We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meal only, - Kangaroo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flinders Chase
Wellington
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Meal only, - Kangaroo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our kangaroo steaks in the restaurant. We did not stay here, staying nearby and taking advantage of the restaurant in the hotel. We were welcomed and enjoyed our evening, the venue has great atmosphere

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    211
    105
    36
    22
See reviews for
79
318
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

The retreat is in a great location for exploring the island and its amazing features and wildlife. We found the accommodation easily as it was well sign posted. The entrance is welcoming and the staff friendly. Our first room (no.15) was a little dated and tired and there was a really odd smell in the room. I took my chance and thought I would let reception know about the odd smell. I wasn't sure if it was something to do with the surrounds?? The reception was very accommodating and changed our room to no.18. This was much better with no smell.
The restaurant served lovely food in a friendly, but casual manner. Apparently the restaurant can be quite busy. Breakfast was also served in the restaurant. Unfortunately there was a minimal choice for people who are unable to have any dairy. There was no soy milk so cereal was not an option. The breakfast was a continental with pastries and muffins, cheeses and cold meat. Some fruit.
We saw a wallaby snooping around in the evening :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenandMatt12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

This is a wonderful retreat with a fantastic location, we have just spent three nights in a Courtyard suite. The room was spatious, clean and nice with wallabys jumping on the porch. The restaurant is good, maybe a little pricy, but hey, you are having excellent meals in the middle of the wilderness! The location close to Flinder's national park is fenomenal and there are lots of hikes close by. We would gladly have stayed a couple of more nights.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ulf L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

Our courtyard room was adequate, clean and comfortable.
Some water pump motor noises during the night but this to be expected as the retreat relies on rainwater tanks.
The food at the restaurant was superb and the Kangaroo Island crayfish (marron) outstanding. The special thing was that most of the food and all the wines were local.
All visitors should do the walks around the propert to see the great wildlife, wallabies, lizards, etc
The retreat is the ideal base from which to visit the Admirals Arch, Remarkable Rocks and Cape Borda.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Eco lodge was very poor rough accommodation. Very high price for what you get. Shower was moldy. Room was cold. Window was high off the ground so could not see outside unless you were standing up. We had a look at the rooms with a balcony but they were not much better. No real view anywhere to speak of. Wi Fi does not work outside of the main lodge. Food and accommodation was way overpriced. Location is okay but just about anywhere on the island is a good location.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank macdoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLDH36D
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

We loved our time on Kangaroo Island. But we were a little bit disappointed with our stay here. Our room was very basic. The restaurant was expensive but it was good to try the local produce, and it was good quality. We were on a tight schedule and were only in the place for 1 night. There isn't really much to do except go to the restaurant and go on a couple of walks. It would have been great if we had more time so we could explore the walks and go in search of wildlife. But we had to head out to the remarkable rocks etc. Given there isnt much to entertain yourself with after dark it would be good if they would invest a bit of money in smartening up the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MLDH36D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray Bridge, South Australia, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

i got the spa suit and all night the air con was broken making terrible noise's and dripping water all over the place the missus and i didn't get any sleep all night and when i complained i couldn't even get a simple apology for our inconvenience it's a very nice place with some very good people but they need to serve the costumers better. p.s the restaurant is very expensive and there is now where else to eat at night on that side of the island so be ware

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flinders Chase
52.1 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
3.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
56.9 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
66.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
3.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
51.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
75.2 mi away
Sea Dragon Lodge
Sea Dragon Lodge
#1 of 2 in Willoughby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hanson Bay Cabins
Hanson Bay Cabins
#1 of 1 in Karatta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat

Property: Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
Address: Lot 1 South Coast Road, Flinders Chase, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Flinders Chase
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flinders Chase
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated adjacent Flinders Chase National Park a unique mix of eco-friendly facilities, local food and wine and located in the middle of the forrest provide an unforgettable wilderness experience. The idyllic location provides the perfect base for discovering the splendor of Kangaroo Island's natural wonders before returning to the tranquillity of the retreat to enjoy comfortable accommodation in the company of friendly native animals and an amazing array of birdlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat Hotel Flinders Chase
Hotel Kangaroo Island
Wilderness Retreat Kangaroo Island
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat Flinders Chase

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing