We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boat Harbour Resort
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Urangan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This was our second stay at Boat Harbour Resort, having previously stayed in 2011 - we liked both the resort and Hervey Bay so much that this was the first place we booked for our 2013 trip to Australia. The manager Robin is very friendly and helpful (including finding my daughter's lost cellphone after we had left and getting it back to us), and the units, while not looking very fancy from the outside, are very clean, comfortable and very well equipped. Ours had a dishwasher, washing machine and dryer, good cooker, microwave, toaster, etc - all the things that you really need for self-catering holidays, especially when touring around - and a garage. The resort is in a quiet spot, away from the main beaches (about a 5-minute drive to Urangan Pier, maybe 10 minutes to Torquay beaches and 15 minutes to Scarness). There's a small but nice beach just across the road, and it's a short walk to the harbour where you can go on the whale-watching tours for which Hervey Bay is famous. The nearest shopping centre is about a 5-minute drive away as well. There is a small pool, but with lots of lovely calm sea nearby we didn't use it much.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

Our room was clean and spacious with kitchen, TV and bathroom, next to the room there was a swimming pool though the season didn´t invite to have a bath. Very kind owner. We chose it because its proximity to Fraser Magic 4WD where we hired a 4WD to visit Fraser Island and have no complains about them.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiegoRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auzkiwi, General Manager at Boat Harbour Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Thank you for thegreat review. We hope you enjoyed your visit to Australia and had great experiences where ever you stayed. Robin & Rosalind

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We found Boat Harbour Resort when stranded in Hervey Bay during the floods (Jan 2013) the Managers were extremely helpful & caring, they couldn't do enough for you. The pool was clean & very inviting once the rain cleared. Rooms are a little dated but good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kryott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auzkiwi, Owner at Boat Harbour Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

We were more than happy to look after these guests along with others who were also trapped in Hervey Bay because of the weather conditions. We are here to please and want guests to go away having had a good experience and maybe want to return to our place whenever in the Fraser Coast region in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We stayed at the boat harbour resort room 10 on monday 28 and Tuesday 29/01/2013 as we were caught out in the floods which stopped my family getting back to Brisbane.
I must say that we were made very welcome by the managment team who were very sympathetic with our situation. We were given a reduced rate and was kept informed about the present situation and the outlook on roads that were going to reopen.
I cannot thank them enough, and would highly recommend this resort to anyone who loves a very clean and modern room in a great location.
I will be back soon for a holiday.
Thank you so much for everything you did for myself and family.
Gary and Rachel Ditchfield

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank garyd23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auzkiwi, General Manager at Boat Harbour Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

All we can say is thank you for the great review and we were pleased that everyone was safe & dry and we also enjoyed your company & having you all stay with us even though it was not planned. We look foward to you staying with us again soon.
Robin & Rosalind

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

My wife and I took a leisurely trip north from Sydney stopping at spots both mainstream and a little different. We'd had enough of the smart high rise self contained apartments and decided on Boat Harbour Resort. How wonderfully refreshing. We booked a two bedroom bungalow and were very impressed by the quality of the appointments particularly at the price we were paying. The bathroom/ensuite did not have the appointments (marble, granite etc) of top end accommodation but the garden setting, tropical deck to sit and have breakfast, walk across to the beach for a swim (at hight tide) and friendly/helpful owners put it at the top of our return destinations - well Heron Island was good but more to do at Hervey Bay. We will go back again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Stayed at Boat Harbour Resort in August. Owners were very welcoming and helpful. Rooms are small but tidy and all we needed for a two night stay.

Only complaint is that we could hear every noise made by the people above us - so I would recommend an upstairs room.

Great value for money and would stay again in future.

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianeAdelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

My partner, 2 kids (3 and 4 yrs) stayed in a groundfloor studio apartment this long weekend.

Apartment was well equipped with fridge, microwave etc. and very clean. The bathroom could be considered a little dated (not tired though) I guess if you wanted to be REALLY fussy in terms of decor - but as said - very clean and we had plenty of room and I would not say it was tired looking.

Robin the manager had been good enough to follow up a VERY last minute request for any availability for the long weekend and he was pleasant to deal with over the phone.

The apartments are right across the road from a nice stretch of beach - handy with the kids. The pool was also tried and tested - but very cold as the weather wasn't great. Pool area was clean and well equipped with chairs, sun loungers, BBQ etc. I didn't see a shower at the pool though?

We arrived late on Friday night - we didn't call the manager (who was due to be away) as he had suggested as I had spoken earlier to his relief Manager Jon - who again was pleasant to deal with over the phone and provided the code etc. we needed to retrieve keys for late arrival.
Again the next morning Jon was pleasant to deal with, but could not confirm if we could have a slightly later checkout at the end of our stay - which wasn't all that big an issue.

On our last day my partner went over to settle our bill and to ask for a little extra checkout time. The lady in reception didn't seem very keen unfortunately - but the manager was very nice and he said it would be fine - which we were grateful for.

Would definitely stay here again, the manager seemed very nice and going that extra mile where he could in letting us stay on a little longer. Its the little things that people remember and bring guests back. When I went over to return the key, I smiled and said thanks very much to the lady for allowing us the extra time - but didn't get much of a response. :( This would not stop us returning though. We had a car and so it didn't matter that it wasn't right in the thick of happenings on the Esplanade and am sure the town gets noisy at night - so was very happy with our stay!!

Room Tip: if you don't like sound of footsteps choose non-ground floor... if you like loads of room, then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weesquaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urangan
0.5 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#9 of 23 in Hervey Bay
2,030 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
#11 of 23 in Hervey Bay
163 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ramada Hervey Bay
Ramada Hervey Bay
#8 of 23 in Hervey Bay
601 reviews
1.1 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
0.9 mi away
Kondari Resort Hervey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boat Harbour Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boat Harbour Resort

Address: 651-652 Charlton Esplanade, Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay > Urangan
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Urangan
Price Range: £60 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boat Harbour Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hervey Bay's Boat Harbour Resort is the ideal accommodation choice when staying on the Fraser Coast. Hervey Bay is the Whale Watching Capital of the world and the Gateway to Fraser Island. Book your accommodation with Boat Harbour Resort and enjoy all the activities and aspect of Hervey Bay, Fraser Island and the Fraser Coast. Our unique beach front resort is nestled amongst lush tropical gardens and a crystal clear pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Boat Harbour Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boat Harbour Hotel
Boat Harbour Resort Hervey Bay/Urangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing