We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay!!”
Review of Park Gate Chalets

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Park Gate Chalets
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome stay!!”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

My family stayed for 4 nights. The place was decent for a small family which accomodated enough room for all. This log cabin has a great appeal. We were welcomed with a bottle of wine and Christmas card from Janine and Ryan. We went skiing for 2 days so we opted on getting the cabin cleaned as we kept it tidied the entire stay. Cooking was good as long as your came prepared with your own ingredients and meal plans. The wood burning fireplace put a Christmasy touch to our own brought-in fresh tree we decorated. It even accomodated our dog which was a bonus. Other than that, we can't complain about our stay except the carpet is not the greater shape which is understandable considering it's a great place for people to stay for skiing and mini get-away. We are already talking about coming back for the summer when we go hiking. Thanks Janice and Ryan!

Room Tip: Don't expect too much from this place. You do get what you pay for. I don't mean that in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iel0820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    20
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
26
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I remember staying at these Cabins back when it was called The Stockade and the only thing that has really changed about it is the name. I love this place. The cabins are rustic, and have that log cabin smell everytime you enter it, they are cozy and ambient. Even the little things like the different style of carpet in the living room versus the bedroom, the older style linoleum flooring, the curtains and old tv, just make me settle in even more. If you are expecting 5 star resort style accommodations, don't come here. Not saying anything is wrong with that, but this is not what Park Gate will offer. This place is a quiet, non party, non rowdy type of place to come to. It is a place to come to when the sounds of city traffic and the annoyances of everyday life just become too much to bear. I will keep coming back here and you have my word that there was no bed bugs, no bad management and no reason to call this place down. I offered some advice to management about a couple minor things such as a broken toilet paper holder and curtain rod, but I'm not going to make this review a harsh one because of that. Its a 5 star property simply because ambience, quiet and serenity that only the mountains can offer is real hard to beat!

Room Tip: Maybe choose a 2 bedroom, even if your a couple or single. You'll pay more, but you will get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We absolutely love this place! YES there are a few things they could work on (little maintenance type things) but we come here to enjoy the rustic feel and to get away from the crazy city, and enjoy a few nights of simplicity. Last time we stayed there were a few little things that could have been improved. (Salt&Pepper shakers were empty, Dish soap was empty(required to clean your dishes), one of the doors wouldn't open(fire& safety issue), and showers need to be updated. Other than that, it sure is a nice escape! We're going back in may for a few nights (1 is not long enough).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amber C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

So glad I stayed here! I'm not sure what some of the other reviewers were complaining about, for $120/nt during high season, you can't beat this place!!! The 1 bdrm cabin is quite small but cozy, and came with cable tv, dvd player and intermittent wifi. The cabins are quite clean and tidy. Ryan the manager is super sweet and very helpful, checking to see if we had everything we needed. Despite the temp dipping below 0 at night, the gas fireplace keeps the unit quite warm. The small number of cabins available for rent, makes it a nice,quiet place to stay. No noisy families or playgrounds during my stay( AKA: No screaming children!). Each cabin has nice picnic table/sitting area, and there are BBQ's available to use on the main patio. I was sorry to only be able to stay one night, but I'll definitely be back soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mountain_Squirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

I had a fantastic time at parkgate chalets.I was celebrating my birthday it was great. Ryan was very friendly and made sure we had everything we needed. I will tell all my friends about this place and i will be back for sure. the cabins are a good size (not like their neighbors where i have stayed before) and very clean.The free wood rocked!!

Room Tip: # 3 was great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TerraBroatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

We have been coming to Park Gates Chalets for two years now and have seen improvement in the property over that time. The cabins are older but they have been kept up and are clean. For a 6 cabin motel the single staff person is on hand and if asked for things responds quickly.

We saw the negative reviews on this site about the motel and we are writing this to advise that all reviews can not be trusted. We have stayed in different cabins here and all have been a good experience! We would strongly recommend people take time to stay at the motel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rinkydinkCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

It had a fully equipped kitchen, fireplace and full bathroom. The cabin had everything we needed as well as a BBQ in the main area outside. The manager (Ryan) was fantastic – even stacked wood outside our door. Our cabin was clean, lots of parking was available and for two couples it was very affordable! We will be returning again that’s for sure!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BowHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan-PGC, Manager at Park Gate Chalets, responded to this review, 24 March 2011
Thank you very much for the feedback! Glad to hear that you will be back again, you are always welcome. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harvie Heights
2.0 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
3.6 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
3.5 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#13 of 28 in Canmore
528 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn of the Rockies
Inn of the Rockies
#17 of 28 in Canmore
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Gate Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Gate Chalets

Property: Park Gate Chalets
Address: 1050 Harvie Heights Rd, Harvie Heights, Banff National Park, Alberta T1W 2W2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Harvie Heights
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Harvie Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Park Gate Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Gate Chalets Harvie Heights, Canada - Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing