We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible experience!”

Quick Cat II - Hervey Bay Whale Watch
Ranked #8 of 17 things to do in Urangan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Hervey Bay Whale Watch operate 2 half day cruises daily during whale season (mid July - end Oct)on board Quick Cat II, the most awarded vessel in Queensland. Quick Cat II *morning cruise 7am-12.30pm includes light breakfast, home made morning tea. *During July only cruises depart 8am. Afternoon cruise 1pm-5pm includes home made afternoon tea. All cruises Guarantee whale sightings or free retun ticket issued. Wheelchair & pram access around the entire main deck. Now offering Swim with whales!(when conditions permit. This is your opportunity to experience Humpback Whales up close and personal in their natural environment.
Reviewed 11 September 2013

You always start this type of watching cruises with a bit of scepticism as one knows how difficult it is to get these big animals close...
Well, not only we saw a dozen of them (some in couples, some in trios and in one case 3 adults and 1 youngster together) but we could view as close as 10 metres the mate selection of 1 female and 2 males. INCREDIBLE! And to round it up, we had a beautiful sunset.
I strongly recommend everybody that wants to watch whales closely, to choose Hervey Bay and, more specifically, Tasman Adventures. Great team, good sense of humour and very helpful. Big thanks to them! Pedro Herranz and family

Thank paherranz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 159 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

Was outstanding saw Whales up close and was able to take photo's with out any trouble and we were given the chance to purchase a video of our experience

Thank Marlene O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuickCatII, Owner at Quick Cat II - Hervey Bay Whale Watch, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Marlene, I'm so happy you enjoyed your cruise on Quick Cat II. The whales have been putting on a great show every day lately. The DVD of each cruise has been a great success with lots of passengers taking home their experience in Hervey Bay to show their family & friends why Hervey Bay is the Whale Watch Capital. Hope to see you again soon. Jill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Hervey Bay Queensland is the best place to go whale watching as it is the only place where the whalers stay and play with their young before making the long journey home from July to October every year they provide a delight of entertainment and enjoy interacting with the crowds on the whale watch boats

1  Thank mirellaqueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuickCatII, Owner at Quick Cat II - Hervey Bay Whale Watch, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Yes Hervey Bay IS the BEST place in the world to see humpback whales at play, they seem to be doing more people watching every year. Hope you become a "repeat offender" on Quick Cat II for another great whale encounter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We took our 3 young children out on the afternoon cruise last week & had the most wonderful time. Our eldest (8) is obsessed with whales and so we decided to take on the long drive from Noosa to Hervey Bay. Due to roadworks it was a 3 hour drive there but quicker heading home. But despite the long day it was well worth it. Boat was a good size with plenty of viewing areas. Not too many people on board either which was great. Weather was perfect. Within 10 minutes the kids are seeing dolphins and within 20 minutes we spy our first whales! And it didn't stop for the next 3 hours! We saw so many whales, many groups hanging around the boat playing for ages. The afternoon tea of fresh fruit & muffins was lovely. All staff were friendly, knowledgable & obviously love their job! Will definitely return. Thank you!!

Thank 1plus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuickCatII, Owner at Quick Cat II - Hervey Bay Whale Watch, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

I'm so happy your & your family enjoyed your cruise on Quick Cat II. Our daughter grew up whale watching & is now a skipper, maybe your boys could consider this a career too. Hope to see you back here with our whales very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Went out with the crew of Freedom 111 Whale watching on Thursday 29th August and had the best day possible.
Plenty of pods of whales, lots of mothers and calves, and some obviously quite young. One pod circled our boat really close diving under the boat and coming up on the other side, rolling over and lots of great photo opportunities. It seemed as though the whales were as interested in us as we were in them as they were looking right at us and only a matter of a meter off the boat.
The crew were excellent and provided great food for morning tea, lunch and afternoon tea and made sure we were all well equipped with water and sun screen. Excellent commentary by the skipper, who had a great knowledge of the area. Very comfortable boat with not too many people on board, which made it very easy to get a great view of the whales no matter where they were
All in all a fantastic day that we could highly recommend to anyone wishing to spend three quarters of a day of sheer thrills.

1  Thank Frances B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Quick Cat II - Hervey Bay Whale Watch also viewed

 

Been to Quick Cat II - Hervey Bay Whale Watch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing