We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel on the edge of Bruges”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Brugge-Oostkamp
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oostkamp
Certificate of Excellence
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely hotel on the edge of Bruges”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My husband and I returned from 2 nights at this hotel last week. We booked it because it was ideally situated for Bruges, and being right on the E40 (motorway) meant we could easily get to Gent and Blankenburg which we also wanted to visit. Being so close to the main road didn't matter and we didn't hear any noise once inside the hotel.

The hotel was clean, nicely decorated, spacious with very friendly staff. Our room was large with a lovely King size bed, bath and shower. Our towels were changed on both days. All areas of the hotel seemed well cared for. We ate in the restaurant both evenings and really enjoyed the food and drinks.

Great extras include a free car park and free wifi throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lois B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    507
    386
    56
    11
    9
See reviews for
159
535
17
125
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed here in early August on our first trip to Belgium with our in laws who are regular visitors to Belgium. They booked the van der valk for us all and what a nice hotel, from check in to check out everything was excellent.

The hotel is very nicely laid out and decorated, the rooms themselves are large and very clean and comfortable. We didn't dine in the restaurant in the evening but the breakfast was excellent and again good value. We did however have a few drinks in the bar on our return from Bruges centre,and the service was excellent and the prices surprisingly good for a hotel of this standard, my wife had the largest Amaretto I have ever seen!!

Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Bruges area.

Room Tip: Rooms were all very quiet despite hotel being fairly close to a main motorway, and the air con was v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AuldHoosePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This hotel would have scored a 5 had it not been for a bit of a wiffey drain problem in our bathroom. However the way the hotel staff dealt with our complaint was very satisfactory. They would have moved us had the hotel not have been fully booked at the time.
The hotel is beautifully styalized everywhere. The staff were most helpful & extremely efficient. We didn't eat or use the bar area during this trip as we were only using this hotel as a base. Will definately be returning as a couple for a more relaxing break away next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stopped here for a weekend away and loved the hotel. The staff were friendly and informative and spoke excellent English, and the room was very spacious and clean. I especially enjoyed the shower! A convenient location for drivers- it was only a short drive from the hotel to the main train station where we caught one of the frequent buses to Brugges (relatively cheap parking and hassle free), it's also close enough to walk from the station to the centre. Didn't try the restaurant but cannot fault the hotel and would recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sleepybear89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We spent 3 nights here and found the hotel clean and modern. Very comfortable beds and pillows. Rooms spacious. Free wifi a terrific bonus. Free parking. Pleasant bar with snacks. Breakfast was €16 each and very good. Would have liked a child's breakfast at a reduced rate. Short drive in to Brugge central

Room Tip: When we opened the doors to our balcony the traffic noise was quite loud. Having a room at the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chezza_dntaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Our third visit (although the first for our daughter) and the experience for all was as good as before. Spotless, very comfortable, very helpful staff and excellent food (if anything the food was better than on our previous visits). Surprised by the comments of other visitors on the cost of breakfast - the food selection is amazing, hot food cooked to order, and after a Van Der Valk breakfast, you can easily last out until dinner time! The access to Brugge was, as always, very easy but visitors should remember that the museums and art galleries in Brugge are closed on Mondays!! We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiltonKeynesDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Clean, well decorated, helpful friendly staff, great restaurant with top class food.
Couldn't say a bad word about this hotel and would recommend it to anybody passing through or staying for a few nights.
Bar and restaurant was too class in both service and quality then Back to a clean modern room.
Very nice stay.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oostkamp
4.6 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
9.2 mi away
Hotel De Stokerij
Hotel De Stokerij
#19 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
4.4 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
4.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
2.8 mi away
Best Western Premier Weinebrugge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Brugge-Oostkamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Brugge-Oostkamp

Property: Van der Valk Hotel Brugge-Oostkamp
Address: Kapellestraat 146, Oostkamp 8020, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Oostkamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oostkamp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Brugge-Oostkamp 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Van der Valk Hotel Brugge - Oostkamp is established in the former Kasteel-Restaurant Cruydenhove at the edge of the beautiful city of Bruges also called the Venice of the North. The city received this name because of its magnificent monumental buildings, the canals and beautiful squares. Besides Bruges, the towns Ghent, Ostend and Knokke are also easily accessible from the hotel. Here you can enjoy the green surroundings or get a breath of fresh sea air at the Belgian Coast. The hotel offers deluxe rooms and suites. The rooms are all equipped with a comfortable bathroom with a bath or shower, toilet and a hair dryer. The rooms also have air conditioning, a refrigerator, free wifi, safe, telephone, television, balcony or terrace and free coffee and tea making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Brugge-Oostkamp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing