We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An 800 year old warm blanket of a guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Zeal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

If you like cosy and old, this place is for you. I am not a fan of starchy hotels and this fits the bill perfectly. We stayed for three nights with 2 year old in tow and were very well looked after (all organic baby requirements were fulfilled without complaint). The building itself is unique and full of character and opens up onto a large garden at the back and fields with sheep and horses so is great for kids in general. Overall great friendly service, lovely atmosphere, great food.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexjdaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (431)
There are newer reviews for The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 431 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here in the Lustleigh room for 2 nights when in South Zeal for a birthday party.
Our room was excellent and certainly a vast improvement on when we stayed there several years ago - the bed was especially comfortable. Breakfast was very good as was the service throughout.
The only downside was my wife's meal on the Saturday evening - her skate wing was really not that good, although my steak & kidney pie was very good.
But my rating is for the hotel rather than restaurant, so it deserves 5 stars.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrumpsDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Good reviews prompted us to book this ancient hotel en route to Cornwall. Such a welcome from the lovely staff. Such excellent food which was reasonably priced and beautifully served in the unique restaurant (how often do you find a dining room complete with Standing Stone?). A comfortable bed and a beautiful garden all helped make our stay memorable. Just one warning though, uneven flagstones and no lift so not suitable for the very disabled.

Room Tip: Our room, Bovey, was large and comfortable. Noise from water system was a bit disconcerting at firs...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladywell29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Picked this charming hotel/pub/B&B simply because it was just off our route to Cornwall last weekend, and what a find. The beautiful ivy clad exterior is a welcoming invitation to enter and explore. Oak beams, and a roaring fire greet you in the bar where a good choice of local ales and excellent selection of single malt whiskies tempt you. We chose to stay in a twin bedded room which was charming and had a lovely view across the gardens and up on to the moors. Very comfortable beds with cosy duvets and a nice bathroom with bath and modern shower.
We chose to eat in the dining room rather than the bar and the atmosphere was cosy and relaxed. The food was excellent, my husband had the skate wing which was plump and delicious and I went for the falafel with haloumi cheese and chilli salsa which was really lovely and well presented. Breakfast was served in the same room, good selection and freshly cooked 'full English' to start off the day well.
Every member of staff we met were knowledgeable, friendly and made you feel very valued.
Being an animal lover, I especially liked the resident cats, one of which (Molly) popped in through my bathroom window in the morning for a quick chat and cuddle.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely return.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Suzimaloozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed one night during my husbands coast to coast bike ride....
Service was fabulous- food great and lovely breakfast too- the beds were so comfortable we slept like logs! We really enjoyed our stay in this beautiful old hotel....

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

My new wife and I stayed here for the first night of our honeymoon, and the best way to describe the experience is wow! From the outside the pub looks amazing, when we walked in the interior is decorated beautifully with many dining areas each designed to look different but in keeping with the age and character of the building. The landlady was very friendly and showed us to our room which was an absolute delight. We had a quick snooze on the very comfy four poster bed and then went to the bar for drinks and to order our evening meal. When the food arrived we were very impressed with the presentation and after we tucked in we were both blown away by the taste, it was lovely and a credit to the chef.

Overall we cannot fault the staff, the atmosphere, the food or the beautifully decorated pub. It was a perfect way to start our honeymoon and I would recommend this pub/hotel to anybody without reservation.

My good lady and myself are both publicans and like to think we know what makes a great pub. This is a place you must visit as it shows to everyone how welcoming and incredible a county pub can be.


Thank you all for making the start of our honeymoon so memorable.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Youmuppet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

A gorgeous historic family run pub with lovely high quality accomodation , a very good restaurant and very friendly staff set in a beautiful village.
Would highly recommend this if you are planning to stay in the Okehampton area or if not staying call for a drink and a meal.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Jacqui R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Zeal
3.8 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,109 reviews
4.6 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
514 reviews
7.5 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
261 reviews
12.8 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
397 reviews
18.1 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant

Address: South Zeal | Devon, South Zeal, Dartmoor National Park, Okehampton EX20 2JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Okehampton > South Zeal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Zeal
Price Range: £112 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oxenham Arms Hotel and Restaurant at South Zeal is the oldest heritage inn in Devon & Cornwall.Rated AA 4 Star Gold Award with 7 luxury hotel guest rooms. Just 5 minutes off the A30 to Cornwall, yet set in a beautiful medieval village of South Zeal in The Dartmoor National Park. A unique property, it was originally a 12th Century monastery built by Benedictine monks around a 5000 year old Neolithic Granite carved Standing Stone called the South Zeal Menhir which still exists in the building. The Oxenham Arms provides a wonderful 537 year old beamed bar with fabulous bar meals, The Monastery Restaurant fine dining la carte restaurant, ancient snug bar and a family group function room all set in 5 acres of lovely grounds and gardens. This wonderful Grade II* Listed building was once once occupied by the Earls of Oxenham. Charles Dickens wrote his Pickwick Papers as a guest here when the Oxenham Arms was a Coaching Inn on the original Exeter to Plymouth Road. A true "Freehouse" Grade Manor House Hotel, this lovely establishment with friendly staff and great food is the oldest CAMRA real ale Heritage Inn in Devon & Cornwall. Open 7 days a week for food and bars you will find a lovely atmosphere, friendly welcoming staff and being right on the edge of Dartmoor, you can walk from the garden following the Dartmoor Trail up to the beautiful Cosdon Beacon on Dartmoor. Close to the A30 Dual Carriageway and only 25 minutes from Exeter,20 mins from Chagford,35 mins from Tavistock,50 minutes from Padstow an hour and a half from Bristol, three and a half from London, just 10 minutes from Gidleigh, Castle Drogo or Fingle Bridge. For hotel guests,the Oxenham provides a series of 5 walking guides to take you on the most beautiful scenic walks or cycling routes onto Dartmoor from 1 to 6 hours depending on the route. Novice to experience horse riding on Dartmoor can be organised starting just 5 minutes from the hotel. For those on their way to or from Cornwall or visiting Dartmoor, The Oxenham Arms Hotel is the perfect luxury room stopover. Sleep in a room where Charles Dickens once stayed, or another where Captain John Oxenham 14th Century Pirate and 1st Navigator for The English Naval Fleet once lived, another where 12th Century Benedictine Monks had their quarters, another where a Neolithic Prehistoric Standing Stone is beneath your superking bed... The incredible Oxenham Arms Hotel at South Zeal, Dartmoor National Park, Devon EX20 2JT ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant South Zeal, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing