We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We really liked this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flinders Chase
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2008

My sister and I spent two nights at the Wilderness Retreat. it is located as close as it is possible to be to Flinders Chase National Park at the western end of Kangaroo Island. The very pleasant owners of the lodge are trying hard to be ecologically responsible. They have a bio-waste water recycling pond, and while they realise the irony of providing airconditioning and TV, they feel they need to do that in order to keep their four stars. But the property is filled with trees and birds, and the overweight littleTammar wallabies looking for a handout are a real plus for most people. Our room was comfortable but not lavish, we liked sitting out on our little veranda, the restaurant provides excellent food, and there are walks around the property that are pleasant and interesting.

The location can't be beat for people interested in visiting the national park. Be aware that it has just about been burnt to the ground, and it will be years, perhaps decades, before it is revegetated. It is hard to believe that the many firefighters made any kind of effort to save the park vegetation, just the buildings and continiguous blue gum plantations on private land. However, the heathland around Cape du Couedic is intact, including near Weir's cove and the Remarkables, and the NZ fur seal colony is well worth visiting. We spent part of two days there and also drove to Cape Borda to see the lighthouse and the Beautiful Firetail finches that hang out near the picnic shelter. (There is a tiny little pool with a drip feeding it that keeps them there.)

If you are interested in nature and need a very pleasant base in the west of Kangaroo Island you will be happy with the Wilderness Retreat.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank wandererOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (553)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 553 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2008

This hotel is just terrific, we spent only 1 night there and everything was perfect. We wish we had booked a couple of days more ! The location is perfect because you can drive there in 1 day, take a couple of days to rest or to visit around and 1 day to drive back to the ferry. The nature is wonderfull there and you can have a night walk with rangers to see the animals t 3 mn by car. The hotel is very clean, very confortable, you can borrow dvd, the restaurant is really good (asian fusion) and the service is warm and cool !!! No doubt, I will recommend it to anyone !

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Sophie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2007

We stayed at the Retreat early November and what a fantastic place it is. The manager was very helpful and friendly. The food was exceptional , now considering we are both vegetarians that is saying something. The food was quite possibly the best vegetarian food I have ever had and the only downside was having to rush my dessert one night to go out on a nocturnal walk ( recommended at Hanson Bay). This was my bad timing though. The rooms were spacious clean and ours had a view to the gardens where we were visited nightly by the local wallabies which was one of the highlights of my stay in Australia. This retreat is conveniently located for various trips, and cannot be faulted in any way.If you love wildlife this is the place to stay. Well Done and lucky you if you book to go there!

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank fernUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2007

We stayed for a few nights in the Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat back in Jan 07 and really loved it.
The rooms are comfortable and reasonably priced, the food is excellent and the whole place just has a really relaxing welcoming feel to it.

We went out to look for animals at dusk (dawn is just too much!) and saw heaps of wallabies and possums as well as an echidna, which was scuttling across the path and promptly rolled into a ball when it saw us.
There are also plenty of wallabies and possums wandering about in the courtyard at night, so you don't have to search very hard.

And there are fabulous places to drive to - beaches to die for, where you don't see anyone all day, strange rock formations, great walks.

We had a wonderful stay and would have booked for longer had we known how great it would be.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Debbbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2007

Stayed for just 1 night, but plan to return. I found KI a revelation, and one of the most stunning places I have ever visited. KIWR is a totally relaxing upmarket experience in the bush. Was fortunate enough to stay in a courtyard suite and found it very spacious with all mod cons and suberb wet room style shower room. You feel so close to nature, the stroll across to the restaurant enables you to appreciate the wildlife, just count the wallabies at dusk ! Restaurant managed to produce our most memorable meal of our entire stay in Australia. Staff friendly and welcoming and the owners are consumate professionals and should be proud of what they have achieved. In my opinion the best place to stay on the island and its proximity to Flinders Chase National Park is the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank PoopyCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2007

My husband and I are from Hawaii/Chicago and decided to visit AUS in Sept of 2007. We stayed at the Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat and KI Seafront in Penneshaw. We took the ferry there and back. The trip was 1/2 hour, smooth and very enjoyable (I tend to get seasick so I was relieved). We stayed in the cheaper room (the lodge part) at KI Wildnerness Retreat. The rooms were very clean and nice. I was expecting them to be dated and a little dark but it was perfect. We stayed 2 nights and hand fed wallabys and saw a Kangaroo outside the door of the lodge.

Before we went we read other reviews, someone said the staff was rude. We booked the KI Wilderness retreat and ferry through the Sealink ferry website. KIWR is not a Bed and Breakfast, the people were nice and it was very much like any other hotel we stayed in.

I would highly recommend buying the "roo food" to feed the wallabys ($1.00 at the front desk). We had meals at the Flinders Chase Park (5 minutes away) and that was great, a nice outdoor area to eat. The meals at KIWR were very expensive so we skipped eating at KIWR.

In terms of driving on Kangaroo Island. Everyone told us not to worry about the Kangaroos during the day but we had a Kangaroo jump right in front of our car within 1 hour of being on island. DRIVE SLOW EVEN DURING THE DAY. Everyone said, don't worry about the roos but then they all followed it with a story about a tourist recently who had flipped their rental car or ran off the road....even one of the staff at the Hilton Adelaide (where we stayed before we drove to KI) said he had just hit a Kangaroo a few weeks prior while vacationing on KI.

Go see the fur seals and the sealions, well worth it. Sand dunes were not real exciting. We stopped for lunch in Kingscote and it was fine, nothing worth going out of the way for but had a nice lunch at the deli. We stayed our last night at Penneshaw Seafront hotel. It was fine, the Chalets were okay but I wish we would have skipped Penneshaw. We went for the Penguins (and because we had an early ferry) but it was not that exciting.

We did the night tour at Hanson's Bay, my husband loved it because we saw Koalas and tons of stars, I was a little cold but enjoyed it. By the way, for those who do not like snakes, we did not see any on KI.

We loved our time at the KI Wildneress Retreat and the Kangaroo Island trip was well worth the extra time and cost!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank ChiTownHoneymooners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2007

We stayed there for 3 days in late Feb. We had 2 courtyard suites rooms, worth the extra $$ if they are available. The food is terrific, and the staff are friendly & extremely helpful. We appreciated their clear caring and stewardship of the environment, especially since much of southern Australia is having a drought. Like others have said, take the night tour at the property "down the road" - well worth it - we saw tons of koalas, an echidna, kangaroos, etc. But best of all are the 25-30 wallabies that frequent the Retreat. They will give you 'roo food to feed them with - great fun. James & his partner (owners) have done a terrific job of rehabbing the hotel after the previous owners. All in all, we had a perfect stay.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank WallabyGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flinders Chase
56.8 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
446 reviews
66.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
408 reviews
52.1 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingscote
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
52.3 mi away
Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
56.8 mi away
Casuarina Coastal Units
Casuarina Coastal Units
#2 of 2 in American River
36 reviews
51.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat

Address: Lot 1 South Coast Road, Flinders Chase, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Flinders Chase
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flinders Chase
Price Range: £98 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated adjacent Flinders Chase National Park a unique mix of eco-friendly facilities, local food and wine and located in the middle of the forrest provide an unforgettable wilderness experience. The idyllic location provides the perfect base for discovering the splendor of Kangaroo Island's natural wonders before returning to the tranquillity of the retreat to enjoy comfortable accommodation in the company of friendly native animals and an amazing array of birdlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat Hotel Flinders Chase
Hotel Kangaroo Island
Wilderness Retreat Kangaroo Island
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat Flinders Chase

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing