We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhat disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flinders Chase
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2013

In spite of the promises made when 7 rooms (5 lodge and 2 apartments) were booked, that all rooms would have both a TV & fridge, many did not, even after changing rooms a number of times, they still could not deliver on their promise. Chairs for the breakfast bar in the lodge rooms were notable by their partial or complete absence. The reception staff's answer " we don't advertise fridges and TV's so we don't have to provide them" was rather "Fawltey Towers" like and an answer Basil would be proud of. Generally the rooms were not as well equipped as most 2 & 3 star motel rooms.The restaurant was of good standard, but the portions were rather on the small side and there were issues regarding the meal presented not having all the advertised ingredients. On the positive side, its location is great, and the staff when not making Fawlteyish excuses were helpful and pleasant.
One of the apartments had a terrible smell in one of the kitchen cupboards.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellor418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Wilderness Lodge, having booked a Courtyard room with a nice terrace overlooking the lovely courtyard. The rooms are simple...like a 3-star US motel chain, and the bathroom did exude an odd smell (not sewage, just odd). the price was not cheap...but the high A$ has made Australia a not terribly great value-for-money destination. After three weeks of travel, the price was not completely out of line given the location. The wallabies hopping around at sunset were magical, although we wished that the "no feeding" recommendation would have been enforced, since some European visitors seemed not to understand the English warnings. The restaurant is excellent given the location, and not terribly out of line in pricing. The koala walk attraction is just a five minute drive away...the highlight of a KI visit.

Room Tip: Splurge for a Courtyard Room...you can have a sundowner on your little terrace as tamer wallabies ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKbanker33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed for two nights in this hotel, our room was really less than basic, (substandard) no TV and the cover bed was old and stinky. It even had some spots on it! Des gusting!
The only only positive thing is that this hotel is really close the Flinders national park and other sites. We did the Koala Walk and we liked it a lot. There is so much to do in the Island that you don't need to spend your time in the room.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blanca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013 via mobile

Well worth the drive to the end of the island. Animals everywhere. Be careful driving and give yourself enough time.
Staff is fun and knowledgable. Very out back.
Spend three days or more if possible. There resturant is very nice with great food and beverages.
They have a fuel pump for that top off of gas that is needed.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spyglasshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

I booked this hotel purely from good reviews on the internet, being sold as luxury accommodation right next to the park, as park of our honeymoon tour around Australia and KI. The location could not be faulted but the resort was far from luxury.

We stayed in the eco lodge, which apart from having a shower that used rain water did not seem very eco - the fridge had a very low efficiency rating!!!

The walls were so thin that I could hear the person in the next room to me snoring ALL night, and feel the reverberations through the wall, and thus got no sleep. The bed, room, decor and experience paralleled a school trip I attended when I was 11, and reminded me of the dormitories we stayed at on this trip. All that was missing was the gruel for breakfast.

If this was a backpackers resort, then it would be luxury, but for honeymooners who are also interested in the Island and wildlife, it is not luxury and to be honest we feel like we had been conned or scammed into staying at this resort. There is far better accommodation on the Island and the distances to travel to the National Park are small - I would recommend unless you want to pay through the roof for a backpacker's dormitory, you look elsewhere.

The food is also expensive, as is the water to drink ($3.50 for 330ml) and of average quality. We were very disappointed.

Room Tip: Don't get a room in the eco lodge!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat explains it all, yes you can see the wildlife from the courtyard. This is not 5 star luxary accomodation. This is a wilderness Retreat and gosh to be with wild life at your front door..mmm awesom. We travelled from Currency Creek Vineyard after spending a night slow trip down the coast and stopped at Victor Harbor to walk on the Jetty, then shopped prior to arriving at Penneshaw where you catch the ferry. We bought liquor, snacks, pre dinner and after dinner as supplies and shopping is limited once you go to the retreat. We hired our car from Adelaide and took it over the ferry, but restricted to tar sealed roads only which was all we required to see all destination. We had bought a food accomodation package and recommend you source these for all you holiday deals. This is the most perfect location to explore the Island. Enjoy.. you just want a place to rest your head. Our room was clean and I can't understand if you find a problem phone and politely ask management to fix it as sometimes they are unaware of a bad staff member for a day. This never fails.

Room Tip: Take snacks, warm cloths and wet weather gear, buy the food to feed the wildlife and DON'T leave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

The hotel is basic and is located in probably the best spot to access the main attractions of the island. The rooms are similar to your normal motel room. The exception is the unique courtyard. All the staff were very welcoming - especially in the restaurant. After a long hot day it was great to have a shower then sit in the courtyard with the wallabies and have cold beer and tapas (try the lamb chorizo - delicious).

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flinders Chase
66.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
412 reviews
56.8 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
454 reviews
52.1 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingscote
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
52.3 mi away
Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
56.8 mi away
Casuarina Coastal Units
Casuarina Coastal Units
#2 of 2 in American River
36 reviews
51.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat

Address: Lot 1 South Coast Road, Flinders Chase, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Flinders Chase
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flinders Chase
Price Range: £98 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated adjacent Flinders Chase National Park a unique mix of eco-friendly facilities, local food and wine and located in the middle of the forrest provide an unforgettable wilderness experience. The idyllic location provides the perfect base for discovering the splendor of Kangaroo Island's natural wonders before returning to the tranquillity of the retreat to enjoy comfortable accommodation in the company of friendly native animals and an amazing array of birdlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat Hotel Flinders Chase
Hotel Kangaroo Island
Wilderness Retreat Kangaroo Island
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat Flinders Chase

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing