We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
Nearby Hotels
The Open House B&B(Parndana)(Great Value!)
US$137
US$123
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flinders Chase Farm Stay(Kangaroo Island)(Great Value!)
US$63
US$61
Hotels.com
View Deal
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Marion Bay Motel(Marion Bay)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
Molly's Run(Kingscote)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (568)
Filter reviews
568 results
Traveller rating
148
245
113
40
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
245
113
40
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflinders chase national parkcourtyard roomkangaroo islandremarkable rocksreception areaan eco lodgehanson bayon site restaurantwest endwestern endnight walkflinder's chaseremote locationclose to naturelate afternoonkelly hill cavescentral courtyard
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
307 - 312 of 568 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2008

We stayed one night in KIWR, conveniently located close to Flinders Range NP on the eastern side of Kangaroo Island.
Rooms were nice and clean. Staff was friendly and the hotel restaurant was excellent. Our kids were amazed by the animals visiting the hotel garden at night. Overall good value, although not on the cheap side.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phiroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2008

This wilderness retreat is certainly what it says it is.
We were dropped off by our tour bus at this place in the wilderness.
The rooms were comfortable and quiet without too much distraction to relaxing.
We did see some wildlife on our walks about the property and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
We did feel that we were in a retreat from a busy world and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank OntarioJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2008

I made this reservation through Sealink along with our ferry reservations. First off, Kangaroo Island is gorgeous and you just can't miss it if you travel to Australia. We flew into Adelaide, spent a couple days and then drove to the ferry at Cape Jervis. Be sure to allow enough time to drive to Cape Jervis as it's about 1.5 hrs to get there from Adelaide.

We rented a car so we could drive around the island and it took about 1.5 hrs to get to the KI Wilderness Retreat from Penneshaw. Do stop at Seal Bay on your way and take the guided tour ($13).

Our room was in the courtyard area and the restaurant at the retreat was GREAT! Kudos to the chefs there and all the staff. Everything from the appetizers of prawns and chicken skewers with peanut sauce to the fillet mignon and then banana pudding was to die for. We bought wine at Dudley's on our way to the retreat, so we took at to dinner with us. Get their Shiraz, it's amazing.

We saw kangaroos, wallabies, enchidnas, seals, sea lions, possums and beautiful birds. Watch your driving as roos will cross the road and trust me, they will win in a collision. We got to pet Amy the roo on the nocturnal walk. She was a real sweetie. Didn't really see any koalas very well on the walk, but it just gives me a reason to go back.

KI Wilderness Retreat offers free internet use which was a first on this trip and a very nice touch. James and crew were wonderful and it's obvious they love their jobs and their island. Thanks for a wonderful time!!

P.S. make the short drive to the Roo Lagoon Gallery and buy some of the most beatiful woodwork you'll find.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Chianti_girl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2008

My wife hates camping and saw the front entrance on the web site and was not excited to stay here. However we were pleasently surprised when we entered our family suite with our 3 children. The bathrooms are modern and everything was clean and very nice. It was way nicer than the web site pictures show. We were wondering how can the have a 4 star place in the wilderness. But they did!

It was very nice place and the food was good. Then the best part happened. As the sun set, the Wallabies came out and walked right up to our back door. . And not just a couple. There must have been 20 - 30 of them on the hotel grounds. Our kids had roo food and hand fed them all night. We just sat back and had a bottle of wine on our back patio watching the kids have fun. And when the children are happy, mom and dad are happy. If you have kids, this is the pace to stay. And don't forget to go on the night tour to look for Koalas and kangaroos We saw 8 Koalas and about 20 kangaroos.

Sea Link offers a one day tour of the island which leaves Adelaide at 6:30AM and returns at around 10PM. Don't waste your time. It's too much to do in one day. Take the 2 day tour with a stay at the Kangaroo Island Resort and give your kids memories they won't forget. We had more fun with the Wallabies at our back door than we ever did on the bus tour.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank captain100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2008

My sister and I spent two nights at the Wilderness Retreat. it is located as close as it is possible to be to Flinders Chase National Park at the western end of Kangaroo Island. The very pleasant owners of the lodge are trying hard to be ecologically responsible. They have a bio-waste water recycling pond, and while they realise the irony of providing airconditioning and TV, they feel they need to do that in order to keep their four stars. But the property is filled with trees and birds, and the overweight littleTammar wallabies looking for a handout are a real plus for most people. Our room was comfortable but not lavish, we liked sitting out on our little veranda, the restaurant provides excellent food, and there are walks around the property that are pleasant and interesting.

The location can't be beat for people interested in visiting the national park. Be aware that it has just about been burnt to the ground, and it will be years, perhaps decades, before it is revegetated. It is hard to believe that the many firefighters made any kind of effort to save the park vegetation, just the buildings and continiguous blue gum plantations on private land. However, the heathland around Cape du Couedic is intact, including near Weir's cove and the Remarkables, and the NZ fur seal colony is well worth visiting. We spent part of two days there and also drove to Cape Borda to see the lighthouse and the Beautiful Firetail finches that hang out near the picnic shelter. (There is a tiny little pool with a drip feeding it that keeps them there.)

If you are interested in nature and need a very pleasant base in the west of Kangaroo Island you will be happy with the Wilderness Retreat.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank wandererOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews