We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wilderness resort with even better food.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flinders Chase
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great wilderness resort with even better food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

Our courtyard room was adequate, clean and comfortable.
Some water pump motor noises during the night but this to be expected as the retreat relies on rainwater tanks.
The food at the restaurant was superb and the Kangaroo Island crayfish (marron) outstanding. The special thing was that most of the food and all the wines were local.
All visitors should do the walks around the propert to see the great wildlife, wallabies, lizards, etc
The retreat is the ideal base from which to visit the Admirals Arch, Remarkable Rocks and Cape Borda.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    213
    106
    37
    22
See reviews for
79
321
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Eco lodge was very poor rough accommodation. Very high price for what you get. Shower was moldy. Room was cold. Window was high off the ground so could not see outside unless you were standing up. We had a look at the rooms with a balcony but they were not much better. No real view anywhere to speak of. Wi Fi does not work outside of the main lodge. Food and accommodation was way overpriced. Location is okay but just about anywhere on the island is a good location.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank macdoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLDH36D
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

We loved our time on Kangaroo Island. But we were a little bit disappointed with our stay here. Our room was very basic. The restaurant was expensive but it was good to try the local produce, and it was good quality. We were on a tight schedule and were only in the place for 1 night. There isn't really much to do except go to the restaurant and go on a couple of walks. It would have been great if we had more time so we could explore the walks and go in search of wildlife. But we had to head out to the remarkable rocks etc. Given there isnt much to entertain yourself with after dark it would be good if they would invest a bit of money in smartening up the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLDH36D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray Bridge, South Australia, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

i got the spa suit and all night the air con was broken making terrible noise's and dripping water all over the place the missus and i didn't get any sleep all night and when i complained i couldn't even get a simple apology for our inconvenience it's a very nice place with some very good people but they need to serve the costumers better. p.s the restaurant is very expensive and there is now where else to eat at night on that side of the island so be ware

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

In spite of the promises made when 7 rooms (5 lodge and 2 apartments) were booked, that all rooms would have both a TV & fridge, many did not, even after changing rooms a number of times, they still could not deliver on their promise. Chairs for the breakfast bar in the lodge rooms were notable by their partial or complete absence. The reception staff's answer " we don't advertise fridges and TV's so we don't have to provide them" was rather "Fawltey Towers" like and an answer Basil would be proud of. Generally the rooms were not as well equipped as most 2 & 3 star motel rooms.The restaurant was of good standard, but the portions were rather on the small side and there were issues regarding the meal presented not having all the advertised ingredients. On the positive side, its location is great, and the staff when not making Fawlteyish excuses were helpful and pleasant.
One of the apartments had a terrible smell in one of the kitchen cupboards.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellor418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
309 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Wilderness Lodge, having booked a Courtyard room with a nice terrace overlooking the lovely courtyard. The rooms are simple...like a 3-star US motel chain, and the bathroom did exude an odd smell (not sewage, just odd). the price was not cheap...but the high A$ has made Australia a not terribly great value-for-money destination. After three weeks of travel, the price was not completely out of line given the location. The wallabies hopping around at sunset were magical, although we wished that the "no feeding" recommendation would have been enforced, since some European visitors seemed not to understand the English warnings. The restaurant is excellent given the location, and not terribly out of line in pricing. The koala walk attraction is just a five minute drive away...the highlight of a KI visit.

Room Tip: Splurge for a Courtyard Room...you can have a sundowner on your little terrace as tamer wallabies ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKbanker33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed for two nights in this hotel, our room was really less than basic, (substandard) no TV and the cover bed was old and stinky. It even had some spots on it! Des gusting!
The only only positive thing is that this hotel is really close the Flinders national park and other sites. We did the Koala Walk and we liked it a lot. There is so much to do in the Island that you don't need to spend your time in the room.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blanca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flinders Chase
52.1 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
3.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
56.8 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
66.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
3.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
51.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
75.2 mi away
Sea Dragon Lodge
Sea Dragon Lodge
#1 of 2 in Willoughby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
51.9 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaview Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat

Property: Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
Address: Lot 1 South Coast Road, Flinders Chase, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Flinders Chase
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flinders Chase
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated adjacent Flinders Chase National Park a unique mix of eco-friendly facilities, local food and wine and located in the middle of the forrest provide an unforgettable wilderness experience. The idyllic location provides the perfect base for discovering the splendor of Kangaroo Island's natural wonders before returning to the tranquillity of the retreat to enjoy comfortable accommodation in the company of friendly native animals and an amazing array of birdlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat Hotel Flinders Chase
Hotel Kangaroo Island
Wilderness Retreat Kangaroo Island
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat Flinders Chase

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing