We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fab place”
Review of Arctic Star Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Karesuando
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Arctic Star Hotel
Reviewed 26 February 2014

After reading many reviews on here we were very weary about what we would find on our Transun holiday......all rights of that disappeared when we checked in.....we spent three great nights there. The hotel rooms are indeed basic but so comfortable and warm .we enjoyed all the meals included and also found the bar although slightly expensive we were prepared for that. The staff were lovely very friendly and accommodating . The shower was hot the towels thick and warm . Enjoyed the luxury of free WiFi in the reception and bar area ...the Transun staff also were great.Sean the head rep was a little diamond. A credit to the company .very friendly and professional.and although he wasn't well after a snowmobile accident Nothing was to much trouble. The excursions included we think we're top notch .a trip we will remember forever. We took kettle for our room with instant cappuccino s but the tea urn in the restaurant was always on. The whole experience was amazing made so by Transun and the Arctic Star .we work regionally be returning with the hope of seeing the Northern lights that didn't appear this time for us.....it will be with Transun and again to the Arctic Star hotel . A truly amazing trip Thank you so much ....only disappointment was we only had three nights :)

Room Tip: The rooms are very very warm .....room 43 is a great room
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ShelleyBRUCE2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaSafariManager, General Manager at Arctic Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Our staff work hard to ensure that our guests have the best possible experience, thank you for your kind words. We are very pleased to hear that you would like to stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
There are newer reviews for Arctic Star Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

No problems for us at The Arctic Star hotel. Very warm room, memory foam mattresses on our twin beds, enough hanging space and plenty of hot water. The food is adequate, the chicken pie was especially good. Staff very helpful. A previous reviewer stated you would only need short sleeves inside the hotel. He was right, it was always very warm and comfy. A fabulous weekend. It was Valentine's day whilst we were there, all the ladies got a rose and some chocolates from Bogdan the barman. Nice touch I thought.
We didn't see the Aurora, but the dog sled, Reindeer sleigh ride and ski mobile trips were wonderful. I noticed on the trips how attentive the organizers were. They kept a close eye on us and their animals at all times.They were always close at hand to help out with minor hitches in that beautiful white wilderness.
We did take a bottle of booze with us, and a few snacks to keep in the room, and the traveling kettle of course. The hire suits and boots were of a high standard, and we never felt cold. We had packed some thermals, hats and mittens.
We loved it, and of course will have to go again now, maybe next year to try and get a glimpse of the fabled Aurora.

Room Tip: We had room 45 on the first floor. It was roomy and the beds were comfortable.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marilynne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaSafariManager, General Manager at Arctic Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and would come back and visit. our small hotel has just 26 rooms and so we hope that we provide a personal experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Every element of our 3 day transun holiday was great , staff , hotel, flight, trips, rooms, food, weather..I must see and do in your life!!! That's all need say... Top tips:take a head light , but some plonk at the airport, don't over pack , once u have ya suit in it gets warm! The hotel and
Hotel rooms are very well heated! ..Well done all involved!! :)

Stayed: February 2014
2  Thank Adam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaSafariManager, General Manager at Arctic Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable trip and hope that you chose to stay with us on your next Arctic visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

3 night trip and a great way to get a small taste of conditions inside the Arctic Circle. Take a travel kettle, and a bottle of something duty free with your hand luggage and you won't go wrong. Rooms are basic but warm, clean and comfortable. Food is high calorie and plenty of it; a good cooked breakfast and substantial evening meal is all you need. Staff and volunteers in the hotel and on all trips are hard-working, very pleasant, and endlessly helpful. Karesuando is peaceful, remote and beautiful, straddling the Finnish/Swedish border. Euros are accepted everywhere but you only need them for maybe a coffee, a reindeer steak for a treat, or a small souvenir. We paid £420 each for the holiday which was fantastic value for money as that covered flights from East Midlands, half board, transfers, snowmobile trip, dog sled ride, reindeer sled ride, and a short forest walk. All trips guided by the usual excellent staff. You should be realistic about the chances of seeing the Northern Lights as cloud cover is common and light 'pollution' from the village substantial, but this should be a bonus to an otherwise highly entertaining trip. By the way a quick mention for the staff at East Midlands Airport; where else in the world can you touch down on Sunday afternoon, get through security, collect your luggage, take a courtesy bus to the car park, and be on the road within 45mins of landing. Astonishing.

Room Tip: we stayed in the annexe at the Arctic Star...very basic but fine
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alistair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaSafariManager, General Manager at Arctic Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay at the Arctic Star. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable break to celebrate your wife's birthday. many guests chose to visit us for memorable occasions, and we hope that our unique location and winter activities we offer did not disappoint.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed at the Arctic Star and were very pleased with the accommodation. We had one of the rooms which hadn't been upgraded but it was clean, comfortable and very warm. Radiators were instantly controlled to suit our own needs. Food was basic but of good quality. Staff were friendly. Would definitely stay there again. We understand the hotel will be fully refurbished at the end of this season.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winifred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaSafariManager, General Manager at Arctic Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for your review. We have carried out a lot of refurbishment work to our hotel recently with all premium rooms and the restaurant/bar having had a full refurbishment. Our standard rooms have yet to be refurbished but provide a value for money option in a unique location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Exellent winter break - we didn't see the lights but that would have been the icing on the cake !!
The trips included were great. The staff were very helpful on all the visits.
The hotel was basic but clean and friendly.
Great extra included was the suits and boots- don't forget gloves,hat and scarf !!
If you are on a budget you may want to take drinks and snacks with you as they are expensive at the hotel.
Overall great and very memorable time had by all.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sally V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaSafariManager, General Manager at Arctic Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

We are very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable few days here in Sweden and are pleased that you chose to stay at the Arctic Star Hotel. We hope that you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I went with Transun from Bournemouth Airport flight very good. arrived to chaos at the airport in Sweden.staff putting people on buses then and incoming on had broken down so we all had to wait for another bus to arrive along wait drive to the hotel 2hrs but what lovely scenery and wilderness. We stopped to collect are boots and suits but no organization just a scrum not a good start. Hotel well!! brochure said no star rating in Sweden (oh really!!!) well this was not a Hotel more like a hosteL. I had to pay for a superior room & single supplement £20 per night!!! It was an empty space a double bed a table and 2 chairs with 2 paper cups on it, a table with a tiny draw under. the bedside light you had to get out of bed to reach it and only one side of the bed. small wet room. Curtains at the window so thin a light outside the window was on all night so room flooded with light all night long. First night and day boiler broke down so no hot water, the room was not cleaned or the rubbish removed all 4 days. The breakfast was fine but the evening meal looked great on the menu which we were given at breakfast, but when it came:for example salmon was cold, potatoes were warm, then next day meat warm and mixed veg was just above frozen, it always seemed to be slopped on the plates and had not been left on hot plates in the kitchen as it was never more that warm and mostly cold and the puddings were so small even a child would have said that. Even when people had lunch it was no better and mostly a very long time comeing. I do no think the person was a trained cook.The staff were kept very busy
as mostly only 2 and maybe 3 people were on duty serving and clearing plates.The trips were very good except the snowmoble mine and another were breaking down so many times and the staff were haveing to throw snow onto the engine to cool it down!! plus my seat had the cover off and I was sitting on the rubber. The young staff were very good and helpful.The countryside outside was amazing so still and the views off just trees and wildereness was very magical, haveing said all that I think the money payed was not good value as I paid over £1000. I did through have a wonderful time.

Room Tip: None at this place
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wakefordjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaSafariManager, General Manager at Arctic Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your experience and take on board your comments to continue to improve our service. We are a small team, as our hotel only has 27 rooms, so pride ourselves in offering a personal service. We feel that our single supplement is fairly priced, particularly in comparison to the majority of other hotels and will pass your comments regarding food onto our head chef.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Arctic Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arctic Star Hotel

Address: 153 Laestadiusvaegen | Laestadiusvägen 153 Karesuando Sverige, Karesuando 980 16, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Karesuando
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Karesuando
Price Range: £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Arctic Star Hotel Karesuando, Sweden - Vasterbotten County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing