We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must do trip !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flinders Chase
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This trip is well worth doing as you see so much and learn so much ,we did the one day trip but thanks to Len the coach driver he did all the sights you would see in two days and was a brilliant tour guide with so much knowledge ,he made the trip with his storys and whit !!

Room Tip: As we did the one day trip we cannot advise .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Clive M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (543)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 543 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

This isn't the flashiest place in the world, but not is it poor quality. Given how remote you are it has everything you need. The restaurant is good quality as is the breakfast. A little freshening up would make you feel more like you were in a quality resort, but that's about it. Also, you'll love the visiting wallabies in the evening :)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Craigsoota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

What a pleasure it is to arrive here after a long day in sunny and hot Flinders Chase NP. I stayed in the eco-lodge, which was comfortable and clean. Everybody did the utmost to make guests feel happy, great job. The on site restaurant serves fine food, cold beers. There's also free wifi. The retreat is as good as in the national park, with a lot of wildlife around.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank JosvanderMeche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This is a very good accomodation choice for Kangaroo Island, it's not Sydney, don't expect it to be.
The rooms are ok, clean, tidy, well equipped. I had an issue with the cleanliness of the shower on arrival which was addressed straight away. The lodge reception area has books, wifi, DVDs to borrow, comfy sofas, a limited selection of beers, wines, snacks etc. That's some going for KI.
The restaurant meals at night were tasty, hot, served by friendly and enthusiastic staff, we were impressed.
Breakfast was great, a selection of cheese, ham, eggs, fresh & tinned fruit, yogurt, cereals, pastries, toasts, juices, tea & coffee - what more do you need for breky?
The plus for us was the presence of birds and wildlife and the chance to swap information on where to find birds with similarly interested people.
A great place to stay for the money.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alisonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Well located near remarkable rocks and the National Park. Rooms are spacious,neat and tidy with a good shower. Restaurant service was excellent! waiters and the receptionist was extremely friendly and helpful. Only problem during our 4 night stay was the odd American manager who seemed to be intoxicated most evenings when we returned back to the hotel to make dinner reservation and was very annoying whilst we was dinning. Eric W

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ericcanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We arrived here, I guess a little unprepared that the only place to eat on this side of the island (at night) was at the hotel. That should sound good/easy, but the food here is THROUGH.THE.ROUGH expensive! First off, it was cold out and we were told that we could either wait 2 hours to eat (we were famished) or sit on the outdoor patio and be served right away. so we froze (it was so cold out) and sat on the outdoor, unheated patio. We ordered a chicken leg that came with 3 carrots and split it between the two of us as that came to close to $50 with tip. We were so hungry and cold. And it took so long for them to bring us our food that we should have just gone back to our room and waited for a warm table. at one point, I asked if we could move inside as there was an empty table and our food had not arrived (over 1 hour of waiting). They said that they will get back to me. And instead of bringing us inside, they brought us our food right away. We were not impressed.

Also, in our room, there was a TV. It didn't work. We called the desk asking why it didn't work and they told us that they are in the process of removing all of the TV's from the rooms.

If you go to Kangaroo Island, it's nice to stay closer to the attractions on this side of the island without having to drive a lot each day. That's why we picked this place. But in hindsight, we would much rather stay somewhere else and have decent food and accommodation than stay here again. It was very expensive for what you got. Not worth it.

Room Tip: If you do decide to stay here, go grocery shopping and bring lots of snacks with you before hand!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbugcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

A great location - Flinders Chase - 1/2 way around KI.

But they have the market cornered (not much else around accommodation wise) - over-priced - not really a "wilderness retreat" and could have been designed so much better - but that is more of a personal opinion.

The room was large, air-conditioned and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was well appointed. The really annoying "feature" was the sliding doors from next door was very noisy & easily heard within our room. Also, the neighbours having loud conversation was easily heard through the walls and movement on the decks from other rooms could be heard in our room as well.

So privacy is not really high here - we had to keep our blinds closed as well as we faced right onto the restaurant area.

But, in the end, we actually slept well.

No 5th star because it is over-priced (my opinion), but then there are no real alternatives in the area. Also, the rooms aren't the quietest rooms, but not overly noisy - just needed better noise suppression in the walls/floors?

Tough to review - so much potential, they have the market cornered (location wise & restaurant wise in that part of KI). But they slip so many areas.

Oddly enough, I would stay here again, but if there was a new competitor in the area, I would try them first.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SoreLegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flinders Chase
56.8 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
434 reviews
66.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
402 reviews
52.1 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingscote
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
52.3 mi away
Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
51.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
51.9 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaview Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat

Address: Lot 1 South Coast Road, Flinders Chase, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Flinders Chase
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flinders Chase
Price Range: £85 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated adjacent Flinders Chase National Park a unique mix of eco-friendly facilities, local food and wine and located in the middle of the forrest provide an unforgettable wilderness experience. The idyllic location provides the perfect base for discovering the splendor of Kangaroo Island's natural wonders before returning to the tranquillity of the retreat to enjoy comfortable accommodation in the company of friendly native animals and an amazing array of birdlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat Hotel Flinders Chase
Hotel Kangaroo Island
Wilderness Retreat Kangaroo Island
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat Flinders Chase

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing