We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small, intimate perfect hotel”
Review of An Taigh Osda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
An Taigh Osda
Reviewed 11 May 2011

Paul and Joan just make this place perfect; Joan with her cooking and Paul with his friendliness and personal attention to every guest. The rooms are small but beautifully appointed, comfortable and spotlessly clean. Joan's cooking is just superb so every meal is an exquisite experience. Breakfasts are sumptious. The hotel, previously the island doctor's house, is situated on the shore of Loch Indaal and next to the Bruichladdich distillery; a perfect location and the road that runs by is very quiet at night. It is impossible to criticise this friendly and delightful small hotel. I have not found anywhere to equal it on the island.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erithacus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2011

We had a fabulous stay. Paul & Joan were so hospitable & the breakfast was amazing. Rooms immaculate.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joannax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

An Taigh Osda - An unpretentious looking Hotel hiding a beauty within. Paul and Joan have been working hard for the last four years to bring this concept into being. They are attentive and friendly and immediately put you at ease. The rooms are at about a 4 star standard with a five star feel. They are above standard comforts...we had the large room at the top of the Hotel.....excellent views.....a bed to die for, three glorious nights of slumber. The bathroom is as big as some bedrooms I have had to reside in. All are finished to a high standard. No internal/external telephone . No suitcase stand in room.
Joan is a lady will many hidden culinary talents.....painfully shy and unaware of her gifts. We had three dinners during our stay...these were honest meals using as much local ingredients as possible......not overly fancy but attractive well made food with great flavours and taste.. Having just a few months before eaten at Raymond Blancs La Manoir I found the food at An Taigh Osda to be better tasting and honest. Breakfasts were of above standard Stornaway Black Pudding, Smoked Haddock to name a few lovely things to get you ready for your day.
This is a gem of a find, with only 5 bedrooms it is intimate and friendly . Paul will look after you ...from your pre and post dinner drinks(his whisky selections are great ), the food service , reception and luggage........they put their soul into their small Hotel. We had a great time and wish them luck as they polish their Jewel of the Isles.

Room Tip: First and Top floor front rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorGib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

We were lucky, we booked An Taigh Osda after a random search of accommodation in Islay and found a gem. Paul and Joan were very welcoming, the rooms are very nice and the food (both dinner and breakfast) were excellent. Bruichladdich is quiet and a taxi ride from Bowmore and the majority of distilleries but with the excellent taxi service (Lamont) and reliable bus service suited us. The view of the bay is great and you can walk to Port Charlotte if you want to go to the pub.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GordsGuinness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2011

There's a whisky book, 101 Whiskies To Try Before You Die, Well An Taigh Osda must be on a list of 101 Special Places to Stay Before you Die. Need I say more.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alibtob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We spent new year in islay ,first time on the island and we will be back and mainly thanks to paul and joan unbelivale place to stay lovely food and fantastic luxury . would recommend it very highly .

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corsamacrally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2010

Islay is a very beautiful island, peaceful and friendly. Very few roads, no parking restrictions or meters, no yellow lines, and everyone you pass gives a friendly wave, even pedestrians.
We liked the sound of An Taigh Osda from their web site so booked a week in July, the hotel was in a wonderful position by the sea, easy to find as Islay is not over-populated. We received a warm welcome from Joan and Paul Graham, the hotel was smart, modern, very clean and tastefully decorated. Our room was at the front with a wonderful view across the bay. The hotel restaurant is open to non residents most nights of the week, and as there are very few restaurants on the island we were advised to book in advance as it soon gets booked up. We booked for 3 evening dinners, not quite sure what we would want to do on the other nights but didn't want to commit ourselves, BIG MISTAKE, we should have booked for every night. We were blown away by the quality of the meals. We are both vegetarians and sometimes find that we miss out a bit and don't get a lot of choice, usually pasta or risotto, but the food was fantastic, Joan really made an effort to create wonderful meals, it felt special rather than an afterthought. The restaurant has a very relaxed atmosphere, sea views and a very good wine and single malt selection, all in all, much better than we expected for a small island.
We found our hosts very friendly and helpful, Paul arranged a motor boat trip for us to go see Corryvreckan whirlpool, which unfortunately wasn't very active that day, but still a wonderful experience, but we saw lots of seals and a sea eagle.
We would recommend An Taigh Osda very highly and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saffron53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to An Taigh Osda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Taigh Osda

Address: Bruichladdich PA49 7UN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Bruichladdich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bruichladdich
Price Range: £66 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small private family run hotel on the island of Islay. Contemporary in style, similar to The Bonham, Edinburgh. Our kitchen utilizes the best of local produce. A fine selection of wines and the islands malt whiskeys available from our fully licensed lounge bar. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
An Taigh Osda Islay/Bruichladdich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing