We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overbooked”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kondari Resort Hervey Bay
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Urangan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We had a confirmed reservation via agoda and when we arrived at the Kondari Resort they told us, to go to their other office. It turned out that it wasn't their office but a different resort. Unfortunately the other resort didn't have WIFI. Our complaint at the Kondari Resort was just commented with "Sorry, we're fully booked". They suggested, that we can us the WIFI in their "bistro" which closed at 8:30 pm.

By the way the reception closed at 4pm.

Overall the receptionist was little helpful and we wouldn't had WIFI if we didn't park our car in front of their reception and logged in from our car.

Fortunately the Sanctuary Lakes Beach Resort just behind the Kondari Resort gave us a warm welcome and a place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
4  Thank Steve_102030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kondari-Hotel2011, Front Office Manager at Kondari Resort Hervey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2011

Hi Steve,

I am aware that you were unhappy with your stay and I do apologize that you were moved to the Lakeside Villas.

With regards to the room & WIFI problems
I believe you booked a budget hotel room/standard room; unfortunately this room type doesn't receive the free WIFI access. For these rooms the WIFI is only available in the Hotel Area (i.e. bistro, reception etc) The Hotel is open until mid night most days, the bistro closes at 8.30pm for food only-guests are still welcome to use this area until the hotel closes.

I am sorry that I didn't contact you regarding the room change, as the room you received was an upgrade to the one you booked I didn't think it was going to be an issue.

If you would like to return to Kondari in the future, we are happy to give you a complimentary stay. We can guarantee that your next stay will be much better.
If you would like to take this complimentary stay, please forward me your postal address and I can send out a voucher to you.

Thank you,

Ayla Cables
Front Office Manager
Kondari Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
There are newer reviews for Kondari Resort Hervey Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed at the Kondari for 2 nights as part of a trip to Frazer island with Intrepid travel and were really disappointed by the bad quality of the food !!!

Room Tip: all the rooms were alike and very comfortable
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fabienne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Stayed for 2 nights - one before and after a fraser island trip. Was able to leave my car at the hotel whilst on the fraser tour which was handy. The hotel is great for this sort of stay over. Hervey bay is a streched out town and the hotel is a good walk away from the main area of shops, restuarants and bars located half way down the esplanade. The room was abit dated and the bathroom needed a really good clean in places. There was a small buffet breakfast but not a lot of choice. There is good high speed internet stations at the reception area. Considering i only stayed here to do the fraser island tour i dont have any major complaints but probabaly wouldnt want to stay here longer than neccessary.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pen10poppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

We drove in on our way to Fraser island. Fresh clean room, very friendly and attentive staff. Meal was great value and fresh produce. Highly recommended, will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteGEmeraldQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kondari-Hotel2011, Front Office Manager at Kondari Resort Hervey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2011

Hi,
Thank you for your fantastic review, such a pleasure to read!

We do hope to see you again in the near future

Kind Regards,

Ayla Cables
Front Office Manager

** Follow us on facebook for current specials**

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2010

Back to its former glory. Ambient surrounds well mintained, the room well appointed and clean. The restaurant meals for dinner and breakfast were very well priced and most enjoyable. It`s very obvious the new owners are willing to go the extra mile to to re estabilish the reputation as an enjoyable location for both the business traveller and holiday maker. Great value.

Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
Thank 255068Tina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2010

We stayed two nights at the Kondari resort (one before heading to Fraser Island and one after coming back). Rating the hotel is pretty difficult since we did have very low expectations (considering the price and that we read the reviews before booking) but we also had many problems while at the hotel but most of these were solved (some better than others).

Starting with the easy part - location. The hotel is located close to the Urangan marina which is convenient if you are heading over to Fraser but is far from where most restaurants are (sure there are a few in the marina but most are at the other end of the esplanade). The proximity to the marina is not really that important since all tour companies have pick-up from the hotel.

The hotel runs a free shuttle service to/from the airport and buss terminal (book in advance) but it only runs from morning to 3pm on weekdays so it is not that useful.

The first room we were given when we checked in for the first night was already occupied. Small mistake which can easily be forgiven. The next room seemed ok, a bit run-down but still surprisingly roomy. It was a corner room which we first thought was good (less noise) but which later would mean some problems. The room had a queen size bed, one single bed and a bunk bed so it would have been possible to stay five people in the room. There was also a very old TV (poor reception), fridge, hair dryer, iron and kettle so most things were there. The bathroom seemed ok as well with a shower (no tub). Upon returning to the room after grabbing a bite to eat we noticed hundreds of ants on one of the walls. Called reception that simply explained it was nothing to worry about since it always happens when it rains. They asked us to leave the room for a few minutes while they took care of the problem (which meant spraying the ants). Not really an ideal solution but still worked. Checked out the morning after to head to Fraser Island.

Returning from Fraser we were first given a room that had not been cleaned. After a few apologizes we got a new room (same type as first one) and settled in there. At this time it just started pouring down outside. We felt a bit worried that we may get ants (but it is apparently mainly a problem for the corner rooms) but this time we had another problem. When opening the door to the bathroom we realized that there was water on the floor coming from the toilet. Quick walk up to the front desk and the response was that this often happens when it rains a lot. They did however relocate us to a newer fresher room (that did not at all feel as run-down). We were a bit lucky since the problem with the toilets affected all lakeside rooms so we heard other people complaining after us and they were told to wait for the plumber to get there.

The hotel also had a restaurant serving cheap pub grub (nothing fancy but rather filling) and they have a bottle shop.

To summarize the hotel is pretty run-down so do not expect anything new and fancy. The staff is helpful and friendly. Location is not very good so there must be better options.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thesaint01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Kondari Resort Hervey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2010

Dear thesaint01,
Thank you for your review. The Kondari Hotel has recently renovated its Garden rooms, Lakeside studio rooms and the main complex. Our standard and backpackers accommodation will be renovated in the near future. It would appear from the photographs that you stayed in our backpackers accommodation which are is our cheapest accommodation.
The Kondari Hotel although close to the marina does have transport options available to see the rest of Hervey Bay and with our inhouse booking and information service, we are able to sort and source just about everything you need.
At the Kondari Hotel we welcome all comments from our guests as it gives us the opportunity to improve and grow and we thank you for your review. Happy travelling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 24 February 2009

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urangan
0.9 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#9 of 23 in Hervey Bay
1,962 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
0.2 mi away
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
#11 of 23 in Hervey Bay
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hervey Bay Hotel & Resort
Hervey Bay Hotel & Resort
#21 of 23 in Hervey Bay
52 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hervey Bay Motel
Hervey Bay Motel
#14 of 23 in Hervey Bay
82 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada Hervey Bay
Ramada Hervey Bay
#7 of 23 in Hervey Bay
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kondari Resort Hervey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kondari Resort Hervey Bay

Address: Kondari Resort 49-63 Elizabeth St, Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay > Urangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Urangan
Price Range: £46 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kondari Resort Hervey Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst 20 acres of lush tropical gardens, featuring a natural lagoon with abundant wildlife, the Kondari Resort Hotel makes for a unique holiday experience and offers the perfect environment in which to relax and unwind, whether you are enjoying a romantic escape, a break with your family or travelling on business. Our well-appointed guest rooms are newly renovated, fitted out with all the mod-cons. Relax and cool off from the heat of the day in our luxurious in-ground outdoor swimming pool, enjoy a delicious meal and a choice of indoor or outdoor dining at the Bistro, catch up on the latest live sports at the Sport Bar, or enjoy a drink with friends in the Gaming Bar. There's always a fun promotion available, so be sure to chat with our friendly staff for the best deals. At the Kondari Resort Hotel, we are committed to ensuring your stay is and enjoyable one. We look forward to welcoming you here soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kondari Resort Hervey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kondari Resort Hervey Bay Urangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing