We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place we are coming back again”
Review of Shelly Beach Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shelly Beach Motel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Urangan
Certificate of Excellence
Kingscote, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great place we are coming back again”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Hi we stayed at this motel in July last year and had a fantastic stay. The sisters are the best hosts. The location, the rooms, the BBQ area were perfect for our stay. Just by chance i revisited trip advisor and saw the review from from around the same time we visited, that family couldn't have been at the same Motel as us. We have just booked to come again in July 2012 and are staying longer. Great Motel, Great Hosts, Great Location

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    34
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
49
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stay two nights at the Shelly beach motel and it was a good surprise.
The staff (i think she is the owner) was very friendly and helpfull.
The room is big, clean and well decorated.
In the room there is a big kitchen with lot of tools at disposal, in the garden there a BBQ for the guests.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gimo2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockhampton, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I have stayed at this motel a few times over the years mainly for a complete rest and recharge. The owners, two lovely vivacious sisters, are always so helpful.......nothing is ever too much trouble.
The beds are very comfortable and the rooms well self contained......a full sized fridge, frypan etc. It is an older motel but the rooms are spacious and have new televisions with user friendly remote controls. The rooms are air conditioned and also have fans which for me is a must.
The back area has a huge well kept lawn and garden with lots of space for boats and extra vehicles. There is also a well self contained gazebo with barbecue.The motel is opposite the beach, perfect for a swim or stroll.
I can't recommend this beautiful, quirky little motel highly enough for the price.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

My family and friends hired out this motel for my wedding recently and could not have been happier. The rooms were clean and tidy and had a real homely feel. Yes this is an older Motel but it is value for money on the beach! I have stayed all over Australia and no where can you get a room for around $100 on the beach front? We had a fantastic time there taking advantage of the amazing rotunda with fully equipped bbq and fridge they have on grounds, that we could use to cook the fish we caught whilst on our fishing charter.
I am disapointed someone could write such bad reveiw on such a great motel, they are not a 5 Star motel and that is what is so great about it, take the advice of the 4 other people that enjoyed it like myself and stay at the Shelly Beach Motel

Room Tip: All rooms with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillvegasGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Cheap it was, but, definitely one of the worst rooms we've EVER stayed in. I feel bad about saying this because the owners were so nice but you need to know what you're getting yourself into. To say the rooms were dated, is an understatement. Even the blankets looked like they were from the 70s. We arrived late due to traffic and planned to leave early to go on a whale watch cruise. When we arrived, we put the kids into their beds fully clothed and, in the morning, told them to use the bathroom, wash up and go right back into the car (still in the same clothes) so they didn't have to touch anything. Also, it was a chilly July night and there was no heat in the room. The bathroom window was stuck open and it was freezing in the room all night. Yes, the location is wonderful but we still had to drive to the dock and pier. I thought all the rooms had been updated but, perhaps, the larger family room was the last. Either way, we still had to pay $110 for this horrible hotel - $20 more than a double. In short, STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4foolsofwonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2011

We stayed here for 3 weeks while looking for permanent accommodation and would recommend it to anyone! The ladies who run the hotel are extremely friendly and helpful. The location is A+ - right opposite a lovely beach - great for our young children for swimming and walking. Very clean and comfortable rooms, lovely sea-breezes, well stocked kitchenette etc. Great outdoor space with bbq gazebo / fully equipped kitchen and huge lawned play space (with toys!!) for the kids. It might not be a 5 star hotel but in our opinion you couldn't get a better place to stay in Hervey Bay (or nicer hosts for that matter!). While no restaurant on site, rooms have menus for a large number of restaurant that will deliver meals.

Room Tip: Can also accommodate dogs or a boat if required.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheeba081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2010

We decided to drop in when we were looking for an accomondation in Hervey Beach. The rate we paid (86 AUD / night) is a bargain, bearing in mind the location - right across the beach and close to some restaurants, the cleanliness and especially the friendliness of the owners. When you intend to stay in Hervey Bay, consider Shelly Beach as an option! We definitely enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franksom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urangan
0.4 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
#1 of 23 in Hervey Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#9 of 23 in Hervey Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hervey Bay Motel
Hervey Bay Motel
#14 of 23 in Hervey Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
0.7 mi away
Tower Court Motel Hervey Bay
0.6 mi away
Kondari Resort Hervey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelly Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelly Beach Motel

Property: Shelly Beach Motel
Address: 510 Esplanade, Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay > Urangan
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Urangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shelly Beach Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shelly Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelly Beach Motel Hervey Bay/Urangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing