We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ruined our Road Trip across Europe”

Danhostel CopenHagen Bellahoj
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Danhostel CopenHagen Bellahoj
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ruined our Road Trip across Europe”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Group of friends travelling Europe for a month. This was by far the worst hostel / hotel / accomodation experience we had the entire time. We stayed in 12 different accomodation with varying prices throughout the trip. This again was the most expensive due to all the additional cost that YOU must incur if you are not prepared.

* Bed linen
* Cutlery
* Hostel Cards
* Credit Card Charge
* Breakfast ( do not take )

This all totalled over £ 120 as well as the initial booking fee. Which is expensive because its Denmark and everything is expensive.

The rooms are clean, however it is up to you the occupant to tidy the room or incur another extra charge. Bed linen is a must as sleeping bags are not allowed. This also costs. There is also a ridiculous charge if you dont use the linen provided. The internet is only available in public areas NOT in rooms. Breakfast is not worth the cost. Better breakfast were provided at a less cost in our previous accomodation.
The bathrooms are also closed from 10am until 2pm making chilling at the Hostel difficult. It is out of walking range of any serious options for food establishments. We did find a great pizza place about 10 minutes walk ( its on just eat so look there).

This hostel experience was cold and uninspiring. We stayed in so many places with great staff which made a great experience. Will never stay here again.

Its a great choice if you wish to be ripped off at every moment of your stay.

Room Tip: "Avoid this hostel"
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TeamKatalyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    12
    17
    5
    11
See reviews for
14
6
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Unfortunately, the hostel does not provide hospitality. Its entire strategy is to rip of customers with in transparent practices. Additional fees are everywhere: i.e. guest card for non-memberships of Danhostel (DKK. 35.00 per person, per night), bed-linen (DKK. 50.00 per set) and credit card payment (3.75%). Even alcoholic drinks are not permitted if not bought at the hostel. In total, our stay was way to expensive compared to what you get offered: very basic room with shared bathroom facilities. The service is unfriendly and only interested in your money not in the quality of your stay. We will NEVER stay in this location again!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tseemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bronshoej hotels

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2010

Stayed here for the UN climate conference. would not return to this place myself, but may be adequate for people who just want a bed. i've stayed at much better hostels around the world. the breakfast served in the morning is great, but that is the only truly positive thing about this place. it is cheap and out-of-the-way, but if you're staying with a big group and are on a tight budget, at least you have a bed. this place is not for picky people though. reliable internet was not free (as we had predicted) and was quite expensive if you paid for it.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank earthseasky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2010

I came to Copenhagen for the United Nations COP15 talks on climate change. I was part of a youth/student delegation; we rented this hostel for our group and regretted it every step of the way.

Where do I begin? Bellahoej hostel is out in the middle of nowhere; it takes well over an hour to get there from the airport.

That’s not really their fault, but the matter of the internet is. I am under the impression that our head delegate was told the hostel had free wifi (delegations staying at other Dan Hostels reported that they DID in fact receive free wifi); we, on the other hand, did not. That’s not quite fair of me--we did receive wifi, sporadically. The signal was inclined not to let us on at certain times, and would randomly disappear and stay off for days on end (regrettably, the other option was to pay for it from the hostel itself). This might not be an issue to a lot of travelers, but we happen to all be online activists; our coordination with the UN was entirely online. The staff was well aware of our needs. Finding internet access was a daily headache; this was really infuriating.

Initially, we were denied breakfast, which is explicitly included in the price. We received breakfast in the end, but were never allowed to use the guest kitchen to cook. Given the price of food in Copenhagen, this was another serious blow to our survival.

The staff was habitually rude and often treated us like elementary school kids. I can understand the need for order, but some of the things they chided us for were way over the line (“You’re not allowed to leave the room with that slice of bread!”). Other times, the staff simply refused to work with us. For instance, I realized at the end of my time in Copenhagen that I needed to stay another day. Rather than simply let me pay and work it out with me personally, the staff insisted that I speak to my head of delegation--who had already left the city. When I explained that she was no longer present, they insisted again that I speak to her and would not hear another word.

Most egregiously of all, some of us were scheduled to leave Copenhagen as late as the 23rd of December--but they forced us all out on the morning of the 21st, with nowhere to go. Luckily, I was leaving that evening, so there was no issue; this doesn’t change the fact that a sizeable group of people were rendered homeless for two days.

This is bad business, and especially reprehensible in light of the work we do--we were essentially trying to save the world; we had worked long and hard hours over the last six months trying to procure the money to stay in their hostel (over $40 per night?! ridiculous). The least they could have done was act like their customers are worth their time. In light of these grievances, I cannot, in good conscience, recommend Bellahoej Hostel to another living soul.

Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
7 Thank holyrockthrower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2009

Good for youth and also for families!! Easy to get around with buses and metro, very confortable and functional. Prices are good, clean and friendly.

Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank EmiliaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2008

This hostel was one of the worst.. The only good thing was the bed but the showers and toilets looked worse than a concentration camp as you choked on the septic tank smell in the shower....The room hadn't been aired for decades and just smelt like off cigarette smoke the whole time even if you slept with the window wide open..Disgusting

  • Liked — There was a room free when I needed it
  • Disliked — Bathroom facilities were nauseating
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank michellecass1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bronshoej
Frederiksberg
Hotel CABINN Scandinavia
Hotel CABINN Scandinavia
#3 of 6 in Frederiksberg
622 reviews
Frederiksberg
Avenue Hotel Copenhagen
Avenue Hotel Copenhagen
#1 of 6 in Frederiksberg
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade
Indre By (Inner City)
Generator Hostel Copenhagen
Inner Vesterbro
Danhostel Copenhagen City
Danhostel Copenhagen City
#5 of 40 in Copenhagen
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danhostel CopenHagen Bellahoj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danhostel CopenHagen Bellahoj

Property: Danhostel CopenHagen Bellahoj
Address: Herbergvejen 8, Bronshoej 2700, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen Region > Bronshoej
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Bronshoej
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Danhostel CopenHagen Bellahoj 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Danhostel CopenHagen Bellahoj reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danhostel CopenHagen Bellahoj Denmark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing