We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BreakFree Great Sandy Straits
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Excellent value though a little tired but okay for a couple of nights. Also its right on the beach with 2 lovely swimming pools and very easy to walk to the boat club. restaurants and shops. nice views from the apartments

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loreley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibrahim S, Manager at BreakFree Great Sandy Straits, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Loreley D
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and share your experience at BreakFree Great Sandy Straits
We look forward to your next visit

Kind Regards
Ibrahim Saad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    238
    133
    39
    29
See reviews for
273
246
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bellbowrie
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We took a one-bedroom unit on the first floor near the northern end of the resort. Great view of the beach and ocean, and all the comforts needed for a self-catering apartment. The marina is 100 metres away, with cafes, shops and restaurants, and the starting-place for whale-watching trips. A most comfortable stay.

Room Tip: They all face the sea, but those at the northern end are closest to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank pressdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibrahim S, Manager at BreakFree Great Sandy Straits, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Pressdee
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and provide us with your feedback
We are delighted that you found BreakFree Great Sandy Straits offering you great value for money in a superb location, comfortable and clean accommodation and fantastic view
We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Ibrahim Saad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryborough, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We don't live far away and thought it would be nice to go over to Hervey Bay for a weekend at the beach. As we had visited friends from Melbourne who stayed here once before and saw how nice their room was, we thought this might be a nice place to stay and we could go there for future breaks away. However, we walked into our room (paid in advance for 2 nights) which was dark and unclean. We asked mgmt. for a nicer room and we were given a balcony room however, the price for one night was $240 and we were charged extra. (It's a bit hard to leave when you have already paid and you have a family). As we like to get away regularly we felt the price was not consistent with the room we were given and we would have just left but we had already paid to stay there. To top it off we had a terrible night's sleep with pillows like rocks and they must have been old and the room had a terrible smell. I notice in a previous post mgmt. state they have replaced the pillows. It is a great location but we walked away very disappointed and feel it was way overpriced. We wish we had read trip advisor first and won't be staying here again unfortunately. I don't mind paying decent money to stay somewhere nice but value for money and if paying top dollar (which this is for sure) you expect something nice in return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caty203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibrahim S, Manager at BreakFree Great Sandy Straits, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Caty203

Thank you for your feedback

Unfortunately our attempt to meet your expectations by offering alternative unit have failed to satisfy your expectation.

We sincerely apologise for any inconvenience

Kind Regards


Ibrahim Saad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I left valuables that were there to collect next visit, and although a really good deal in one bedroom apartment, it did need refurbishment. Position was magnificent with beach and lovely pool 'just outside the door'. Also club/restaurants/bus stop nearby and esplanade path for walking as far as you wish to go. The gardens are well tended with lovely paths to rooms.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibrahim S, Manager at BreakFree Great Sandy Straits, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hello Aussiesc0ts

Thank you for your feedback, we look forward to your return trip
Kind Regards

Ibrahim Saad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

I am from the Sunshine Coast & my partner & I just wanted to get away for the wkd to somewhere quiet. We were in a studio room on the bottom floor. We had a spa in the room which worked so we took advantage of that. I loved how the room was set out. We had a beautiful view of the beach and the lap pool was only meters from our back door. Our air con worked fine & it kept us cool since it was so hot. I was happy with the room for the price we paid. I thought the pricing was great as we got a good deal. The room did need a fresh coat of paint cause their were a few scuff marks on the wall but that didnt effect our stay. The only issue I had was that we were supposed to have a king bed but instead two king singles were pushed together so my partner & I couldn't even snuggle in the middle as it kept sliding apart so we might as well of slept on separate beds which wasn't nice.
We enjoyed the facilities we played tennis 2 days & went for a dip in the pool! The location was beautiful it was peaceful & quiet it wasn't noisy in the complex at all! It's right near the marina where there are plenty of cafes to eat & the boat club is close by too which has a great atmosphere & meal. Overall I would definately go back again as long as my bed was in one peace :)

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank teaganleah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibrahim S, Manager at BreakFree Great Sandy Straits, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear teaganleah

Thank you for taking the time to provide your objective feedback, we look forward to your next visit
Kind Regards

Ibrahim Saad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2014

my partner & i just got back from our little romantic getaway at the resort. we stayed in a studio room on the 2nd floor. we always stay with break free when we travel so this was our go-to choice whilst in hervey bay. we booked our stay via phone.

after reading reviews on here, we were a bit wary but the moment we saw the room, we were impressed. the location is beautiful & quiet. i agree that there is a fair bit of noise with people trying to open or shut security doors on the way to their rooms.

The floor was tiled (love it, better than carpet) & the room smelled like bleach (glad it's clean, not overpowering smell), air-con was lovely & cold & fairly new. no air-con odour.

the spa was amazing & Working! many places i've been to & requested a spa room, are out of order or some jets don't work. the only thing is that i moved the spa curtain & there was a little mould on the tile grouting & a few other little spots like in corners & jets.

the glass sliding doors have sea spray on them but i have lived at the beach & stayed in a $400 p/n penthouse on the beach & it's the same. i didn't mind because it's only the slightest cloudiness & i have read here that reception will get it cleaned again for you.

curtains were clean & no grubby handmarks

the bedding was pretty nice feeling. standard sheets but without the typical scratchyness or stiffness. yes the pillows are flat but there was four on the bed. no 'body dents' on the bed but the lining was ripped. the bed feet were clean & shining.

ceiling fan & lights all clean. all inside glass & mirrors spotless

the balcony furniture needs replacing as its a cheap mismatched set that is weathered. neighbours have nicer sets. balcony tiles were clean.

pool looked nice & clean from the balcony

lawns neat

foxtel would have been nice but you have a view to watch instead.

fridge very cold

there was an adjoining unit & laundry

kitchenette in the unit with microwave & glad to have a really decent sink in it so you can fill up your kettle without having to use the tiny bathroom sink, like so many other places.

complex is gated & big on security & u will have an intercom

sauna & games room

tennis court & pretty decent kids playground & complex has 2 pools. we were overlooking one & the bay.

did notice people have a private garage but everyone you could see into, had leaves blown into them & needed clr.

i really enjoyed staying here & will be back again next time we visit

Room Tip: we had the studio room with a spa. great for couples! on 2nd floor & the palm trees take a lot o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jack507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibrahim S, Manager at BreakFree Great Sandy Straits, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear jack507

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your detailed and objective feedback
We have attended to areas for improvements so we can ensure that your next visit and experience is enhanced
We look forward to your next visit

with Kind Regards & Best Wishes

Ibrahim Saad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed for 2 nights 1st Feb - 2nd Feb in unit 20. I'm not surprised that they ask for payment in full 2 weeks before you even arrive as you wouldn't stay otherwise. We got to the garage first and the lock fell apart as soon as I put the key in. The intercom to the room was completely gone, so we went to the room to call reception to let them know and the phone wasn't working. The rooms were dirty, and we had to put towels on the lounge before sitting on it because it was so dirty. This place needs some serious renovations. I wish I had of looked at Tripadvisor before booking this place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibrahim S, Manager at BreakFree Great Sandy Straits, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Julie L

Thank you for your feedback.

I would like to take this opportunity to sincerely apologise for any inconvenience that you have experienced.

We have reviewed your comments regarding cleaning with our housekeeping service providers as well as we have been able to obtain the unit owner commitments to upgrade furniture’s
Sincerely yours

Ibrahim Saad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urangan
0.1 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#9 of 23 in Hervey Bay
1,720 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
#1 of 23 in Hervey Bay
267 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
#10 of 23 in Hervey Bay
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
0.3 mi away
Ramada Hervey Bay
Ramada Hervey Bay
#7 of 23 in Hervey Bay
579 reviews
6.9 mi away
Kingfisher Bay Resort
Kingfisher Bay Resort
#1 of 3 in Fraser Island
4,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Great Sandy Straits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Great Sandy Straits

Property: BreakFree Great Sandy Straits
Address: Great Sandy Straits Marina 17 Buccaneer Dr, Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay > Urangan
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Urangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree Great Sandy Straits 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BreakFree Great Sandy Straits is located in Australia's whale watching capital, Hervey Bay. With a great location you can easily take a stroll to the main shopping, restaurant and cafe areas or just kick back, relax and enjoy the wide range of onsite leisure facilities ideal for families. Boasting safe beaches, pristine waterways, great fishing and boating, along with some of the world's most unique natural attractions, the Fraser Coast is a rare destination. Between July and November, Hervey Bay becomes an aquatic playground with the annual migration of more than 3,000 Humpback whales between Antarctica and the Great Barrier Reef. The sleepy seaside town is also the primary gateway to the world's largest sand island and World Heritage-listed area, Fraser Island. The resort offers one, two and three bedroom apartments with all room types offering air conditioning, kitchenette or full kitchen facilities, balcony or patio with views, TV and laundry facilities (studios have shared laundry facilities). There is also a three bedroom penthouse with all the same facilities mentioned as well as a spa bath. The one bedroom apartment also has a spa bath. The resort has a range of onsite facilities sure to keep the whole family entertained. There are two pools, a sauna, tennis courts, BBQ area and for the kids a children's play area and a games room. BreakFree Great Sandy Straits offers the ideal location for a family holiday or weekend getaway to Hervey Bay on Queensland's Fraser Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your BreakFree Great Sandy Straits reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Great Sandy Straits Hotel Urangan
BreakFree Great Sandy Straits Hervey Bay/Urangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing