We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful family holiday despite the weather”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Knowle Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rattery
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Knowle Farm
Usk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful family holiday despite the weather”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We had a wonderful week in Foxglove at the height of the February storms and flooding. The cottage was warm and very comfortable. There is so much to do on the farm for toddlers we did not feel restricted by the weather at all. Our 2 year old loved the soft play area, ride on toys and excellent pool. Rattery is well positioned to access many of Devon's attractions- steam train and boat rides, Paignton zoo, Plymouth aquarium, house of marbles, etc all within 30 minutes and all great whatever the weather. I would definitely recommend it is an out-of-season break. The only down side to the accommodation was the "upside down" arrangement meant once anyone was upstairs it was quite noisy so not great for day-time naps. Friends were in adjoining "cow mumble" for the weekend and the sound proofing between them was excellent (thoroughly tested by 2 screaming babies) so I would have no hesitation about booking either of these if the other was already let. Cow mumble has nicer views if choosing between them. Contrary to a couple of the less positive reviews on here we found the intrusion booklet most informative and the owners helpful and unobtrusive. We look forward to going back.

Room Tip: Cow mumble has nicer views than foxglove but otherwise virtually identical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naomismile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    3
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We have just spent a long weekend at Knowle Farm (2 adults, 3 year old, 11 month old). We stayed in Moncks Green, an upside down cottage located right next to the outdoor play area, across from the indoor soft play area and around the corner from the indoor pool.

Despite the bad weather, there was lots to do. Our son loved walking around the farm looking at the animals, playing in the well equipped and clean soft play and also using the indoor pool.

I can't recommend this place enough for families. A 4 day/3 night stay felt like a weeks holiday and a break (which with 2 young children is saying something!)

The cottage was well equipped, clean and very homely.

Richard and Lynn were very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We just enjoyed 3 nights at Knowle Farm. Myself, my husband and 6 year old son stayed in Applecross, an upside down cottage with a beautiful view from the kitchen sink. The cottage was clean and had everything you needed and more. We would wait to hear the first quack and cockadoodledoo each morning (never before 9am so no early alarm call!). The pool, soft play and outside play areas were as described and equally clean and well equipped. They provided lots of useful info about pubs, attractions, area etc. They had a supply of organic ready meals in their freezer that we highly recommend. Friendly, helpful hosts that left us to our own devices. Log burning fire warmed us thoroughly. What a wonderful holiday. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

We have an 18 month old daughter and the entire set up was perfect! Plenty to do both on the farm and in the surrounding areas. I would highly recommend this, a fantastic experience! It is close enough to enjoy the venues of the English Rivera, Paignton Zoo, Woodlands, Threeandone, Living Coasts and Plymouth Marine. A perfect getaway if you have a little one!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Recently returned from a week booked in Applecross. We had a brilliant time. My two year old son taught himself to swim in the indoor pool the week we stayed and now loves swimming!
Owners are friendly and extremely helpful. The farm has a very relaxed feel and there is plenty to do with a toddler in tow anytime of the day.
Accommodation was light, spacious and clean. It was the little touches that prompted a top star rating. They supplied kitchen roll, washing up liquid, sponges etc. Also was a fresh pint of milk for that important first hot drink after the journey there. We were greeted with handshakes and smiles and nothing seemed too much bother at all.
My top tip is to take slippers with you as due to it being a working farm outdoor shoes cannot be worn inside due to the muck. They have wooden floors and tough coir carpets which for some feet can be uncomfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

The setup and provisions at Knowle Farm are ideal for any young family and we could not have been happier. Our 2 year old, found every day exciting from the moment he woke up to see the ducks, chickens, pigs, alpacas, chicks, rabbits and peacock being fed, to the evening walk around the farm saying goodnight to them. His confidence being around animals, petting and feeding them has improved loads and he loved being alongside them rather than looking through a fence. Very impressed with AppleCross cottage which gave us everything we needed to be comfortable with a toddler from the moment we arrived.
Guidance provided around how to feed and approach the animals gave us a safe way of introducing our son to the farm animals without him causing stress or chaos.
The indoor/outdoor space for play gave lots of options for our son and did not feel days were repetitive. Richard and Lynn have set the farm up to entertain younger children and adults without losing the sense of a real farm atmosphere. They are happy for you to explore all the farm following their guidance which opens up experiences for children that they would rarely have opportunities to have.
Information provided for local activities and excursions was excellent ranging from pubs, beaches and day trips (should you need it).
Definitely recommend this as a holiday without hesitation to anyone looking for a quiet, scenic location where you can switch off and not have to rely on day trips or otherwise to occupy the children. I cannot think of any criticism regarding what we paid for nor improvements to suggest.

Room Tip: Applecross Cottage is set in the main farm courtyard and opens onto where the peacock and ducks roam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

This was our 3rd time at Knowle farm, although this time we took other family members including our soon to be 2 year old nephew. We stayed in Woodbine again, which was more than adequate to accommodate all 8 of us (3 of them children). Our nephew not suprisingly loved it (especially the newly built tractor/ride on area) and we were able to apportion our time between the tennis courts, swimming pool, games room, feeding the animals and going for wellie walks in the grounds. There is so much to do on Knowle farm, it is easier and far more relaxing to stay there than to go out and about. Hopefully, we will return again, but our own children are slowly getting older... By the way, we recommend the Church House Inn in Rattery. They are SO child friendly and welcoming - it would be rude not to pop in! Oh and on our son's 8th birthday, we took our boys to Dynamic Adventures in Dartington - absolutely brilliant for older children. Adults also must try the zip wire!!! Remember to say you are staying at Knowle Farm and you get a discount. Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mumbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Knowle Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knowle Farm

Property: Knowle Farm
Address: Rattery TQ10 9JY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Rattery
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Rattery
Hotel Class:4 star — Knowle Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knowle Farm is idyllically set in 44 acres of beautiful Devon countryside with its very own woodland and riverside walks. Facilities include a heated indoor swimming pool, toddlers' softplay area, tennis court and myriad farm animals, ensuring that you and your children never get bored. Nestled on the doorstep of the majestic Dartmoor National Park and just 30 minutes from the most fantastic sandy beaches, Knowle Farm is perfectly situated to explore the whole of the South Hams and its many attractions. Knowle Farm is rated four star and received the VisitEngland Gold Award in 2010 for exceptional quality of accommodation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Knowle Farm Rattery, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing