you are learning to surf, booties are a must.

The team on the resort were attentive and the activities well organised with an enthusiastic team that looked after us extremely well.

Rooms (clean, and would pass my wife's test... says it all), meals (we ate way too much) and facilities (lots to keep you entertained between trips out).

My son and I look forward to going back again with the whole family.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ovas69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Aloita Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloita Resort & Spa

Address: Simakakang Island, Tuapejat, West Sumatra, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > West Sumatra > Mentawai Islands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mentawai Islands
Price Range: £95 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloita Resort & Spa is the most complete and comfortable Resort in Mentawai-Indonesia.Aloita is the ideal place for surfers, divers and for those persons that simply want to relax.Please feel free to contact us for further information and rates. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aloita Hotel Mentawai Islands
Aloita Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing