We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time at Center Parcs and very impressed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Center Parcs Le Lac d'Ailette
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dundee
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“First time at Center Parcs and very impressed!”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Recent mid-week stay during the Easterbreak. Weather, accommodation and location was fantastic! We didn't have high expectations for the accommodation, but were very impressed with the facilities and the cleanliness. A very cosy, friendly and inviting atmosphere.Having never been to Center Parcs we didn't realise you can only have your car at the cottage to unload on arrival and pack on departure and that the rest of the time, your car is parked away in the parking area. At first we weren't keen on this. But the car free zone was actually a very positive thing and gave the area a real holiday feel. We thoroughly enjoyed the long walks and bike rides. All the activites and the fresh air were exhausting and we had many early nights. We would reccommend paying the €155 to hire a golf buggy for your stay, then you might have more energy to have a nice glass of wine in front of your open fire place at the end of the day. We went to Laon one morning to visit the Catherdral and have a look around the medievil town. It was ok, bit boring and choice of cafe/restaurants were limited. The only negatives at Center Parcs was the restaurants/cafe. Food was extremely expensive (3 Crepes and 3 Oranganinas= €38!!??) Maybe we are just greedy but whenever we went to the restaurants in the parc we left hungry. Supermarket/bakery was good about 1-2euros/per item more expensive than a usual shop.We enjoy a good coffee and would definately reccommend that you bring your own.... A Grande (large) Cafe Creme was the size of an espresso and not very nice and also expensive €3.80.

All in all we enjoyed the experience and would definately reccommend to our friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank XxMr_and_Mrs_Hxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    810
    2,434
    1,941
    1,110
    472
See reviews for
5,658
395
14
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury Kent United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Just returned from a`mid week break at Lac d'Ailette. Very enjoyable stay in comfort villa. Lovely setting on lakeside and great sunsets across the lake in the evening. Our children really enjoyed the swimming complex, one of the best that we have stayed in with Center Parcs.The villa was a little worn but perfectly functional for our stay and all areas we clean and well maintained. Overall a great destination for a short break, about a three hour drive from Calais. We definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PearceFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Firstly let me say that I would recommend this as a great "relaxed" activity break. The parc itself is set in beautiful surroundings, the lake albeit frozen in February looked spectacular with swans walking right across the middle.
The rental bikes are of good quality and if you want it a little easier upgrade to a velo electrique!!
We had a comfort cottage. Clean and most suitable. Accomodation is quite near the activity centres so walking isnt an issue either.
The Aqua mundo is at least as good as UK CP's if not better.
Travel time was around 2hr 30 mins from Calais.
Would I return........yes and I would bear in mind a few points. Take a laptop with wired connection for in the cottage because there is no wifi anywhere on site. (remember to turn off mobile roaming on the Phone). You can also use laptop for internet tv or movies (only cnn world in english on tv)
Only order the breakfast delivery for two of the four days (there's only so much baguette you can eat in one day!)
Check restaurant times...sometimes they close at lunchtime!! and unlike UK CP people dont eat in the swimming area.

Although it was half term in the UK it wasnt school holiday en france which probably counts for it being £300 cheaper!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank viv k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Have stayed here twice and booked again for this year. After staying at nearly all the UK ones in the past we find this Center Parcs far superior. We stayed in premium last time and a VIP before. Whilst I tend to agree the premiums do seem a little tired now, and in need of some deep cleaning and tlc, the VIP villa we stayed in was excellent. Staff are OK, typical French service I would say, activites are limited but it is only an hour from Disney Paris, Parc Asterix and is ideally located for visiting some of the other historical cities in the area. If you want an action packed week/weekend and intend to stay here all the time, then you may want to reconsider, but as a comfortable base with plenty of activities its ideal.

Room Tip: Go for a VIP if you can, and dont opt for a Lakeside. These are more popular, cost more and are gene...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Glenn_D123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

There is not really a whole lot to tell:

- Bungalows have nice views to the lake and a lot of space
- The scenery is beautiful

But, and there are a lot of "buts" they don't even clean the place during your stay, not even if you stay 1 week, you have to do your own bed when you arrive after a long drive and worst of all the service is very bad. After half an hour you get the feeling that no one cares at all for the place or for the guests, it is really too bad to be true. Fortunately we had an employee rate from a friend and we were there just to try it out. Do not go here if you want a minimum of attention from the staff and clean rooms.

Lastly, very beautiful scenery with the lake but if you plan on staying and eating be careful it has the worst food with the most outrageous prices I have ever eaten. Just rubbish.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margarida P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chamouille hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

We had a week holiday at the end of October. We all adored this place, had a cot, high chair, even the stairgard on the top. One regret was the cleanliness of our cottage. Surely they do the job hard, but not long enough to check the corner and behind the sofa! My boys love going under the sofa, beds, and inside the cupboard, doing hide and seek, and end up covered with dust and all sorts of things! Skirting board and banisters must have never paid attention, covered in visible dust. I can clean myself happily, but hoover was functioning badly, something was stuck inside tube and bag must have been so full. I wanted to talk to the main reception, but always a long wait whenever I passed by. Given up. Bought a tin, needed a tin opener, but didn't realise it was broken. There was a kettle, which was great, never had that in the other centre parc in France. So do check your store cabinet before you buy things! Shame there is no oven, but only a grill. Can't do a frozen pizza. TV had a very bad signal, which you can't help it, but most programmes, cut off so often, very disappointng. Apart from that, pool is excellent, change room very clean and efficient, park is absolutly lovely. Great play areas. Just wished for the on site laundrette, but we had to go to Laon, top of the old town. You can conbine the washing day with your sight seeing. But beawere the most shops are closed out of season. We didn't do any paying activities they offer, but was ok with pool, outdoor play areas, and indoor play area. Children's indoor play area is good, but make sure you have lot's of 1euro coins to entertain your kids. ride and play only goes for 1 mins!

Room Tip: The cottages near the car park can see through the lake through the woods, very close to the pool an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wisteriagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kortrijk, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We stayed at centerparc l'aillette for two nights with a couple of friends. The parc and the cottage were very nice and very quiet. There were some minor problems with the cottage but ok. The service in the dome and all over the parc was terrible. There was a clear lack of personnel. Outside bar closed, vending machines not working. Fresh backery understaffed, 2 girls behind the counter were more busy with their computers than taking orders which resulted in 30 minutes waiting time just to get some bread. In the pancake restaurant we were told after we complained for waiting 30 minutes just to get our table cleaned and the menu to take it up with the management...After which we left. In the kids play room all tables dirty, same in the bowling bar below. Self service was the best way to get a drink within 15 minutes.
In all nice cottage and surroundings, but unfriendly staff and understaffed parc.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akim001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chamouille
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Golf de l’Ailette
6.2 mi away
Ibis Laon
Ibis Laon
#4 of 8 in Laon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
13.6 mi away
Domaine de Barive
Domaine de Barive
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Preuve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Premiere Classe Laon
6.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Laon
Ibis Budget Laon
#6 of 8 in Laon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
6.9 mi away
Campanile Laon
Campanile Laon
#7 of 8 in Laon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Center Parcs Le Lac d'Ailette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Center Parcs Le Lac d'Ailette

Property: Center Parcs Le Lac d'Ailette
Address: Parc Nautique de L'Ailette, 02860 Chamouille, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Aisne > Chamouille
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Chamouille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Center Parcs Le Lac d'Ailette 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Center Parcs Le Lac d'Ailette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Center Parcs Le Lac d`Ailette Hotel Chamouille
Center Parcs Le Lac D'Ailette France/Chamouille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing