We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kondari Resort Hervey Bay
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Urangan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2009

We were booked to stay in this reosrt in the middle of Jan 07 before moving onto Fraser Island. When we arrived we spent an hour trying to find staff as the reception areas were not maned and were locked.

First impression of our 'cabin' were not good. The room smelled badly of damp, the carpets were dirty, the bed was dirty. We didn't even want to put our bags down on the floor.

We managed to get a room in the near-by Mantra Bay resort and when we explained that we did not wish to stay we were met by very rude and disgruntled staff!

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tracymcgreevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2008

We stayed for one night before we caught our flight to Lady Elliott Island.

The room was an average size witha double and single bed, desk, TV, wardrobe and larger than average bathroom. It was clean and tidy. There is a reasonable size pool with a kids section at one end. There was a pool bar/cafe but this was not open when we stayed. Our room was near reception but they do have rooms round a lake, if you are staying for more then one night I guess this is what you'd want.

The hotel is about a 5 min easy stroll to the sea front where there are restaurants and take aways.

Right next to the hotel is a bottle shop and bar that joins the hotel bar and restaurant. We ate in the restaurant nothing special but edible, no complaints and resasonably priced. We had cold breakfast though you can have hot again it was breakfast.

Reception staff were friendly and helpful.

We were flying out from Hervey bay airport, the hotel run a free shuttle bus which means you can leave your car for free in the hotel.

This hotel is not plush but it did it's job as a stop over.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delacourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2007

Stayed 2 nights, one before 2 day fraser island tour and one after.

Ok hotel but nothing to rave about, fair price.
Clean room but a little worn.
Restaurant in casino so the ambience-decor is so so but the food was very very good for dinner the 2 times! Was the best part of this hotel!

Ok for a short saty but would not linger.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GaudiLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2007

We stayed here as a base to Fraser Island the room was so basic we felt like it was a prison cell. There were two double beds and a single bed cramped into the room. We felt like this was a complete waste as there was only two of use.

The walls were breeze block and if you book this hotel insist that you get a room in the section that has two floors as these are the ones that are pictured. The room was cold and the air conditioning very questionable. There were three police warnings about possessions being under threat in the booklet in the room. When we looked at the front door I could understand why. There were also other terrible stories by people who were on our tour. One couple had to share a toilet with another couple as their one was broken and there was no maintenance available. Another couple had a stranger walk into their room and demand to know where his clothes had gone out of the wardrobe. All of which added to the unease amongst people.

The restaurant was like one large bingo hall which was very noisy and the slot machines were right next to it. Then there was the bar, the bookmakers, another bar and the bottle shop. The local bar was really smelly and intimidating so we avoided that.

The bottle shop was very reasonable in price, as was the food. This does deserve a special mention. The food was excellent the size of the portions were humongous, some would say too big. The quality of the food was also very good. The breakfast was also very good with a good selection of cereals, breads, cooked breakfast et al.

Overall if you stay in the main section you will enjoy your stay, don’t forget your mosquito repellent. If you stay in the single story buildings then take a hot water bottle. Finally the films on the television were free and bang up to date. This was a nice gesture as most hotels can’t wait to rip you off for a film.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fluminese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank brunoccruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kondari-Hotel2011, Accommodation Reception at Kondari Resort Hervey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kondari-Hotel2011, Accommodation Reception at Kondari Resort Hervey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kondari-Hotel2011, Accommodation Reception at Kondari Resort Hervey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urangan
0.9 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#10 of 23 in Hervey Bay
2,117 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
3.8 mi away
Hervey Bay Hotel & Resort
Hervey Bay Hotel & Resort
#21 of 23 in Hervey Bay
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hervey Bay Motel
Hervey Bay Motel
#14 of 23 in Hervey Bay
85 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
0.8 mi away
Ramada Hervey Bay
Ramada Hervey Bay
#6 of 23 in Hervey Bay
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kondari Resort Hervey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kondari Resort Hervey Bay

Address: Kondari Resort 49-63 Elizabeth St, Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay > Urangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Urangan
Price Range: £45 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kondari Resort Hervey Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst 20 acres of lush tropical gardens, featuring a natural lagoon with abundant wildlife, the Kondari Resort Hotel makes for a unique holiday experience and offers the perfect environment in which to relax and unwind, whether you are enjoying a romantic escape, a break with your family or travelling on business. Our well-appointed guest rooms are newly renovated, fitted out with all the mod-cons. Relax and cool off from the heat of the day in our luxurious in-ground outdoor swimming pool, enjoy a delicious meal and a choice of indoor or outdoor dining at the Bistro, catch up on the latest live sports at the Sport Bar, or enjoy a drink with friends in the Gaming Bar. There's always a fun promotion available, so be sure to chat with our friendly staff for the best deals. At the Kondari Resort Hotel, we are committed to ensuring your stay is and enjoyable one. We look forward to welcoming you here soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kondari Resort Hervey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kondari Resort Hervey Bay Urangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing