We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice accomodation, terrible service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Center Parcs Le Lac d'Ailette
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kortrijk, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice accomodation, terrible service”
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We stayed at centerparc l'aillette for two nights with a couple of friends. The parc and the cottage were very nice and very quiet. There were some minor problems with the cottage but ok. The service in the dome and all over the parc was terrible. There was a clear lack of personnel. Outside bar closed, vending machines not working. Fresh backery understaffed, 2 girls behind the counter were more busy with their computers than taking orders which resulted in 30 minutes waiting time just to get some bread. In the pancake restaurant we were told after we complained for waiting 30 minutes just to get our table cleaned and the menu to take it up with the management...After which we left. In the kids play room all tables dirty, same in the bowling bar below. Self service was the best way to get a drink within 15 minutes.
In all nice cottage and surroundings, but unfriendly staff and understaffed parc.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akim001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,997 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    848
    2,525
    2,006
    1,135
    483
See reviews for
5,859
403
14
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

My wife and I along with our 2 young children stayed for a long weekend October 14 to 17. The parc itself seems nice, the Water Park is excellent with not long waits for the water slides and activities, the Indoor and outdoor kids playground is excellent and the Bowling was fun.

The cabin's are absolutley disgusting. Dirty floors, dirty kitchen, matresses in the bedroom stink, pillow look 10 years old, duvets look older, dishes in the cuboard dirty, utensils dirty, TV did not work, the furniture in the living room looked like it came from the 1970's and hadn't been cleaned in years. We were absolutley appauled at the site of this place.

We ended up only staying 2 nights of the three. Desperatley wanted to go home and clean our clothes and take a very long shower.

Room Tip: No tips here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank celticfcbhoy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chamouille hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Last minute decision to stay at Lac D'ailette Center parcs with family for 4 nights after a trip camping in Normandy. Consequently looking forward to a nice apartment ( was premium spec) and a hot shower. The setting looked great as we drove on in down the hill and after checking in to chalet no ** started to have a look around the apartment. Much to my surprise the chalet was very dirty and shabby. with no facilities like even a DVD player or working dishwasher. not really premium spec at all! there were black and white dog hairs all over the grimy carpets and tiny blood stains on one of the single beds in our neice & nephews room. Should have set the alarm bells ringing! A few drinks and tired kids off to bed and my sister in law goes in to check on her two kids as the room is up an adjacent stairwell to be greeted by them both covered in swarming bed bugs all over their faces and legs, feeding and biting! Both kids and adult traumatised beyond belief and immediately moved kids and all clothing out of the room. killed a few bugs which were full of blood and took photos and videos as they retreated into the wall panelling. A hideous experience... spent all night settling kids with the other kids in the other rooms, checking every single nook and cranny for more bugs and one adult slept on the sofa. Next day we complained very angrily to the reception manager who after a degree of exasperated nonchalance agreed to move us to another chalet. Took dead bugs in a glass to reception...No upgrade, No help with luggage, no free attractions for truamatised kids so wasted a sleepless night and a half day of a 4 day break moving chalets to a slightly less dirty ( mossies splattered on walls etc etc) chalet. we asked for an extra nights accomodation which eventually was agreed but decided not to stay and longer as we'd had enough. very very poor standards of hygiene, care and customer service... Beware! Pool and buffet great tho! Family of 4 adults and 4 kids... Notts/Lincs UK

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank mark h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We stayed in a 3 bed apartment on the lake front & close to the centre. This was a good choice as the parc is a bit hilly & some chalets a little remote. Food really good though a little expensive as in all cparcs. Pool complex for us with 3 under 6 was fantastic with the kids allowed on everything as long as they went with an adult. No namby pamby h&s watching your every move.
We also went to euro Disney from here. It was a bit of a trek but certainly doable.
Also like the fact the parc had a man made beach so kids can play on a beach & swim in lake if they wanted.
Good amenities & thing to do if you wanted. Good well maintained play parks & the loos next to the beach were the cleanest I've ever been in in such a location.
Down sides would be the cost of food - we went off park & within 10 miles found a supermarket.
All in all this was a great place & we'd certainly come back.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darlo_Spuggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We stayed here 2 years ago and some of the same attractions still broken, lake side lighting lying on their sides along the path, other exhibits non functional. Water quality in the pools was variable, lots of fluff and hair in the water and some of the lifeguards are distracted by mobile phones...Food quality seemed OK but lacking in quantity, premium prices paid due to the captive audience, self catering better option to save money but bring your own food! Enjoyable stay, would have been better had the matress been devoid of the large hole in the middle of it; capable of supporting a colony of Hobbits.... Saying that an enjoyable stay for the children and the layout relaxing. lots of local wildlife.

Room Tip: Choose you villa before you go
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lobster99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Stayed for a midweek. Review in 2 parts: the park, and the cottage.
Cottage nr 194, Comfort-class, 6 persons, stayed with 4 adults, 2 kids + 1 baby.
The park: no remarks. very nice environment, super swimming pool, nice outside of cottages, friendly and helpful staff, quite expensive prices in resto's and shop. Minigolf = 10 euro per adult... Roads in park can be very steep!!! Be trained if you want to go for bread in the morning, because the way back to cottage is a serious climb! Especially cottages in zone 0 and zone 1. Try to get lakeview. it's superb + no hills.
The cottage:
nice from the outside. very disappointing from the inside. Douche+toilet is clean, but floor, stairs, not. walls: full of stains and smears and prints (shoeprints against wall and ceiling!! mosquito-hunt?). Not enough sheets were there at arrival, beds were not made opposed to their explicit and personal promise. Dishwasher was broken (soap-box didnot open, so dishes not clean) shower-drain was clogged,... After a remark at the reception desk, it was always fixed, but you shouldnt run to them daily... Terrace chairs were not appealing to lay in, safety-fence for the kids on top of stairs was hanging out of the hinges, so it was not safe at all. No dish soap available to do the dishes.
Conlusion: cottage needs definitely renovation.....

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoffeeAndChocolate77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Having read a lot of the reviews we were also very worried. We need not have been so.

Cottage was clean enough- not spotless took some flash wipes for finishing touches. I turned on the Jacuzzi – only to have a poor smell and there is no way I would have used it or let the kids. The downstairs loo had a smell of stagnant water every day – I’m not sure if these are built in porter loos. We had a nice view and the above points didn’t spoil our initial opinion.

Location: We were in Zone 5 – for us this was the best area as it’s close to beach, Skate Park and football pitch. The best location if you want to let your kids run free and you can keep an eye on them. The villas from 537 - which is a 4 bed VIP but there are 6 8 and 4 bed premiers there also- have a view of the lake and the football pitch etc. For me there is not much difference between a Premier and VIP.

The whole place did not feel busy by any means. People kept themselves to themselves; there were some English there also.

Food: Now maybe we got a good a week, but we ate in the pancake restaurant every day after swimming and it was really good.

We had the raclette service – a bit of advice – we ordered for three adults and two children – there was too much food. I would order half of what you think. you need - two adults only would have been enough. We threw loads of ham etc away. Cost 59 euro

We ordered the take home chicken one day – enough for 5 and loads of roast potatoes- this was also good. Costs 14.90 euro.

We ate dinner in the Marche du Monde Buffet- I wish we had done this from the start – food was good – the kids can go off and play- cost per adult 19.10 – all you can eat and for an extra 4.10 euro p/p wine and beer and soft drinks inclusive all night!! Considering a beer is approx 4.00 a really good deal.

Pool- good quiet- not big queues when we were there. Enough slides.

Bikes – this was great- you just go and get one- no queues nothing like the English need for organisation- but it worked and I think less queues because of their relaxed system.

Supermarket – We didn’t have enough room in the car for more shopping, but if you can stop off at the super market outside the village I would if you intend to eat in. But it’s stocked enough for a basic meal. Nuggets etc – but we didn’t do this.

The bakery is good – we didn’t use the delivery service, as we liked the cycle in the morning.

The public toilets –men’s mainly- were dirty one day – someone had decided to let go all over the floor by all accounts! But this could happen anywhere. One day flooded so don’t use the loos inside the Aqua Mundo- but those in the changing room close by. Changing rooms tidy. To be fair any problems like the above were sorted out quickly.

Staff- some staff spoke better English than others- better than my French – one girl Stephanie was a bit annoying- my husband who is OK at French tried to order in French but she kept saying she didn’t understand. All the other staff were really polite and helpful. Didn’t feel the need to try to speak French but I like to practice once or twice a year and so we shared a few giggles with the staff.

I hope that this review is factual enough to dispel any fears – like those I had before we went. Despite some minor negatives- were going to stay on for two more days- but my teenager had had enough by this time.

This Center Parcs does not feel like a UK Center Parcs- so the kids felt they were getting a different holiday. Its not as commercial and more simplistic but well organised for activities, which you don’t have to book in advance of travel. We did book the family bowling and racket package in advance however but the time slots you book when there, we almost always got the times we wanted.

After spending the weekend in Euro Disney prior to this, a really relaxed break that we all enjoyed.

Room Tip: Pay to choose your villa - if with a family book Zone 5 - no family try Zone 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LondonHels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chamouille
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Golf de l’Ailette
6.2 mi away
Ibis Laon
Ibis Laon
#4 of 8 in Laon
392 reviews
6.9 mi away
Premiere Classe Laon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Campanile Laon
Campanile Laon
#8 of 8 in Laon
162 reviews
16.6 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Belle Vue
Hotel-Restaurant Belle Vue
#1 of 1 in Coucy-le-Chateau-Auffrique
116 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hostellerie St-Vincent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Center Parcs Le Lac d'Ailette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Center Parcs Le Lac d'Ailette

Property: Center Parcs Le Lac d'Ailette
Address: Parc Nautique de L'Ailette, 02860 Chamouille, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Aisne > Chamouille
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Chamouille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Center Parcs Le Lac d'Ailette 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Center Parcs Le Lac d'Ailette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Center Parcs Le Lac d`Ailette Hotel Chamouille
Center Parcs Le Lac D'Ailette France/Chamouille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing