We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It”
Review of Rundle Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rundle Cabins
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved It”
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We stayed for two nights at the lower rates at the end of May. The chalet was so lovely. We used the kitchen which had everything, the fireplace and the barbeque. The grounds were really lovely as well. The staff was very helpful and nice. The place was very clean and so comfortable. I loved the mountain air, the clear crisp mornings with the fireplace on. I would definately stay here again and hope I can soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    24
    22
    21
    83
See reviews for
46
65
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We only stayed here because we had pets and believe me having pets should not be a problem. The cabin was so outdated and dirty it really should not have mattered. We paid over $100.00 per night and yet when we arrived the ads read $49.00 per night and that is really all it is worth. The bed was only good for one person and not even a double, the pull out was beyond sleepable. The biggest complaint is that is was way overpriced for what they offered and beyond acceptable. Most people staying there are long term and selling it as a resort or get away weekend full price is really not acceptable. Obviously they take advantage of people not knowing how run down it is. The cabins and condos next door are probably the same price and are pretty nice so be careful booking here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie412Edmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rundle888, Front Office Manager at Rundle Cabins, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
The price you saw advertised would have been a walk in rate which is for our basic studio cabins in our low season. The cabins are rustic; however, we have made upgrades to the cabins through the décor. Our apologies if you felt as if you were misinformed. Your feedback is appreciated.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Harvie Heights hotels

Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

The initial 2 bedroom we were shown was too small. There were no doors on the bedrooms but only the sliding on tracks. No microwave but requested on and received one the very next day. The fridge was starting to freeze our food, but then later was adjusted by maintenance. We went to ask to see other two bedroom as well the three bedroom. LOVED the three bedroom. Took that for the remainder of our stay. The three bedroom was very pricey in high season but worth the low season - stay a min. seven nights.
I wished I was back there everyday...I would recommend this place to anyone whom love the environment. Except for the ghosts (dressed in mining gear) that appeared to both myself and my best friend - was fantastic!

Room Tip: Expect rustic and not the Fairmount Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff National Park, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

The website advertises that the room is rustic, and it is indeed rustic and uncomfortably so. The hotel owner has been collecting rental revenues on these so-called cabins for over 20+ years and hasn’t made one upgrade since nor have they done adequate repairs – the a kitchen sink clogged every time we ran the tap, a light which did not work in one of the bedrooms, a shower-head which sprayed water everywhere except on your head (so it was impossible to wash your hair), the windows and doors did not close properly so cold air seeped-in, so much so that the very old and noisy heater was on its max the entire time we were there and the room never heated-up enough to remove our jackets. Other problems included the following: the room promised a fireplace but all we got was a bricked-in fireplace and an unsafe fire pit outside (which was effectively a hole in the ground surrounded by a couple of rocks and we could not use it anyways as it was the dead of winter), our room was supposed to sleep 6 – good luck fitting more than 4 people in that cabin, the sofa-bed’s mattress was about 2 inches thick with springs popping out – so very thin and very uncomfortable, the room was supposed to have a microwave – but I was told by the desk-staff that the website was wrong and should have been updated. In sum you will not get what is promised to you on the website. Not worth the price charged and I would never recommend this so-called cabin to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank a1_reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rundle888, Front Office Manager at Rundle Cabins, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
There has been some upgrades to the cabins and we have completely renovated cabins that are available upon request. We apologize for all of the issues with the cabin that inconvenienced your stay. We now have a maintenance person on site that is able to deal with any of the mentioned complaints. All of our cabins with exception to the basic studio cabins, and one of our two bedroom cabins has a fireplace or wood burning stove inside. We hope that you will consider staying with us again to see our new and improved Rundle Ridge Chalets.

Thank you for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We arrived summer 2011. First impressions were golden. Upon seeing that this place was run by young teenagers with no knowledge of what was offered, put us off and our rates changed higher than what we booked. We were told our cabin number but not its location. It would seem an easy feat, but they are so sporatically numbered, we wondered around the site for about a half hour to locate our cabin. Finally arriving and seeing our cabin for the first time we were astounded - it looked nothing like the website we booked from - it was dingy, smelly and the tin showers were worse than what I would consider deemed for a prison cell. We did however enjoy the scenery. The grounds around the cabins were nice. We found on our own that we were actually welcome to use the firepits (wood provided) and bbqs that were complimentary but were not told about it by the staff. This place could have been more enjoyable but needed to comply to the standards warrented by the rates and web expectations. Leaky roofs and several not working appliances and faucets seemed to be normal in several cabins based on what other guests had told us during our stay. And nothing was done to fix the problems or appology/compensation was given by management.
Customer service was definately ignored.

I've seen several reviews on this place and the responses by management and can say that in all my travels around the world...I have not seen as many negative reviews before this. This place would be fine if the rates matched the accommadations...but sadly...they fall very short. They are more fitting to hostel/ backpacker rooms.

Enjoy...if you want to take a chance

Room Tip: Pic expesnsive and recieve average
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bj r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rundle888, Front Office Manager at Rundle Cabins, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
We appreciate your feedback, on behalf of Rundle Ridge Chalets, a sincere apology for the lack of knowledge the staff was able to provide; since then we have hired new mature staff. We have some renovated cabins that you may request upon booking. We hope that should you stay with us again that your experience will be a greater one.

Thank you,

Rundle Ridge Chalets
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We have just returned from a 3 day weekend at the Rundle Ridge Chalets. We were looking for a place that could accommodate 8 people (four couples) in our party & booked the 3 bedroom cabin. (One couple slept on the pull out bed in the living room).

The whole group was extremely impressed with the cabin. It was clean, well maintained, with an equipped kitchen. The property had a great 'camping' style feel to it with 2 communal fire pits. The wood was provided free of charge.
We were made to feel very welcome on arrival & were looked after with extra towels, pillows etc. We were travelling on motorcycles, so we know they are motorcycle friendly. There were some fellow 'cabin renters' that we met, had dogs, so they are also pet friendly :)

The cabins are located in Harvie Heights - a few km's across the highway from Canmore. It would take us about 5 mins to ride into Canmore. One evening we arranged for a cab to take us into town for $12.

Our whole group would recommend the cabins & we would all stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maddydoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nacogdoches, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Where to start? How about the website. OK... I should have known something was up when the website automatically played that awful midi music that irritated you on websites in 1994. You mute the music, but every time you look at a new page, it starts again. This clueless website design and lack of taste should have tipped me off, but I really wanted a cabin near Banff, not a hotel room. So I booked it.

We pulled in about 10PM. A lady met us at the office and wouldn't reply when we said hello. Not your typically friendly Canadian. She wouldn't give us any information about the cabin, except that we could get more firewood at the office. The cabins are on the access road to Highway 1 (the Trans-Canada Highway.) The website portrayed it as, "...along Rundle Mountain ridge in the hamlet of Harvey Heights." Yes, the Rundle Ridge is just across the interstate, and it is impressive. But we never saw "the hamlet of Harvey Heights." A truthful website would say, "decades ago these were cute little cabins along the road to Banff. Then they turned the road into an interstate, widened the access road to the front of the cabins, and built hotels on each side of us." The road noise was unbelievable, and the trucks kept rolling all night.

The cabin was billed as a one-room that will sleep 4 people. The cost was extremely high for a place that put my kids on a hide-a-bed, but everything around Banff and Canmore was high, and I was booking shortly before the trip. What they didn't tell us on the website was that the hide-a-bed was ancient and dirty looking, that it took up so much space in the tiny cabin that we had to take two steps across the kids' bed to get in the "kitchen" area, or that the folded-out bed would be touching a gas-fueled heater - a fire hazard which I am sure is against some law.

If this cabin had been billed as a 2-person cabin next to the interstate, we would've known that $200 per night (incl. taxes) was higher than the 4-star hotel we later booked in Banff. The problem Rundle Ridge has is, they bill themselves as peaceful cabins in a tiny town just outside the park gate. This allows them to charge a premium price. If they decide to be truthful about their location, or the size and sleeping capacity of their cabins, they will no longer be competitive, unless they severely cut their prices. So don't expect truthfulness from their website in the future. Just remember that we warned you.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GWScottJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rundle888, Owner at Rundle Cabins, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
I am sorry to hear that you received unfriendly service from one of our staff on the evening that you arrived. Thank you for your review of our web site. I apologize that the music annoyed you, however we do offer an off button on every page. Unfortunately the highway noise can be a little loud at times, although we do have Cabins farther away from the road on our 5 acre property. We would have been more than happy to accommodate you if you had informed us of your concern during your stay. You mentioned that we have hotels on both sides of our property, however we actually have another Cabin business on one side of us and condominiums on the other.
When you placed your reservation online for a Studio Cabin, the web site gives you a full room description and you can chose from a Studio, One, Two or Three bedroom, depending on the number of people in your party .
We apreciate your feedback and again we apologize for the unfriendly service you received.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harvie Heights
2.4 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
2.1 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
9.6 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inn of the Rockies
Inn of the Rockies
#17 of 29 in Canmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,988 reviews
2.2 mi away
Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rundle Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rundle Cabins

Property: Rundle Cabins
Address: 1100 Harvie Heights Rd, Harvie Heights, Banff National Park, Alberta T1W 2W2, Canada (Formerly Rundle Ridge Chalets)
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Harvie Heights
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Harvie Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rundle Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rundle Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rundle Ridge Chalets Hotel Harvie Heights
Rundle Cabins Harvie Heights, Canada - Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing