We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More labels needed”

Hervey Bay Botanic Gardens
Ranked #3 of 17 things to do in Urangan
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Culburra Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“More labels needed”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The Botanic Gardens cover quite a large area, but only a small portion is laid out as gardens; the rest is untouched native bush crisscrossed with dirt paths. As a horticulturist, I couldn't hep but notice the large number of noxious weeds in the "wild" areas; asparagus weed is prevalent and I saw several cane toads. But the cultivated areas are quite pretty; I would have liked more labels on the plants, however. There is a bush chapel that looks a bit unkempt.
The Chinese Garden was pretty and a lovely tranquil spot to sit and relax for a while.
Entry is free but there is a small fee ($2.50) to access the Orchid House. I would recommend paying the fee (a cup of tea or coffee is included) as they have a glorious array of orchids, most of which were in bloom when I visited in winter.
Pleasant, with a few reservations.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maggie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    96
    28
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Very nice gardens; larger than expected.
In summer, a great family or romantic picnic location. Bring bread for the ducks... the lake is tranquil but a little still; bring the bug spray
The Japanese garden section and the historical notations are particular favourites.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“PLEASANT & PEACEFUL”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Love botanical gardens wherever we go. This one was relatively small but very pleasant to wander in.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shani G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bundaberg
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“So clean,peaceful,”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Beautiful walks,very clean,lots of eating areas ,congrats hervey bay good job with keeping it so beautiful.lots of weddings here,Chinese gardens peaceful

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank yvonneBundaberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A place not to be missed”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

When visiting Hervey Bay make sure you put aside time to have a stroll through these great gardens. Compares favourably with any other country garden

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heldav123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hervey Bay Botanic Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Hervey Bay Botanic Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing