We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“KI Wilderness Retreat location good, food options poor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flinders Chase
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“KI Wilderness Retreat location good, food options poor”
Reviewed 28 December 2009

Great location near Flinders Chase Park, close to Hanson Bay Sea Lions and Koala Sanctuary. Cute local wallabies and possums are very entertaining for the kids. Hand feed them the supplied 'chow'. Only real meal options are via the dinner reservations at the lodge. Continental breaky is OK. If you have your own groceries, it is almost impossible to cook for yourself. BQ did not work and self cook facilities not clean. Ask to borrow dishes or utensils and you feel like it is a big favour. Staff otherwise friendly.

  • Liked — Wildlife Experiences
  • Disliked — Limited options for meals
  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FRISBEES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    218
    106
    37
    22
See reviews for
80
329
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2009

We visited the retreat in november with 4 adults and 1 child. The location is perfect but we found the rooms and restaurant pricy (especially the breakfast - quality was not good and price pp around AUD $ 20). Tip for breakfast & lunch -> get into your car and visit the Fliners Chase NP visitors centre, around 10-15 min drive. The Cafe is serving good food for a far better price. For dinner you do not really have an option other than eating @ the lodge restaurant. Food was good but not great and popular menu options are sold out quickly. Too bad : We filed a complain about the breakfast prices and handed over the form at reception during check out. They did not even look at the form during check out and we haven't heard anything since.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Limar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
main street, USA
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2009

We loved our stay at Kangaroo Wilderness retreat. We stayed in the courtyard suites, which are great and a big step up from the economy rooms. Stay in rooms 1-10 for the best chance of getting a free wireless connection (internet speed is best at night). Wallabies and possums are around at night, Echidnas and Kangaroos are nearby at dusk and dawn, and the Koala walk is a couple of minutes away. Restaurant prices are very high so bring your own food like we did and try to get a discounted room price (avoid Jan/Feb) to make it affordable.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chasingwildlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2009

The location is great, right nex tot he Flinders Chase National Park (note oppposite end of the Island from the Ferry and airport - about 90 minutes drive away). The Reception area and restuarant are well-appointed; but as if that's all they worked on. Stayed in the eco--lodge rooms, which I dont think has been touched since the 70's - simple things that would have helped: buy new towels every 10 years so they aren't sand paper? Not use shower curtains that have the shower in a corner of the room same flooring as bathroom so the ENTIRE room doesn't smell moldly! No tolietries. For the amount we paid AUS $190; expected decent facilities: and towels are easy to fix up! Room fine size. Really you are spending on the location and generally speaking the Island is just expensive and not many great options (or great options that are $900 a night). Dinner at hotel is pricey; but there are no other options; the Vivionne Bay General Store is limited in its supply and closed at 5/530PM... Kingcote (90 minutes drive away) has have a supermakret so if flying in and dirving - get supplies there before going to hotel. * MUST take the Koala Nocturnal walk - 5 minutes drive away; AUS$20 - great deal; great experience. IF going to Seal Bay - do the boardwalk and skip on the guided tour - which was $27 and all the guide did was sit there onthe beach with us for 45 minutes! You can essentially see everything from the boardwalk. The free internet/computer service is kinda a joke - since the reception is bad - I couldn't get on the web - and the staff basically said: yeah peopel haev a hard time getting service. Thanks.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kareny13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2009

We stay one night in a courtyard suite at this hotel. The retreat is ideally situated on the southern coast of KI within a few miles of Flinders Chase National Park. The room was very well appointed and had a great view of the courtyard where wallabies, possums, and one very friendly kangaroo come out to play at dusk. You really only have two choices for food at the retreat...either bring your own or eat at the pricey restaurant. I think one of our smartest decisions once we reached KI via Rex air was to take a quick diversion to Kingscote for groceries. There is a conveniently located IGA off the main drag where you can stock up on food and drinks. The IGA has a great deli and bread section and we just made ourselves some sandwiches rather than pay for an expensive meal at the retreat. You can also stop at the convenience store at Vivonne Bay turnoff, but the selection is limited. Do stop there for lunch to try their famous king whiting burger. We loved Kangaroo Island and would not consider staying anywhere but this reatreat.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpikeDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2009

We were initially impressed by the location and ambiance. The rooms are spacious and reasonably well equipped but it soon became apparent that the country smells were not entirely unconnected to the septic tanks. Long walks at dusk and sun-up elicited no sign of any wildlife but, just as we were preparing to leave, lo! a wallaby was presented to us by a cleaner nibbling a carrot just outside the door : ( the wallaby.... ). The dining is claimed to be of the finest but I can only describe it as dismal. The service was mediocre to poor and the food plain to virtually inedible. Do not under any circumstances order the quail pie.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BJWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2009

Great place to stay, relax, and eat. Wonderful service

Stayed January 2006, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MareeS-5786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flinders Chase
56.8 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
410 reviews
66.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
381 reviews
52.1 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
52.3 mi away
Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
51.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
75.2 mi away
Sea Dragon Lodge
Sea Dragon Lodge
#1 of 2 in Willoughby
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat

Property: Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
Address: Lot 1 South Coast Road, Flinders Chase, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Flinders Chase
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flinders Chase
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated adjacent Flinders Chase National Park a unique mix of eco-friendly facilities, local food and wine and located in the middle of the forrest provide an unforgettable wilderness experience. The idyllic location provides the perfect base for discovering the splendor of Kangaroo Island's natural wonders before returning to the tranquillity of the retreat to enjoy comfortable accommodation in the company of friendly native animals and an amazing array of birdlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat Hotel Flinders Chase
Hotel Kangaroo Island
Wilderness Retreat Kangaroo Island
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat Flinders Chase

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing