We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING - Stay here!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iriarte Jauregia Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bidania
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 15 June 2012

This hotel and its surrounding area was amazing and beautiful. We were greeted warmly by Steve who gave us maps and helpful information about nearby towns, which was such a relief after a long day of crazy travel. Our room was on the 3rd floor with the best view of all because it was the only room with 4 windows - the view was incredible and the room was perfect. We ate dinner that night in the hotel's restaurant and enjoyed it highly. Overall, the staff was very helpful in giving us advice when we asked for it about where to eat. Especially enjoyed eating at cider house about 30 minutes away recommended by one of the staff members. The breakfast was delicious - best hotel breakfast of all our travels. It is well worth the drive up the mountain to find this hotel. If you are in the area - stay here - you will not regret it!

Room Tip: We loved our room (304) on the 3rd floor with 4 windows and the best view in the hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tacojenny56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
There are newer reviews for Iriarte Jauregia Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2012

7 of us just returned from a week-long trip to the Basque region. We decided to make Iriarte Jauregia our "base of operations" for the entire trip, and it was well worth it. First and foremost, the location is absolutely beautiful. The tiny town of Bidegoian is nothing to write home about, but it's clean and quiet. The hotel is situated about 1/4 mile "above" the town on a small road through a farm field. Approaching the hotel, is not straightforward, but if you follow the signs and take a print out with you from the hotel's website, it's pretty easy to get to.

The hotel, itself, is gorgeous. It's a completely gut-renovated structure with the just the exterior and some interior elements still intact. This gives you all the modern amenities (like electricity and modern plumbing), but the hotel still retains it's old-world charm. The grounds are very neat and tidy with a comfortable lounging area overlooking the valley. The rooms are relatively spacious and very comfortable. We had a room on the 3rd floor with a slanting ceiling. Although it's a lovely architectural feature, it's a bit annoying to have to duck when going to "that side" of the room. That said, I only bumped my head once or twice and it really wasn't a big deal. Only rooms on the 3rd floor have this "feature" and since we only slept in our room, it wasn't a big deal, at all.

We had breakfast there every morning. It's continental/buffet style, but all the main food groups are covered: coldcuts (local ham), eggs, sweets, cereal, yogurt, etc. Coffee is amazing, as is the case all over Europe and we had wonderfully, fresh-squeezed orange juice every morning. Dinner at the restaurant's hotel was very nice, as well. We had 1 dinner the first night as we had reservations to the various Michelin starred hotels in the area for each of the other nights. They even made us a special birthday cake as we were celebrating that first night.

The biggest highlight of our stay, however, has to be the staff. They were wonderful! Everyone was extremely helpful and accommodated our every request: from a simple cup of tea out in the lounge area to making use of mushrooms we bought at the local farmer's market and making us a special omelet for breakfast. Language was NOT a problem as everyone speaks fine English. The staff is quite knowledgable about the area and made several recommendations about places to see and things to do.

The only comment I would have is that the location is about 30-40 minutes outside of San Sebastian. In and of itself, this is not a problem (at least not for us), but the hotel is about 4 miles off the main highway through a winding, mountain road. At 1am after eating a good meal, the mountain road is the last thing you want to deal with...I don't want this particular comment to deter anyone from staying at the hotel, however, but it is something that should be noted and people to be prepared for. The road did not minimize our enjoyment in any way, and perhaps because we stayed at the hotel for 7 days, it just got on our nerves towards the end of our vacation.

All in all, we would give this hotel an 11 out of 10 stars!

Thanks,
Ari

P.S. Did I mention that the price is unbeatable? At 109EU per night, it's a steal!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anuta77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Best value for money. The hotel is very clean and the service is excellent. Highly recommend if you have car.
It's a real get away. It's run by a family who are actively involved in running the Hotel which makes it more loved and better service in my opinion. Should you be traveling through the basque region and San Sebastian , it is most definitely worth staying. We loved this hotel and I'd we could have stayed longer, we would have.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ddegani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Very nice location for those who are interested in a quite place. Perfect for romantic travels, charmy hotel, very kind and high trained staff, you feel you are in a small castle.
It worth every euro!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Excellent hotel where we felt like home.
What was good:
- The room was spacious, pleasantly decorated, bathroom had a window (so you may have a bath and listen to cows and cock-a-doodle-doo)
- Room service
- Kids amenities (good baby cot, kids soap and shampoo)
- Breakfast and dinner (beef was delicious!)
- Laundry service was fast, good and had reasonable price
- Country outside (you may also have lunch from fresh products at Bidegoian canteen for 7 euro per person), tall pine-tree in the yard, view from window, closed domestic church
- Library and bar are very comfortable
- Free Wi-fi
- Excellent friendly staff

Areas of improvement:
- baby high-chair doesn't fit tables in the restaurant
- deck-chairs on the terrace might be good idea

Note:
It's quite far from main sights and POI!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alff2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

This was our final stay in Spain after a month away and we were absolutely delighted with our choice. The hotel was beautiful, the rooms modern, clean and comfortable, and the bar and lounge areas were immaculate and very welcoming.

In particular we found all members of staff extremely helpful and efficient with good recommendations of places to visit for our short stay here.

The food was very good and the service excellent, we will definitely be visiting here again on our way down to Spain later in the year.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendyjane2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Our stay at Iriarte Jauregia was difficult to assess. No question this is a nice building, just outside of a small rural village, providing peace and quiet. The drive to Donastia / San Sebastian is relatively easy, and if you get off the highway the roads through the nearby countryside are spectacular.

The entrance, lobby and staircases are beautiful. The rooms are of course clean and our Superior room was a nice size. But for the price the room was not outstanding, in particular the first one we had. We had specifically requested (many months ago) a less modern room, one with stone and wood as presented in some of the on-line photos. I was quite disappointed (although admittedly my wife was happy with the room) to find us in a very sterile, modern room. When I mentioned this to the receptionist I sensed little concern or interest, given there were no other rooms available that night. On the other hand when I followed up in the morning the lady then at reception was extremely understanding and helpful, showing us a number of other rooms if we wanted to switch, which we did. The views from the rooms are nice, although not as outstanding as other places we have stayed.

Breakfast was certainly good although dinner disappointing - average at best (although our waiter was top notch).

No question Iriarte Jauregia is a very nice place. While my wife would rate the hotel as Very Good, when I consider the cost, and alternative places we have stayed for more or less the same cost, the 'modern' room we were first provided and dinner, I've concluded 'Average' as the most appropriate overall rating.

Room Tip: The side of the building facing the village have the better views.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NSMoosehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bidania
15.0 mi away
Hotel Torre Zumeltzegi
15.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Soro
Hotel Villa Soro
#2 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
830 reviews
15.4 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Arantza Hotela
Arantza Hotela
#1 of 1 in Arantza
219 reviews
11.9 mi away
Hotel San Prudentzio
Hotel San Prudentzio
#1 of 5 in Getaria
205 reviews
14.6 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iriarte Jauregia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iriarte Jauregia Hotel

Address: Lugar Eliz 8, 20496 Bidania, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > Bidania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bidania
Price Range: £93 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iriarte Jauregia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iriarte Jauregia Hotel is an elegant 17th century palace located in Gipuzkoa, in an impressive valley surrounded by woodlands and mountains and only 25 minutes from the centre of Donostia-San Sebastian. Its interior design is a product of carefully selected decor that brings together the past and the present to create an intimate, quiet and relaxing atmosphere. 19 Charming rooms with character. The only aim of the splendid views, the materials, textures, colours and each little touch is to make every stay an experience that is full of pleasant sensations. Luxury surrounded by nature. Thanks to its excellent location in the centre of the Basque Country, you can enjoy tranquillity and nature and also conveniently visit the main tourist attractions. Very good road links. Tolosa (10 km), Azpeitia (13 km) and only 25 minutes from the centre of Donostia-San Sebastian. Iriarte Jauregia has different areas which allow you to make the most of your stay. It has a large garden where you can relax in the shade of an ancient tree, have a drink on the terrace while you watch the sunset, or enjoy a tasty outdoor breakfast, weather permitting. Outdoor parking and free Wi-Fi connection. In its BAILARA Restaurant, led by Chef Enrique Fleischmann you will enjoy a signature cuisine in a warm and friendly atmosphere. Additionally, in the Snack Bar and the Library Room you will find a pleasant, laid back place to enjoy your favourite drink and the informal Quick & Easy menu. You will can enjoy luxury beauty and wellness treatments in the privacy of your room. Wellness, cuisine and relaxation. Four stars of complete comfort. Luxury surrounded by nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Iriarte Jauregia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iriarte Jauregia Hotel Spain/Bidania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing