We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was Ok for the price”
Review of Gateway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gateway Inn
Okotoks, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Was Ok for the price”
Reviewed 21 March 2010

We stayed here because they had a cheap ski and stay package for couples at $75 a person. The hotel could use a little upgrading and there wasn't much to do cause the hotel was a few mins aways from everything, but it was clean and average and close to Mount Norquay where we went snowboarding. We would stay again because the package is cheap and its only for a night. The Lady at the front desk seemed nice too :-)

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saucysagitarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    12
    12
    5
    10
See reviews for
13
15
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Great Sankey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2009

We never actually stayed at the Gateway Inn, we had booked it by e-mail for just one night but when we arrived there was no-one there! We had given our arrival time and were very tired having just arrived a couple of hours earlier from UK. We knocked and rang the bell even telephone but nobody answered, I had confirmed my time of arrival as well! We hung around for half an hour and then left. By this time we had decided that the place was dirty , dark and creepy, co we went a few yards down the road and stayed at the Banff Boundary Motel and it was wonderful! The people at Gateway are dishonest they take peoples money but plan not to be there when guests arrive!! I am just waiting for my bank statement to arrive and if they have taken out money without my permission I am going to sue them - so keep away!!!

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank twovisitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Harvie Heights hotels

Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2009

Dyane is a very welcoming hostess and made us feel at home. We were disappointed that the carpets were so dirty, which is why we gave the rooms and cleanliness a low rating. However, Dyane assured us that the carpets would be cleaned before we bring family from Australia to stay for a week from 4th July 2009.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaseyCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2009

I have stayed at the Gateway Inn with a large team of field assistants during my visits to Exshaw and Canmore to work on a land reclamation research project. The cabins at the Gateway Inn, especially "The palace", has been a home for us after the long days of work.

The affordable rates, the cabin with kitchen, the location close to Canmore and Exshaw, all has been ideal for us. The managers, first Valentina and now Dyane, have been great, kind and helpful, making sure that our stay is as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Staying at the Gateway Inn may provide the naturalist with some additional joy as deer or elk will graze in the mornings and evenings within the hotel property. For travelers that enjoy an old style environment, affordable fees and a warm welcome from the manager, this is sure the place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anayansi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, B.C.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2009

On our way to Vancouver from Calgary, we spied the Gateway Inn in Harvie Heights.
In the back of my mind there were Questions, ( if I had seen the older reviews, I would have stayed away!) But what a surprise to be welcomed so pleasantly to a clean back room, not too noisy, considering the highway & train tracks. The bed was comfortable, & we were offered more blankets, etc. by the manager who was kind & efficient. In the morning we were astounded to find snow on the car, but also could see the picnic tables in a pretty little forest to the east of the motel- there seems to be a clean-up going on at the Gateway!
Old-fashioned accommodation at a good price.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaRoseWhitney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2008

My friend and I stayed here twice on our trip to Canada. We had intended to stay in Banff but were shocked by the accomm prices, so we drove 10 minutes down the road to Harvie Heights - on your left just before you get into Canmore - and found The Gateway Inn. At first glance it does not appear very inviting, but now with new management - a very friendly Irish lady called Dyane - we have no doubt things will rapidly change. The rooms are warm, very clean and comfortable but would benefit from a general updating. This motel is not like the glitzy places to be found nearby - it is a good, honest place to stay at an affordable rate and away from the 'tourist trap' of Banff. It is about 5 minutes from Canmore - a scenic location if ever there was one !!!!! All amenities are in Canmore, excellent hiking nearby. The highway and railway are quite close and a little noisy but more than made up for by the location. We can also recommend the 2 cabins also available. Secluded and comfortable. We would stay there again. Dyane will 'go the extra mile' to make you feel welcome, nothing too much trouble.

  • Liked — Warm, Clean and comfortable. Value for money
  • Disliked — Slight degree of traffic noise
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiddlesbroughVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2008

I have to admit. I was a little nervous about staying at the Gateway Inn because of all of the negative reviews, but it wasn't as bad as I was thinking it would be.

We stayed in the motel part (we didn't look inside the cabins) for one night on the way through to Vancouver and chose the Gateway Inn because of the location (right off the highway) and the price ($99 per night for one queen). This is by far the least expensive motel we could find in the area. The rooms are definitely dated. All of the furniture is circa 1970 and there is wood panelling on the wall, but the bed was comfortable and the room was exceptionally clean. All of the people were very friendly and we loved how much character the room had!

This definitely is not a luxurious motel, but worth every penny!

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank alida83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harvie Heights
2.1 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
7.8 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
1,080 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn of the Rockies
Inn of the Rockies
#17 of 28 in Canmore
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
2.7 mi away
Grande Rockies Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#13 of 28 in Canmore
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Inn

Property: Gateway Inn
Address: 800 Harvie Heights Rd, Harvie Heights, Banff National Park, Alberta T1W 2W2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Harvie Heights
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Harvie Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Gateway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gateway Inn is now under NEW Management as of April 1, 2017. The Gateway Inn is located in the spectacular beauty of the Canadian Rocky Mountains, less than 2 minutes from the east gate of Banff National Park and only 15 minutes east of the town of Banff. The Gateway Inn is conveniently located less than 5 minutes west of Canmore off the Trans Canada highway #1 at exit 83 for Harvey Heights. All rooms come with 32" flat screen TV with 30+ channels. Small fridge and microwave as well as coffee maker for coffee or tea. Our 7 acre property features incredible views down the Bow Valley, plenty of space to roam, a playground for small children and a fire pit for that true Canadian outdoor experience as well as picnic tables and benches for relaxing or reading. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Canmore
Gateway Inn Harvie Heights, Canada - Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing