We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very disappointed experience from foodies”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Landhaus Bacher

Landhaus Bacher
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Austrian, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Landhaus Bacher has been one of the first culinary addresses in the Wachau for many years. It is one of Austria’s very best restaurants.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
124 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“very disappointed experience from foodies”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

last night, we were very excited to dine in Landhaus Bacher because it was rated one of the best restaurant in Austria.

I chose spring menu fir 120 Euro and my partner chose landaus menu for 123 euro

First, we requested the chef put low salt in our food since we had problem of the food we had for last few days around Durnstein.

Very disappointed, when the dishes came, all of them were still salty. Looked like the chef ignored the preference of customers.

Second, dishes came very slow. after 2 dishes, the rest of them came with 1/2 hour interval. Finally we needed to tell the server, it was too long.

We travelled around the world frequently and were in Europe very summer in the past 13 years. Because we are foodies, we experienced restaurants with good reviews, with michelin stars whereever we were. We had chance to visit El Bullie, Norma, Azark those top rated restaurants. Now we understand why Bacher can't get any Michelin star.

The food is below average. The service is too slow. The atmosphere is average.

One most bizzare thing about the Bacher is it will not accept credit card other than Visa and Diners Club.

Everyone knows that Diners Club is worst credit card you have to do world travelling. Visa, mastercard, and American Express are the popular. If the restaurant would like to become the world class restaurant, customer service is the # 1 concern to the management. Only accept Visa and Diners club? How inconvenient to world travellers!! It shows the bad management of the restaurant. No wonder, the chef ignored our request for less salt in food and the dishes came extremely slow in the slow Wednesday night.

120 and 123 euro for fixed menu are not expensive as the top rated restaurants but it is not cheap compared to 1or 2 michelin stars we visited in Paris, Dijon or Budapest etc.

In conclusion, the restaurant is not worth to visit. Bad experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank TRventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    17
    9
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“EXCELLENT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We (my wife and I) have been for the second time and it is still one of the best restaurants we have ever been to. Excellent food and excellent service. An expectional dinning experience!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pavelkruppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, VA
Level Contributor
159 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

WOW. We were taken here for a group dinner with a set menu – but at least 3 of the 4 courses were to DIE for, which at this point in my life is saying a lot! The first course was a salad with asparagus and trout sashimi…not only was it a work of art to look at, but it tasted FABULOUS….all kinds of layers of flavors and textures….absolutely memorable. This was followed by a “creamy soup of herbs” – also dreamy and delicate in flavor, The main course of filet of veal and beef were good…but nothing out of the ordinary (maybe my taste buds were spoiled at this point?) Except that the strawberry dessert that followed also was to die for….so all in all a 10! Service was impeccable….many dishes were finished tableside (always a nice touch) and with a flourish! Wish I didn’t live 10,000 miles away – or I would come back! For those of you traveling in the area who have the opportunity to come here – don’t miss it…you won’t be sorry!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SydneyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food, good service, very high prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Landhaus Bacher is an Austrian Gourmet Restaurant about an hours drive away from Vienna. It is located in one of the most famous Austrian wine regions, the Wachau in Lower Austria. This is a good location for a day's trip or more. There are various other nice small traditional restaurants in the area. When going there for lunch, one can choose the lunch menu, which costs 45 Euro per person.

We ordered the menu with a glass of champagne as an aperitif. There was a variety of amuse bouches to start with.

As a starter we had the beef bouillon with semolina dumplings, a sort of liver dumpling and bacon dumpling. The combination was interesting and the portion was not to big, which was convenient. There was also a cold fish dish with vegetables as a starter.

I had the beef cut with potato balls and vegetable in a sauce they poured over when serving. The beef was good, the combination interesting but not extraordinary. I had a glass of an Austrian cuvée from the region with Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot and Blaufränkisch. The wine (by the glass) was ok but highly priced for one glass. We also had the trout with "Krautfleckerl".

For the desert we chose the lunch menu desert. . The jam was fresh and the pancakes were good. I do not consider pancakes a special dish when in a gourmet restaurant but they were very good of course.

After the desert, with coffee or without we were also offered some sweets variations. They offered some home made Cointreau chocolates, a peach soup, a caramelised plum as well as some delicate small chocolate breads/crackers.


The small surprises in between were a highlight of this restaurant. Overall it is a very nice place with good service. The wine menu is expensive, you could say overpriced. The restaurant is on the higher price range, especially for this area. If you consider that the evening menu is about 100 Euros per person without drinks, this is quite a lot.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chrisjk82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, charming restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

An amazing night with exceptional food and service. Our group took over two large tables and even with such a large group, the service was perfect. The food was fun and unique, not to mention tasty. I had the trout appetizer, the beef and veal filet and a dessert with berries, vanilla-sauce and pastry. If you are in the region, take the time to find this little gem and enjoy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UsaMiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Landhaus Bacher also viewed

Krems an der Donau, Lower Austria
Krems an der Donau, Lower Austria
 
Durnstein, Lower Austria
Krems an der Donau, Lower Austria
 
Krems an der Donau, Lower Austria
Krems an der Donau, Lower Austria
 

Been to Landhaus Bacher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing