We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family snack”
Review of Mad Mex

Mad Mex
Ranked #17 of 59 Restaurants in Hillarys
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Family snack”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Easy way to let the kids select what they want to eat. Especially when they have varying tastes and likes.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Really great experience”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I had the nachos and loved them. I can't wait to go back and try another dish. It's great to have a Mexican place use pulled variety meats rather than mince. Loved it

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mantispest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“yum yum yum”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

ate nachos leisurley on the deck metal table and chairs opposite mad mex. Sat and watched the water, the people going by whilst trying to avoid the soy seagulls in amusement, watching their interactions with other patrons trying to eat in peace, Very funny

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank lorigow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fast food Mexican, but where was the hot?”
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

A friend chose Mad Mex for where we'd eat the other night whilst catching up. He ordered a quesadilla whilst I got the chicken nachos with guacamole and sour cream, jalapeños and the hottest sauce.

In general I would say the nachos at $17 were a little over priced, but tasted okay, but not fantastic. In ordering the hottest sauce and jalapeños I was expecting a bit of kick from my meal, though I am used to fire hot I must say, I did wonder if they'd served me the equivalent of pickles and lemon pepper at Nandos, it was so mild and thus disappointing.

My friend seemed happy with his quesadilla which came with a dipping sauce. I wished in sitting down I had bought that instead, clearly as he'd eaten there many times before he knew his favourites and went for it.

I probably won't be returning, not great value for money when compared to other options at Hillary's.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BryGL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Like a little spice”
Reviewed 1 March 2013

A definite must if you like a little spicy food. Have had Mexican food before but this is much much better and quite cheap. The meal sizes are great and judging by the queue of people in the shop, others also must enjoy their food. I had a burrito with steak and the hottest salsa sauce, yummy.
Not really a restaurant, more like a take away with tables for you to sit at.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john59perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mad Mex also viewed

Joondalup, Greater Perth
Highgate, Vincent
 
Perth, Greater Perth
Fremantle, Greater Perth
 
Victoria Park, Greater Perth
East Victoria Park, Victoria Park
 

Been to Mad Mex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing