We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for a wedding!!”
Review of The Stanwick Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Stanwick Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stanwick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Wow!! We have just returned home to Australia and cannot thank the Courtyard enough for our amazing wedding..My husbands family and friends live local and could not praise the Hotel enough.. Hayley, Lee, Mandy and all the staff did a wonderful job..The staff decorated the ceremony and reception beautifully!! The food, service and presentation of the day was unbelievable.. We could not have asked for a better day!! The UK sunshine was even on our side:) Highly recommend the Courtyard for its beautiful gardens, accommodation and exceptional hospitality...GREAT VENUE!! Thanks heaps Tallia and William

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tallia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyardhotel54, Owner at The Stanwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

So glad you enjoyed your day! Thank you
Team Courtyard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
There are newer reviews for The Stanwick Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2013

As parents of the bride you can only hope that the 'big day' goes as smoothly as possible and all the planning undertaken proves to be time well spent. To say that the day could not have been better would be an understatement. It was perfect. This is a huge and genuine compliment to the owners and each and every member of staff at The Courtyard. We now have a wealth of fabulous memories and so very much of this comes down to the venue, Lee, Hayley and all the team working there. Nothing was too much trouble. Bearing in mind we had the ceremony there followed by a sit down meal for 100 guests and 160 for the evening the staff took it all in their stride and we have received compliment after compliment from everyone who shared the day with us. We also took all of the hotel rooms and they were also first class. We had a fabulous day and our daughter and son-in-law had the wedding of their dreams. A massive thank you to the team at The Courtyard because you deserve it. Andrew and Karen Clarke.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenandAndrewClarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyardhotel54, Owner at The Stanwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

So glad we made you happy!
Team Courtyard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We had our wedding here 11/08/2013.venue was perfection, staff were extremely helpful.Lee the manager was exceptional in making the day perfect and stress free for us.wedding breakfast was served with speed and skill without rushing around and tasted exceptional .80 covers with no complaints, only praise from both sides of our families.very well kept gardens, good size well laid out rooms, picturesque setting for any wedding.EXCELLENT.many thanks guys
Gary and Natalie Francis

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gazroofa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyardhotel54, Owner at The Stanwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

So glad you enjoyed your spcial day. Congratulations
Jo & Team Courtyard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Stayed here on a short business trip to the area and chose purely based on location. Exceeded my expectations generally. The Loft (my room) was small but comfortably furnished and even had air conditioning. The bathroom was clean and the water pressure was great. The welcome on arrival was very friendly.

I ate in the hotel restaurant and the service was very pleasant but the waitress was rushed off her feet due to the amount of customers, so things were a bit slow. The steak and chips special was well cooked and well presented.

Only small negatives - my room was a bit close to the main road - if this bothers you ask for one further away, and the check-out was a bit perfunctory which was a surprise given the friendliness of everyone else I had dealt with. The kitchen staff smoked under the bedroom window.

Room Tip: Some rooms front the road - if noise concerns you check first.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyardhotel54, Owner at The Stanwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Thank you for your honest critique. Staffing is difficult to get right. We like people to book but if they just walk in it puts us under pressure as you experienced!
The window nearest to the road in the Loft should be locked this will reduce noise & tobacco fumes. The room is air conditioned and there is another window overlooking the gardens.
Kind regards
Jo & Team Courtyard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

My wife and i decided to take her brother and partner for a meal. We were not disappointed a free appetizer followed by our starters, main meal and dessert. All we could get from our guests were oohs and arrs that tastes so good i was almost ready to ask them as they enjoyed their meal so much would they like to pay. Service was very quick the staff attentive bar staff keen to serve; alround a damn good evening but the food was definitely the star of the evening.
Keep up the good work well done, pat everyone on the back you have done a great job. We will be back.
Chris L

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank chris l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyardhotel54, Owner at The Stanwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Thank you for expressing your appreciation. So glad you enjoyed your time with us
Team Courtyard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This is a lovely place for a wedding and prides itself on that. Therefore, don't book a table in the restaurant for Saturdays!!!
Lovely Italian nights on Thursday and the "Steak nights" on Friday are excellent.

During the week it appears to be a business venue and there are a number of people staying in the hotel.

Can't seem to work out their Wednesdays, though!
Half price drinks and "nibbles" appear from the kitchen. The barman is very popular and dresses in an array of bow ties and waistcoats! Loads of people arrive and its kisses all round. Everyone who knows everyone resorts to kissing.
There is a chap there who clearly comes for the food and even complains if there seems to be a lull or a lack of food.
* last week the same fellow was seen "clearing up others' leftovers" and the bar staff actually encouraged him!!
Wonderful setting and is really worth a visit. Need someone to kiss me next time!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyardhotel54, Owner at The Stanwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Hi Mike!
I'll make sure you get lots of kisses next Wednesday! Wacky Wednesday is an event Phil, our bar manager (of the waistcoats etc.) has hosted for many years. He is a National Treasure so we carry on the tradition.
Saturday nights are no longer affected by weddings. We did have a staff shortage last week but normally the weddings do not interfere with dining experiences.
We did have a chef(long gone) who thought work was over after the wedding breakfast but this is certainly no longer the case.
Thanks for your comments
Kind regards
Jo & Team Courtyard x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Before I give this place a second chance, I will ask that all important question " have you got a wedding party booking ? " We arrived early for our booking on Saturday 29th, we expected to have a drink at the bar before dinner but the pleasant young lady said that our table was ready and we could go straight in. Drinks order taken and they arrived in a timely manner and our food order taken was then taken . 2 starters and 2 mains. After about 30 mins we were offered some bread whilst we waited. An hour after taking our order a complementary starter arrived.......(left over from the wedding ?) We then waited another 15 mins before our actual starter arrived. At no time was an explanation or apology offered. Overall the food was good but it will be some time before we risk going there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyardhotel54, Owner at The Stanwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

I apologise for the abysmal service. It was nothing to do with the wedding. Heads will roll. We will contact you regarding a complimentary meal.
Kind regards
Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanwick
6.6 mi away
Ibis Wellingborough
Ibis Wellingborough
#2 of 4 in Wellingborough
386 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Hind Hotel
The Hind Hotel
#3 of 4 in Wellingborough
253 reviews
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Wellingborough Rushden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Kettering Park Hotel and Spa
16.4 mi away
Highgate House Hotel
Highgate House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Creaton
731 reviews
6.5 mi away
Barton Hall Hotel
Barton Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barton Seagrave
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stanwick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stanwick Hotel

Address: West Street | Northamptonshire, Stanwick NN9 6QY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Stanwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stanwick
Price Range: £76 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stanwick Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanwick Hotel is a beautiful small hotel in the Northamptonshire countryside. It is privately owned and run by a dedicated team of hospitality professionals, who aim to ensure a relaxing and pleasant stay. The hotel is located in the village of Stanwick, close to Wellingborough and Kettering and convenient for Northampton and Milton Keynes. It has 22 well appointed en-suite bedrooms, with free internet access, Freeview television and tea and coffee making facilities. As well as this there is a restaurant on site offering all meals as well as a communal lounge for guests to relax in and beautiful gardens to enjoy. The Courtyard Restaurant offers a wide range of freshly prepared modern British food. The Stanwick Hotel has a purpose built entertainment suite making it a perfect location for weddings and other celebrations, exhibitions and conferences all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Stanwick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stanwick Hotel Northamptonshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing