We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not As Good As It Used to Be” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banff Boundary Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Banff Boundary Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not As Good As It Used to Be”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

This is our 4th time in as many years at The Banff Boundary Lodge and it is declining in customer service. There were items missing from their contents report (dish towel, frying pan, cookie sheet). They would only give us one key per unit even though 4 people were staying in each (extra keys cost $100 deposit each). Then one of our group fell down the inside stairs which resulted in us getting a noise violation. Fortunately only her butt and ego were bruised. Finally on the day we were scheduled to leave no one had bothered to clear the outside stairs of about 8" of snowfall nor was the parking lot plowed. But it is cheap.

Room Tip: We would always select the units in the southeast corner of the property so we would not disturb oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snarley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    86
    34
    14
    9
See reviews for
87
56
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

The Banff Boundary Lodge has been our first choice accommodations for our ladies group every time we ventured out to the Canmore / Banff area. We have always been loyal guests and have even written acclamations about the wonderful stay we had...up until this point! There was dried blood all over our kitchen floor, the upstairs bathroom had a leaking faucet, I got a noise violation from FALLING down the stairs!!! I got it after I was asleep, which even makes me more bitter as I couldn't even explain what happened! Pretty brutal, especially when it's a liability. We ran out of toilet paper (4 woman to a king deluxe suite), overall both suites had not looked like they were cleaned properly and lacked the normal soap etc. in bathrooms. Unfortunitly, we have made the decision not to return to the Banff Boundary Lodge.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a CLEAN ROOM!! Report anything not up to standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank icannotthinkofaname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

Best value accom of our whole stay in Canada. My partner and I stayed here a week and couldn't believe how big our apartment was. King size bed in a separate bedroom, full size kitchen, lounge room with gas fireplace. Huge tv, combined shower bath and no stairs for us!
For $64 a night it was top value. Room was spotless, service was mixed (Irish girl super helpful and friendly, French one not so much).
Oh and the outdoor hot tub is superb! There was snow all around while we used it which added to the atmosphere.
You'd need a car to stay here as its out of town (5 min drive to Canmore for shops). Also convenient to banff which was 15-20 min drive away.
Highly recommended I'd definitely stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockville, Canada
Level Contributor
262 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

WOW... My Mom and I were very happy with our lodgings during our stay in Harvie Heights. The price is affordable, it had a kitchenette, two bathrooms and two floors of living space. During our stay in Alberta, we stayed at much more expenisve places and they weren't as nice as this place. It is close to Banff but not so close that it is crowded. The views from this hotel are amazing. The hot tub was nice to unwind in at night. The staff were friendly and helpful. The place is close to Canmore for grocery shopping. I would recommend this place.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank May S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

Although located outside of Banff National Park (800m from park entrance), the value of this accommodation is has to be top rated! We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for 4 nights, and it has served as our base for Banff and its surrounding areas. It is tidy, quiet and well equipped. Staff were wonderful and helpful. There is also an outdoor BBQ area free to use. There is no room service, porter service, or elevators that we can see. Do keep that in mind when booking. But hey, it is $50 a night after all.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter as it is away from the highway. Do ask for a ground floor unit if fitn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wonol030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

Just spent two nights here Dec 7/8, 2012 with my wife for her birthday. Heard from a family friend this was a decent spot for the price and only being 800m from the park entrance into Banff wasn't bad either.

Check in was easy as I booked online, they keep the same credit card number as you reserve with, the girl at the front was nice. The one downside is they take a $100 deposit for each key given and pt that into a hold on your credit card. I'm not a fan of that.

The unit we stayed in was 401, it was a nice size for 2 people. Nothing spectacular stood out and it needed some refurbishment and updating, but when you are supposed to be skiing and out and about, you don't have time to care.

I can see the attraction to being in Canmore and close to Banff for the price they offer (look online for the manager's special). Wake up early go skiing, come in late, chill at the hot tub at night.

It really is a perfect budget spot to enjoy the area, and you're only 6 mins from Downtown Canmore where the pubs and restaurants are.

Defiantly will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aplaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon area
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

Staff was wonderful, easy check in. Our condo was excellent! Spacious and clean. Close to the park and very quiet. The staff was excellent and recommend places to shop and if you would like a night out. Could not ask for anything more.

Room Tip: Ask for a room farther from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Casey2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harvie Heights
2.3 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pocaterra Inn
0.1 mi away
Inn of the Rockies
Inn of the Rockies
#17 of 29 in Canmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn
3.5 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge
Falcon Crest Lodge
#2 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Boundary Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Boundary Lodge

Property: Banff Boundary Lodge
Address: 1000 Harvie Heights Rd, Harvie Heights, Banff National Park, Alberta T1W 2W2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Harvie Heights
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Harvie Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Boundary Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff Boundary Lodge offers the discerning traveller all the comforts of a private condo suite with the incredible amenities of Canmore and Banff right at the doorstep. Located just metres from the Banff National Park gates and minutes to world-class skiing, golfing, dining, shopping and hiking, Banff Boundary Lodge gives guests unparalleled access to all the activities the Canadian Rocky Mountains have to offer. The lodge features two bedroom, fully stocked, self-catering kitchen suites with gas fireplaces, an on-site conference room, outdoor hot tub and free Wi-Fi. The lodge also offers a selection of pet-friendly rooms making it the perfect vacation accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Expedia so you can book your Banff Boundary Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Boundary Hotel Harvie Heights
Banff Boundary Canmore
Banff Boundary Lodge Harvie Heights, Canada - Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing