We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fact or fiction...u decide”
Review of Rundle Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rundle Cabins
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We arrived summer 2011. First impressions were golden. Upon seeing that this place was run by young teenagers with no knowledge of what was offered, put us off and our rates changed higher than what we booked. We were told our cabin number but not its location. It would seem an easy feat, but they are so sporatically numbered, we wondered around the site for about a half hour to locate our cabin. Finally arriving and seeing our cabin for the first time we were astounded - it looked nothing like the website we booked from - it was dingy, smelly and the tin showers were worse than what I would consider deemed for a prison cell. We did however enjoy the scenery. The grounds around the cabins were nice. We found on our own that we were actually welcome to use the firepits (wood provided) and bbqs that were complimentary but were not told about it by the staff. This place could have been more enjoyable but needed to comply to the standards warrented by the rates and web expectations. Leaky roofs and several not working appliances and faucets seemed to be normal in several cabins based on what other guests had told us during our stay. And nothing was done to fix the problems or appology/compensation was given by management.
Customer service was definately ignored.

I've seen several reviews on this place and the responses by management and can say that in all my travels around the world...I have not seen as many negative reviews before this. This place would be fine if the rates matched the accommadations...but sadly...they fall very short. They are more fitting to hostel/ backpacker rooms.

Enjoy...if you want to take a chance

Room Tip: Pic expesnsive and recieve average
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank bj r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rundle888, Front Office Manager at Rundle Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

We appreciate your feedback, on behalf of Rundle Ridge Chalets, a sincere apology for the lack of knowledge the staff was able to provide; since then we have hired new mature staff. We have some renovated cabins that you may request upon booking. We hope that should you stay with us again that your experience will be a greater one.

Thank you,

Rundle Ridge Chalets

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2011

We have just returned from a 3 day weekend at the Rundle Ridge Chalets. We were looking for a place that could accommodate 8 people (four couples) in our party & booked the 3 bedroom cabin. (One couple slept on the pull out bed in the living room).

The whole group was extremely impressed with the cabin. It was clean, well maintained, with an equipped kitchen. The property had a great 'camping' style feel to it with 2 communal fire pits. The wood was provided free of charge.
We were made to feel very welcome on arrival & were looked after with extra towels, pillows etc. We were travelling on motorcycles, so we know they are motorcycle friendly. There were some fellow 'cabin renters' that we met, had dogs, so they are also pet friendly :)

The cabins are located in Harvie Heights - a few km's across the highway from Canmore. It would take us about 5 mins to ride into Canmore. One evening we arranged for a cab to take us into town for $12.

Our whole group would recommend the cabins & we would all stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maddydoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Where to start? How about the website. OK... I should have known something was up when the website automatically played that awful midi music that irritated you on websites in 1994. You mute the music, but every time you look at a new page, it starts again. This clueless website design and lack of taste should have tipped me off, but I really wanted a cabin near Banff, not a hotel room. So I booked it.

We pulled in about 10PM. A lady met us at the office and wouldn't reply when we said hello. Not your typically friendly Canadian. She wouldn't give us any information about the cabin, except that we could get more firewood at the office. The cabins are on the access road to Highway 1 (the Trans-Canada Highway.) The website portrayed it as, "...along Rundle Mountain ridge in the hamlet of Harvey Heights." Yes, the Rundle Ridge is just across the interstate, and it is impressive. But we never saw "the hamlet of Harvey Heights." A truthful website would say, "decades ago these were cute little cabins along the road to Banff. Then they turned the road into an interstate, widened the access road to the front of the cabins, and built hotels on each side of us." The road noise was unbelievable, and the trucks kept rolling all night.

The cabin was billed as a one-room that will sleep 4 people. The cost was extremely high for a place that put my kids on a hide-a-bed, but everything around Banff and Canmore was high, and I was booking shortly before the trip. What they didn't tell us on the website was that the hide-a-bed was ancient and dirty looking, that it took up so much space in the tiny cabin that we had to take two steps across the kids' bed to get in the "kitchen" area, or that the folded-out bed would be touching a gas-fueled heater - a fire hazard which I am sure is against some law.

If this cabin had been billed as a 2-person cabin next to the interstate, we would've known that $200 per night (incl. taxes) was higher than the 4-star hotel we later booked in Banff. The problem Rundle Ridge has is, they bill themselves as peaceful cabins in a tiny town just outside the park gate. This allows them to charge a premium price. If they decide to be truthful about their location, or the size and sleeping capacity of their cabins, they will no longer be competitive, unless they severely cut their prices. So don't expect truthfulness from their website in the future. Just remember that we warned you.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank GWScottJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rundle888, Owner at Rundle Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2011

I am sorry to hear that you received unfriendly service from one of our staff on the evening that you arrived. Thank you for your review of our web site. I apologize that the music annoyed you, however we do offer an off button on every page. Unfortunately the highway noise can be a little loud at times, although we do have Cabins farther away from the road on our 5 acre property. We would have been more than happy to accommodate you if you had informed us of your concern during your stay. You mentioned that we have hotels on both sides of our property, however we actually have another Cabin business on one side of us and condominiums on the other.
When you placed your reservation online for a Studio Cabin, the web site gives you a full room description and you can chose from a Studio, One, Two or Three bedroom, depending on the number of people in your party .
We apreciate your feedback and again we apologize for the unfriendly service you received.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We stayed at Rundle Ridge Chalets rustic cabin.
Best place in the mountains. 2 km’s away from Canmore to shop or go for a meal. But it was equally nice to barbeque or cook at our cabin.

The cabin was clean, maid service great. The linens clean, bed was really comfortable! HD television & internet or just a quiet time reading a good book, made for a peaceful and relaxing time. The cabins are very family oriented with a play area, fire pits & barbeque areas for a family's enjoyment, makes for a very wholesome atmosphere.

And a special thanks to are hosts Lori & Don for making our week one we'll always remember. 'PS' What we can't forget was the sweet smelling mountain air blowing through the windows while nestled in bed on a great mattress. It made for the best night's sleep in years.

We will be back in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mysticgnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

I have been visiting these cabins for over 30 years, I am very pleased to see the dramatic changes this year. I can see that the new owners are taking pride in their property. I was nice to see the land very well maintained and the cleanliness of the cabins are exceptional, the staff and housekeepers are doing a fanastic job and I am looking forward to my next visit. I am delighted to tell my friends and family what a wonderful time I had this time..............Keep up the good work. A special thanks to the housekeepers for making sure I had everything I needed your high enery made my stay feel like I was part of the family................Thanks again and see you next year

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happycabiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

the first room they gave us reeked of smoke - like the partiers had left as we drove up...

then the next very small, so-called 1 bedroom room they gave us had uneaten bagels in the cupboard left by the last people there, along with the used shampoo containers in the tin shower stall....making it very clear how poor their attention to cleaning details are

my skin virtually crawled as our 2 year old played on the floor and when we climbed in bed.....only stay there if you are interested in partying with the rest of the people who don't want to stay in a decent place

Room Tip: don't pay in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank trustmeCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rundle888, Owner at Rundle Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2011

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear you where unhappy with your first room . The guests that stayed in your room the previous night was a non smoking family and the odor was from the wood burning wood stove. As for the closed bag of bagels in the cupboard of the third cabin you chose and the small shampoo bottle on the top of the shower, we are very sorry and have implemented housekeeping changes to ensure it doesn't happen again. We are currently upgrading the cabins with new wood flooring and kitchens, however every cabin rug was shampooed during our spring cleaning and all bedding has already been replaced this year. Once again, we would like to thank you for your feedback and apologize that the cabin was not up to your standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We loved the stay we had here it was relaxing, We had a view of the mountains. The cabins felt like being at home. We were greeted with a smile and the people that work there were very nice. When we go back that way we will be booking with them again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AshleyG10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rundle888, Front Office Manager at Rundle Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Thank you for your feedback

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at Rundle Ridge Chalets. We look forward to your return and hope your next experience will even exceed your first pleasant experience.

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harvie Heights
9.6 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
990 reviews
3.8 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
2.4 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Inns Of Banff
Inns Of Banff
#32 of 33 in Banff
1,215 reviews
3.3 mi away
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre
8.0 mi away
HI-Banff Alpine Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rundle Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rundle Cabins

Address: 1100 Harvie Heights Rd, Harvie Heights, Banff National Park, Alberta T1W 2W2, Canada (Formerly Rundle Ridge Chalets)
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Harvie Heights
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Harvie Heights
Price Range: £45 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rundle Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rundle Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rundle Ridge Chalets Hotel Harvie Heights
Rundle Cabins Harvie Heights, Canada - Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing