We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iriarte Jauregia Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bidania
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 31 October 2013

If you don't like huge modern luxury hotels in the city, then the Iriarte Jauregia may be the place for you. It's located in the middle of nowhere in an old, restored villa. There's a very limited number of rooms and the hotel staff tries to get to know you personally as quickly as they can. The Finish (!) receptionist is an excellent ambassador for the hotel and even the area.

The rooms are modern and spacious, but one does notice the obvious differences with the "anonymous luxury factories" in big cities. The first is that all instructions are in the Bask language first and Spanish second. The owner chooses his country and his language over the most common language of the visitors and to me that's not hospitality. The same goes for the TV: only local stations, not a single English channel.

The shower is also meant for small Spanish people, for me the shower head came up to chest/chin height and isn't adjustable. Pretty uncomfortable! There's no bath robe, nor are there slippers in the room.

On the plus side: parking is easy and spacious, wifi is free and reasonably quick, breakfast is fresh and tasteful.

For business, this place is decent but not ideal. For couples this hotel may be very attractive since it is hidden away, very personal, intimate and simply charming.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevator, it is very noisy and may disturb you in your sleep.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank i0kan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
There are newer reviews for Iriarte Jauregia Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

This is a truly outstanding choice for a relaxing, quality few days retreat in the Spanish Pyrenees.
It is a beautiful building in a beautiful setting. The hotel is spotless and the staff are of the highest quality.
The restaurant has a short menu but the quality is outstanding.
The rooms are well appointed and the grounds are comfortable.
The nearby town of Tolosa looks a bit grim but the staff will recommend a couple of very friendly, if basic, tapas bars where we had a first class welcome.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Even if we got lost and then the road had a diversion, we still made it and this place is really amazing. Full credit to the owners for the restoration, they have kept the charm, yet completely modernised the building. The grounds, surrounding village and farms really create a relaxing atmosphere. Just wish that I was staying longer... We will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kezza361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My daughter & her husband picked this hotel as the site for their wedding reception. A group of us traveled from the US and spent the previous week there. Most of them had not visited Spain before and they were blown away. The setting is magical, with views that are unbelievable. The hotel & its grounds are beautiful. The setting is quiet & peaceful even the roosters were polite enough to wait until at least 9am to start crowing. The rooms, especially the superior ones, were very comfortable. The bride spent the week in the suite, which has to be seen to be believed, an enormous living/dining area with two bedrooms, each with its own bath. We enjoyed several meals in their restaurant - the innovative & exceptional cuisine one finds in Basque Country at very reasonable prices. The desserts were amazing. They also have a casual menu in the lounge area if you're not interested in a big meal. They set up a cocktail reception with delicious pinchos on little more than 36 hours notice! Because we were there for a wedding, we had a myriad of tasks & errands, all accomplished with helpful suggestions about where to get tuxedos & gowns steamed, where to buy gift to take home, and alternative places to eat. Everyone from the owners to the chambermaids were friendly and accommodating. If you're interested in spending a lot of time in San Sebastian, this is not the most convenient location on a steep winding road up the mountain. If you want to combine beauty, peace and a comfortable base for day trips around the region it is perfect.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are worth the extra money. If you want a total splurge, go for the suite.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melemelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The drive to this hotel is fantastic, climbing along winding roads until you reach the property sat atop a hill amongst rolling countryside. It is very peaceful, located just on the outskirts of the nearest village.

The hotel itself is converted from an old manor house, and this has been done in a contemporary style which sits well with the building as there is a clear distinction between the original features and the new contemporary elements.

Check-in was friendly and efficient, and we were shown to our room (not something standard in a four star) which was a nice touch. The room itself was stylishly decorated, and much like the rest of the property, incorporated new and old elements. Due to the architecture of the building, the windows are rather small and recessed so the room was not naturally bright. The complimentary minibar and pillow menu were nice touches. For me, the bathroom was a little bit basic/small – given the size of the room, a much larger space could have been given to the bathroom and a separate shower and bath installed. There was nothing wrong with it, but it just could’ve been done a lot better. Bathrobes were not provided either which is strange, although not hugely inconvenient, but at the prices charged, these would be expected.

Breakfast was good overall, but with a few tweaks could’ve been much, much better. The bread selection was excellent and you could toast it yourself which avoids waits for invariably cold toast! Orange juice is fresh and served to you at the table; a jug should also be left out so guests can top up their own glasses as this isn’t offered at present (and I couldn’t be bothered asking for a refill). The fruit selection is more of a fruitbowl as the prepared fruit comprises a couple of tinned items, which in Spain in the summer is totally unnecessary; the fresh fruit should be prepared each morning. The cereal selection is basic, perhaps a homemade granola or muesli (not complicated) would be better. The hot items, namely sausages and tortilla were better on some days than others; there is no need for inconsistency. The pastry/cake selection wasn’t bad, but wasn’t remotely Spanish, so a slight change here too wouldn’t go amiss. This all might sound petty, but the foundations are there to create a splendid breakfast much more in keeping with the special nature of this property.

I didn’t have dinner at the property as the menu didn’t really appeal to me. If they had offered something closer to “comfort food” (local, and Spanish of course… I am not talking pizza!) instead of fine dining I would have been tempted to try it. In an area crammed with fine dining, adding another fine dining establishment seems a strange thing to do. San Sebastian offers a plethora of fantastic places from Pinchos to Chuleta to Tarta de Queso to 3* Michelin dining! If you don’t want to travel into San Sebastian in the evening, then Restaurante Fronton in Tolosa is fantastic (see separate review).

The grounds are relatively compact, but there are plenty of chairs and loungers should you wish to spend time on the lawn taking in the peace and beautiful scenery. Some people have commented on a swimming pool – it is very apparent that this property doesn’t have one, so it is not a fair criticism to level. It is hard to see where there would be space for a pool, and in the hills, the weather is noticeably cooler that at sea level so use would also be very limited. I can fully understand why there isn’t one! San Sebastian is a short and easy drive away so by staying here you can get the best of both worlds: seaside resort and countryside retreat.

There is nothing to really criticise about this property, rather, there are areas that need a bit more attention to detail to create an hotel that is truly special and excels in all areas. The other thing is the price, which I think is probably 10-15% too much for the level of service offered. The room rate in high season sits only a little bit below that of The Ritz Madrid which is 5* GL and offers full service e.g. twice daily room service, valet parking, etc. etc. It is certainly a cheaper alternative to staying in San Sebastian, but I think at current rates it just needs to offer a bit more value in terms of service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IntlTraveller21stc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We used this as base for visiting San Sebastián (and surrounds) and although it is a reasonable distance away, it worked well as parking in San Seb. is central and cheap. We stayed three nights and on one night had a good meal in the excellent restaurant (see my review of this). I could not not speak more highly of the staff who laboured a bit with our English but, hey, this is Spain, not London and even there the spoken word occasionally needs subtitles. It was unusual to be served at breakfast by the attentive owner/entrepreneur, who was full of local information. The entire manor building had been recently restored from its original use as his family home, so all facilities were modern. Decorations a mix of comfortable antique and modern. Our twin room was excellent with a great view over rolling paddocks with the major noise coming from cow-bells.
The only problem we encountered was the variable free WiFi due to the very thick stone walls of the building structure. It would also have been convenient to have had other restaurants in walking distance to avoid drink driving; the local town had none.

Room Tip: Book well ahead!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcoPoloTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The countryside surrounding this hotel is extremely beautiful. The hotel building is gorgeous and the common areas of the hotel are beautiful. The rooms are very comfortable with very nice bathrooms. The breakfast is absolutely fantastic.

This hotel would be SPECTACULAR if they invested in a beautiful heated pool. At minimum, they need to create an inviting outdoor seating area where people may sit comfortably and socialize (and perhaps be served drinks and food) amidst the stunning scenery. Otherwise, there isn't much to do in the immediate area. The absolutely magical city of San Sebastian is a 30-40 minute drive.

Room Tip: The views are beautiful from the third floor facing the villiage.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bidania
15.0 mi away
Hotel Torre Zumeltzegi
15.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Soro
Hotel Villa Soro
#2 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
830 reviews
15.4 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Arantza Hotela
Arantza Hotela
#1 of 1 in Arantza
219 reviews
11.9 mi away
Hotel San Prudentzio
Hotel San Prudentzio
#1 of 5 in Getaria
205 reviews
14.6 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iriarte Jauregia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iriarte Jauregia Hotel

Address: Lugar Eliz 8, 20496 Bidania, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > Bidania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bidania
Price Range: £93 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iriarte Jauregia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iriarte Jauregia Hotel is an elegant 17th century palace located in Gipuzkoa, in an impressive valley surrounded by woodlands and mountains and only 25 minutes from the centre of Donostia-San Sebastian. Its interior design is a product of carefully selected decor that brings together the past and the present to create an intimate, quiet and relaxing atmosphere. 19 Charming rooms with character. The only aim of the splendid views, the materials, textures, colours and each little touch is to make every stay an experience that is full of pleasant sensations. Luxury surrounded by nature. Thanks to its excellent location in the centre of the Basque Country, you can enjoy tranquillity and nature and also conveniently visit the main tourist attractions. Very good road links. Tolosa (10 km), Azpeitia (13 km) and only 25 minutes from the centre of Donostia-San Sebastian. Iriarte Jauregia has different areas which allow you to make the most of your stay. It has a large garden where you can relax in the shade of an ancient tree, have a drink on the terrace while you watch the sunset, or enjoy a tasty outdoor breakfast, weather permitting. Outdoor parking and free Wi-Fi connection. In its BAILARA Restaurant, led by Chef Enrique Fleischmann you will enjoy a signature cuisine in a warm and friendly atmosphere. Additionally, in the Snack Bar and the Library Room you will find a pleasant, laid back place to enjoy your favourite drink and the informal Quick & Easy menu. You will can enjoy luxury beauty and wellness treatments in the privacy of your room. Wellness, cuisine and relaxation. Four stars of complete comfort. Luxury surrounded by nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Iriarte Jauregia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iriarte Jauregia Hotel Spain/Bidania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing