We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic find in Fife!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Redlands Country Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Ladybank B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A fantastic find in Fife!”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We stayed at Redlands for a night as a mid-week getaway. It was the perfect place to stay, the log cabins were beautifully decorated, exceptionally clean and Kate and Alan who own it couldn't have been more accommodating. We were lucky to have great weather so sat out in the sunshine rather than using the hot tub but it was there ready to use, had we wanted to. Nothing was too much trouble and it felt like we were staying with friends. We will definitely be going back and will be recommending it to our friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in a log cabin which suited us but we would recommend the wee bothy if you were staying lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Middyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlodgeFife, Owner at Redlands Country Lodge, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Well, we are happy you found us! We are indeed tucked away (even sat nav has a job finding us!) and it's all part of the charm! Great weather is a bonus in Fife, there's so much to see outdoors in the area.
We'd love to have you visit again, and you can choose between WeeBothy or a log cabin rooms again. (The log cabin rooms are lovely and cosy in the winter months too, you can just hide away from the weather then!)

Kind regards
Kate & Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
59
3
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed 2 nights during a visit to a beautiful wedding in the lovely area. We wished we stayed longer, it was so lovely from start to finish. Outdoor hot tub in the evening is the perfect way to end the day, great breakfasts and you couldn't wish for better genuine hosts including the animals of course! Already looking at the diary as we would love to go back and explore the beautiful area further. Thanks to Kate & Alan you leave with a smile, which is a great sign of a fab time!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlodgeFife, Owner at Redlands Country Lodge, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
“You leave with a smile, which is a great sign of a fab time!!”
What a great header to a review!
We genuinely do like people which is a major factor when owning a guest house. We enjoy the variety of conversation at breakfast, never boring weather chat here!
Glad you enjoyed the hot tub, it's in such a nice setting overlooking the fields that it's hard to get out!
Take care and thanks again
(Apologies for delay in reply, we managed to lock ourselves out of our Tripadvisor account somehow!)

Kate & Alan Laing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lerwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We stayed at the Redlands back in April, having decided to visit some places in Fife, instead of driving past them - on the way to somewhere else. We have not stayed in a lodge / log cabin before but found this place to be ideal and would hapilly recommend it. It is situated on a quiet country road between Ladybank and Pitlessie, in the heart of Fife and is very central for touring the area. Alan and Kate are a friendly, helpful couple who will happilly recommend places to visit and eat. The cabin was lovely and the breakfasts were delightful - and the chat and banter were brilliant. I would go back to Redlands just for a blether with Allan - we ended up chatting for about an hour at breakfast on the 2nd day! The hot tub was away for repair when we were there, but would be great to try some other time. The Redlands is B&B, so we walked into Pitlessie (about 1.5 miles, 35 mins walk at a relaxed pace) and had an excellent meal at the Village Inn. There are other places to eat in Ladybank, which is about the same distance. During our stay, we visited: Falkland and the palace, St Andrews, Crail, Anstruther and the Secret Underground Bunker.

Room Tip: The cabins, although separate in their own right, have access to a central lounge area which was gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlodgeFife, Manager at Redlands Country Lodge, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you for your great review and apologies for the delay in replying - I somehow managed to lock myself out of our Tripadvisor account!
We are very central for touring the area and as you said our quiet location is an ideal base, only a mile from Ladybank Village and 4 miles or so from Falkland too. Not often you find a log cabin building so close to a village!
Hope you'll return to the area again now that you've stayed and discovered some of our great places to visit.
best wishes
Kate & Alan (who holds the world record for the longest breakfast conversations I'm sure!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We stayed four nights at Redlands, and thoroughly enjoyed it,
The layout and concept is excellent, with a comfy lodge to yourself,with all facilities,
plus a commmunal sitting room,
breakfasts in the conservatory were excellent, with eggs fom the hens roaming in the garden,
great spot to watch the wild birds including a woodpecker,
also gave you the opportunity to chat to Kate
and other guests about places to see and go in the area. plus the wild birds.
The hot tub was a great place to relax and watch the world go by.
Kate was really helpful with meal recommendations and local knowledge,
Central location for various attractions
Only improvement would be either be a small fridge in lodge, or a communal fridge in lounge
to keep drinks cool.
Would recommend whole heartedly

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Braniff58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlodgeFife, Owner at Redlands Country Lodge, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Hello there
So happy that you really enjoyed your stay with us here at Redlands. In four days, you can really explore the area and it's always great to hear from others at breakfast where they've found too.
Great that you thought all our facilities were good.
We do actually have a cooler fridge in the communal lounge that guests can pop wine or beer in - I must have forgotten to point it out to you! Apologies!

Hope to see you back sometime in the future.
Best Wishes
Kate & Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

It was a last minute decision to take a short break in Fife, in addition to visitng family in Ediburgh. We had no idea what hotels there were aound Cupar, but Booking.com had this at the top of the list, and one look at the website convinced us that this would be good. It was. It did what it said on the tin - or rather what the other reviewers have said. It was clean, warm and comfortable, with a good room and an excellent breakfast. It was excellent value for money. The great thing is that the rooms are log cabins with their own front doors, so we could come and go as we pleased without disturbing anyone. However, the one thing that really made the difference between this and other places to stay was the personal attention from Kate and Alan. They were great hosts, and we really felt at home.

Room Tip: All four rooms are the same, around the small but very comfortable lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlodgeFife, Owner at Redlands Country Lodge, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Hello!
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and we know that you've since been back to visit again which is a great compliment. (Apologies for taking so long to respond, but somehow we got 'locked out' of our own review response page - technology is great when it works!)
We do hope to see you again and are glad you enjoyed great breakfasts, comfy rooms and our hospitality here at Redlands Country Lodge.

Warmest wishes
Kate & Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2013

My wife and I stayed at Redlands during a part-business part-pleasure long weekend. Business was in St Andrews on the Friday and Redlands is just half an hour away. We spent the rest of the weekend chilling. And this really is a wonderfui place to chill. Our log cabin was warm and cosy with all the facilities you would expect in a country lodge. It was immaculately clean and tidy and and the shower was impressively powerful. Breakfast was across in a beautiful purpose-built conservatory attached to the main house. We met other guests and they will be our friends from now on. And so will our hosts, Kate and Alan who could not have been more friendly. They recommended a number of excellent local eating places for our evening meal and we enjoyed the famous Fife hospitality at each. This was our first visit to Fife but it cetainly won't be our last!

Room Tip: There's a 'wee bothy' that might suit a larger group. It's self-catering but would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShonD_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

My partner and I took a trip to the Redlands as a late valentines and early birthday trip for his birthday and we loved it! We arrived before we were meant to have access to the room but Kate was very hospitable and showed excellent customer service by allowing us early access to our rooms and cranking the heating up to full for us as I get cold quite easily.
Kate spoke with us for a good half hour giving us tips on places to visit for day trips and local restaurant advice - The Crown in Kingskettle is a must visit and the Stag in Falkland is good for a live band on a Saturday night.
Breakfast was amazing and the conservatory was a beautiful setting on the Sunday morning when the snow started to fall.
Unlike other B&Bs I've stayed in, we were both made to feel very comfortable when staying at Redlands and we didn't feel like we were invading some one's personal space as the rooms were separate to the main house and a visitors lounge was available with free wifi!

Thanks for helping to make our first break away so memorable!

Lucy & Tony

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LucyBarrowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlodgeFife, Owner at Redlands Country Lodge, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Hi there and thanks for taking the time to post such a nice review. I didn't realise this was your first wee break away together - I'm glad we managed to make it special for you both. The snow is still here in the first week of Spring, can't believe it! Hope to see you both again. Best wishes, Kate & Alan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ladybank
2.9 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
551 reviews
5.8 mi away
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
7.5 mi away
Craigsanquhar House Hotel
Craigsanquhar House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Craigsanquhar
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
502 reviews
14.8 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 16 in St Andrews
3,063 reviews
12.1 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redlands Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redlands Country Lodge

Property: Redlands Country Lodge
Address: Pitlessie Road, Ladybank, Cupar KY15 7SH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Cupar > Ladybank
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ladybank
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Redlands Country Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in one of our cosy, terraced, log cabin bedrooms, individually styled, each with its own entrance and en-suite shower room. Free WIFI/Freeview. Semirural setting by Cupar, Pitlessie, Falkland. 15 miles from St. Andrews. 20 miles from Dundee.Self catering apartment 'WeeBothy' also ideal for short breaks and short term working lets. Group bookings welcome - we can accommodate up to 12. Ideal for wedding guests for Falkland Palace, Fernie Castle, Craigsanquhar, Kilconquhar and Balbirnie.Pets by prior arrangement only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Redlands Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redlands Country Lodge Ladybank, Fife, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing