We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, owner is a great guy, best dinner recommendation of all time...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ulignano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This place is brilliant and the owner is such a friendly and helpful guy - you can tell that running the place is his passion. He made a great breakfast too, and was really accommodating for our bikes (we had cycled from Florence). It's a really well run spotless hotel in a stunning part of the world.

The best part however was when we arrived at about 6pm, really tired and hungry. We were going to get a taxi to San Gimignano for dinner, but the owner Elio suggested a local place, and he even gave us a lift over (about a mile down the road). It's the best dinner recommendation I've ever had! A real genuine Italian home-cooked meal of monumental proportions. Elio knows what he's talking about. I cannot recommend his place highly enough.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Changdazzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (670)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 670 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

I found out about this hotel on Tripadvisor and every good thing was spot on. Great service, clean rooms and well located in the wine country between Florence and Siena. It was a little hard to find even with the help of GPS but no problem afterward. We recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clovernookwilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

This is the best place we've stayed in Italy. Enough cannot be said about wonderful Elio. We arrived much later than we had advised the hotel. When we pulled in at 1:30 AM, we expected to be greeted by a sleepy, grumpy innkeeper. Not so! Elio was awake and kind and got us all settled in with a smile. And he remained kind, friendly and extremely helpful throughout the duration of our stay. Elio has great recommendations for anything you want to do, see or eat. He speaks very good English. The hotel is very clean and well kept with daily room cleaning, which we did not expect. We stayed in room 9 at the top. It was very spacious and the bathroom was nice and roomy...great shower. As stated in other reviews, the breakfast was perfect. The outdoor seating area is small (8+ people could easily enjoy the area), but perfect for viewing the amazing Tuscan sun set over the rolling hills and vineyards. The location of the hotel is perfect for getting around to all the sites in the area. We went wine tasting in Chianti, visited Siena, Florence, San Gimignano, Pienza, Montepulciano and everywhere in between, starting every day from our home base at Hotel Vecchio Asilo.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tami R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

My daughters and I stayed here in June 2013 for 1 night and was very impressed with the hotel. The breakfast was excellent and the rooms were very clean and suitable. The owner recommended a restaurant to go to which was very good indeed only about 4 km away. It was only a short drive to San Gimignano which suited us.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue66186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

hotel vecchio asilo is a nice and cute hotel, but nothing extraordinary. what really makes this place out is the lovely host stefania and elio. they are very friendly, give suggestions around tuscany, especially s. gimignano. we don't need to talk about the breakfast - best we had so far.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boni1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

It's all been said before about this place. The owner is worth a good review. In a world of same old buffet breakfasts this place creates memories. Overall a great touring base.
If I'm dead honest I missed having some decent outdoor space. Theres a little shaded terrace with a nice view but the only place for evening sun is a tiny footpath at the front door.
Should you go for 2 or 3 night? Definitely.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnonBangor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

Built in the 1100s...on a road used by the Crusaders...with a view of rolling hills of vineyards...AND just a short 10 minute drive to San Gimignano? All this and more!

Gorgeous view from room with tall windows and marbled bathroom. Charming breakfast room (with some exposed ancient brick covered by thick white stucco. Delicious breakfast included - and, of course, also delicious cappuccinos! The fresh fruit was served in an amazing mosaic of thin, thin slices - oh, the prep time! Delightful host and (in the background) chef hostess - all you could want! AND we loved our our dinner picnic on the small patio with the valley vista!

You will not be disappointed! Book early! And enjoy wonderful Italy!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLLPortland_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ulignano
3.1 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,350 reviews
3 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
809 reviews
3 mi away
Hotel Leon Bianco
Hotel Leon Bianco
#6 of 29 in San Gimignano
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
#9 of 29 in San Gimignano
367 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#4 of 29 in San Gimignano
637 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#5 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vecchio Asilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vecchio Asilo

Address: Via delle Torri 4 | Ulignano, 53037 Ulignano, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano > Ulignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ulignano
Price Range: £62 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Vecchio Asilo 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Vecchio Asilo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vecchio Asilo Hotel
Vecchio Asilo San Gimignano
Hotel Vecchio Asilo Ulignano, San Gimignano, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing