We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent one night stay”

The Butterleigh Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Butterleigh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Butterleigh Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Butterleigh B&B and Inns
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent one night stay”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I plus our dog had a one night stay here in April en route to Cornwall. We were all made to fell really welcome and at home. Room was spacious and quiet with everything you could possibly need. We also had an evening meal which was all homemade with first class ingredients and hearty portions. It's grat place to stay and they are very dog friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HJL2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    9
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
20
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, MA
Level Contributor
317 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

While I didn't stay in the pub hotel rooms on this trip, I did have dinner there one night. The food is still fantastic, well done and a nice selection of menu items, ranging from standard pub fare to lamb and steak. My husband and I love the atmosphere in the pub and made sure to go there on several occasions for a pint. Big difference I observed from our visit three years ago were the number of families coming to the pub. They obviously felt comfortable bringing along the children. Parents had drinks, and children set out the chess board on the table. Really a welcoming atmosphere for all.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 65Wagonaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We have been visiting the Butterleigh Inn regularly for 30 years ,when on family holidays at a local farm. We have also stayed here for B & B a few times. The Inn was always a lovely place to spend a happy evening and food has always been of a very good quality.
On our latest visit, after lapse of 5 years, we found the inn still had its country charm and friendly atmosphere and the hosts Matt & Jo had put their stamp on it. We had four beautifully cooked meals, eaten to a background noise of people laughing and enjoying an evening with friends and strangers. The Sunday carvery was of the highest quality, "The best we have ever eaten".
We will certainly come back again this coming spring and stay B&B at this first class village inn
Matt & Jo thanks for helping two oldies remember the good times we have spent in Buterleigh in the past,
Tina & Roger Steele

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank roger1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
531 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Booked here just for one night on our way to Devon. A great find , perfect , the room was not large but nicely decorated with plenty of storage space with plenty of nice touches, the shower room had adequate hot water and the bed was very comfortable, everything very clean The breakfast was sooo good could not fault it. Great Location very laid back, friendly hosts and at £55 per night B&B could not fault it. Drinks in the evening very reasonable. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosie194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Met up with friends for lunch today at the Butterleigh Inn. Glorious summer's day, so sat out in the garden. Service was friendly and attentive. My wine was excellent, and the boys had good ale. The lunch menu was good and extensive, and we all thoroughly enjoyed our meals. My jacket potato with prawns was excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susannah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Spent 2 nights at the Butterleigh Inn with my partner and 2 sons and what a delightful experience it was. Good food, excellent accommodation and, above all excellent local ales. The owners could not be more friendly or helpful even allowing us important internet access. I recommend this fantastic friendly pub especially if you want to relax, unwind and enjoy the the beers of Devon in a quiet and peaceful surroundings. Watch out though if you are on a diet as the breakfasts are hearty-lovely!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pipbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
277 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Last minute decision to celebrate a friend's birthday at The Butterleigh - and a good decision too. Friendly welcome and well looked after by all the staff. Extensive range of beers and wines and a relaxed atmosphere before we sat down to eat. We were told there was a large group already booked in but we were quickly served and had no complaints at all. A really superb country pub and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lord_Brett_Sinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Butterleigh
2.9 mi away
Padbrook Park Hotel
Padbrook Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Cullompton
202 reviews
2.9 mi away
White Hart
White Hart
#8 of 21 in Cullompton
33 reviews
4.6 mi away
Newcourt Barton
Newcourt Barton
#1 of 2 in Langford
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Fisherman's Cot
The Fisherman's Cot
#1 of 4 in Bickleigh
377 reviews
4.1 mi away
Muddifords Court Country House
5.1 mi away
The Globe Inn
The Globe Inn
#1 of 2 in Sampford Peverell
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Butterleigh Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Butterleigh Inn

Property: The Butterleigh Inn
Address: The Street, Butterleigh, Cullompton EX15 1PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Cullompton > Butterleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Butterleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Butterleigh is a true welcoming English country pub with bed and breakfast accomodation. Traditional pub food and fine well kept ales are available in the bar and dining room, together with a good range of enjoyable wines and malt whiskies. Overnight accomodation offers a comfortable night's rest at an affordable price,and proximity to the M5 motorway means Butterleigh is a convenient, peaceful stopover when travelling through South-West England. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Butterleigh Hotel Butterleigh
The Butterleigh Inn Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing