We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
Nearby Hotels
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Molly's Run(Kingscote)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flinders Chase Farm Stay(Kangaroo Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (580)
Filter reviews
580 results
Traveller rating
155
249
114
40
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
249
114
40
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflinders chase national parkcourtyard roomkangaroo islandremarkable rocksreception areaan eco lodgehanson bayon site restaurantwest endwestern endnight walkflinder's chaseremote locationclose to naturelate afternoonkelly hill cavescentral courtyard
Filter
Updating list...
277 - 282 of 580 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2011

We stayed in the KIWR for 2 nights in January 2011.

The KIWR woud have all it needs to be just excellent: a wonderful: a setting at the entrance of the Flinders Case National Park (a 5 minutes drive), a nice architecture with wooden buildings arranged round a bush land courtyard, a friendly management (although the lady at the front desk did not seem to know too much about anything around), a really excellent restaurant -but unfortunately a just average accommodation, especially when talking about cleanliness.

We stayed in a Courtyard Suite. You enter the suite through the private deck. The room's interior is not the up-to-date-style, but also not really old-fashioned. The rooms are quite dark inside. The real bad thing was the cleanliness: we found a lot of dust when just moving something from the place it was. For example, as we wanted to put our suitcase on the shelf, we had to move it just for 2 cm -heaps of dust and a plastic bag of somebody else also covered with dust and dirt -maybe interesting on an archeological site, but not in a hotel room...and we dared to take a look behind the table -don't do it! The toilet in the bathroom was dirty, like it had not seen any real cleaning for ages. So, this was just worth 2 points, but...:

...the real amazing and great thing at this location is the wildlife -one kangaroo is more or less permanently living around the property and is to be found inside the courtyard or around the car parking in the mornings and late afternoons/evenings. The very cute Wallabies are coming onto the grounds to get some "kangaroo food" from the retreat's guests in the evenings -we absolutely loved it.

We had dinner at the restaurant once -and were happy to find two tasteful vegetarian main dishes on the menu and a choice of also excellent vegetarian starters. Restaurant staff was very friendly and we could choose a table when making a reservation directly in the restaurant.

In the lobby you can find two computers providing free internet access.

So, taken together, if you can cope with an accommodation probably not that clean, you can stay there -in our opinion this is the area where you can best experience wildlife. The area around Penneshaw is more the "human style" and far away from a real nature experience.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelSiMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

If you want to stay on the western side of Kangaroo Island, there aren't too many options as it is kind of remote. Sure you can pay hundreds more and stay at a real fancy place, but this is a good moderate place. The location is great, very close to Flinders Chase, and overall the rooms are comfortable, if not exactly high-style. Lots of hunter green, lodgy wood, and beige bathroom tiles -- you get the idea. Also, considering where you are the hotel was remarkably bug-free.

Definitely get a room that looks out to the courtyard where the wallabies come hang out at night. The courtyard is not exactly "wilderness", as they seem to claim, but more of a petting zoo. Still, it was fun to see the animals so up close and feed them.

The retreat has a decent restaurant. Not sophisticated cuisine or anything, but still tasty if a bit expensive for what it is. It's worth it for at least one night. The staff is hit or miss, well, at least one guy was a miss. He kept asking if we were guests of the hotels even though we spoke to him like 4 times.

The hotel has a fuel pump, which is good because there doesn't seem to be many pumps on western part of the island.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ElevenBus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2011

We were booked into ecoroom but as quiet they upgraded us.
Would recommend the courtyard if you can afford it, as eco rooms all lead off big common room area, in separate builiding at rear of estate
Lots of wildlife in campus. Would be great for young children.
Ecellent meal at restaurant one night with helpful staff. Wish they would not play really loud 'background' music at restaurant - but was turned down for short period when we asked

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bob21_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

I read the other reviews and wonder if they went the same place i did. The setting is amazing. The wildlife was amazing--kangaroos and wallabies everywhere! The people were wonderful. The restaurant was simply amazing food--and if you wanted to dine in your apartment/room they were happy to accommodate. The rooms were big and clean. Bring your own food if you plan to cook--nothing is nearby. This is an amazingly GREEN resort. It is a not a luxurious day spa. If you want a wonderful location between the national park and Hanson Bay to explore--this is your spot. Great on site hiking.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomasnorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2011

Rooms (we had two rooms in the eco lodge) were not clean. Live and dead spiders in room. Showers without hobs so water drifted out onto carpet. Shower curtain rail broken. Walls thin. Was not worth $99 per room per night. No TV. Staff friendly but person showing me around was learning and didn't know too much. Restaurant nice but over priced. Breakfast prices a joke (price gouging). Better breakfast at Parndana Bakery and cheap! Handy location to tourist attractions. These guys need to up their game.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happy_Traveler_1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews