We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We LOVED it!”
Review of Eleonas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eleonas
Ranked #2 of 8 Rovies B&B and Inns
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“We LOVED it!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed at Eleonas hotel on a beautiful olive farm at the beginning of June and loved every minute of our three nights there. Because I don't drive and my partner had decided that he did not want to drive on this particular holiday we decided to take the bus from Athens to Rovies.....big mistake! Although the scenery along the way was lovely it seemed to take forever to get there as the bus goes through lots of little villages. However, when we arrived many hours later, tired and hot we were greeted at the bus stop in Rovies by the delightful, smiling face of Marina. She kindly transported us in her car up to the hotel and we had a feeling of serenity and comfort from the moment we set foot on the hotel grounds. Our room on the 1st floor was all that we needed, two beds, an overhead fan, a clean bathroom with delicious smelling shower gel and shampoos...made with olive oil, and a decent sized balcony with a wonderful sea view (as promised!). There was also a small area with a fridge and kettle and tea. We opted to eat at the hotel every evening and the food was delicious...made and served by the CHARMING hosts Marina and Stefos. Sadly they were rather busy so initially they were not able to chat much but on our last night we were invited to join them for a family meal which was such a priviledge...a warm, cultured and interesting family. Stefos has a great sense of humour! Eventually we gave in and hired a small car with the help of Marina and visited some of the rather charming villages close by (like Limni and Ilios), although wwe would have been quite happy to just stay at the hotel, soak in the country air and read and relax. We were sad to say goodbye and know that we will return one day. I can highly recommend this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor, although the hotel is a distance from the sea we could still see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strawsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
36
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Redhill, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2014

What a place. Warm, welcoming and friendly ... not to mention the fantastic setting. If you like olives then this is a must and if you are not that keen you can just enjoy the beautiful setting of this hotel. It is nestled in the heart of an olive grove and is run by the owners of the farm. The rooms are very comfortable and the hospitality is amazing. With home cooked food prepared fresh each day there is not a lot more that one can ask for. A fine selection of wine and beer (and olives!!) is available in the bar/dining/reception area which has a lovely open fire and sofas for relaxing. They even have a telescope for enjoying the stars. A must stop place and I cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 900JulianW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarinaValli, Owner at Eleonas, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to see you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
den bosch
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We spent two nights in this beautiful Hotel.
Everything breathed the attention and care of the owners.
Marina was very charming and full of stories and very helpful with any question asked.
Her cooking delicious, all very natural.
The location is a jewel in a Greek setting.
We hope to come back soon!

Room Tip: Wifi works best close to the reception ))
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarinaValli, Ιδιοκτήτης at Eleonas, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
many thanks for your kind comments. We look forward to welcome you back again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioannina, Greece
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We spent 5 days in this paradise and it was the third time that we had an unforgettable holiday experience in Eleonas, Rovies. The hotel is located in an idyllic location, with very nice view, very close to the beach and at the same time isolated from annoying noises. It is a nicely designed hotel, in perfect harmony with the nature and the environment that surround it and providing the guests with all the amenities without exaggerating. The breakfast consists of traditional Greek products, the majority of them are made from the owners (bread, jams, juices) or from the farm's produce. The village is rather interesting, with family-run bussinesses and clear-blue beaches. But, somebody can easily spend the whole day in the farm, where they can find sport activities to do (for the active ones) or enjoy the treats that Stefanos and Marina can offer you! The rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated, the bathroom is huge and the balcony is lush with view to the big blue. Rovies is easily accessible from Athens by car and the route is fantastic.
The most important factor that always attracts me to this hotel is the taste (or "meraki" as we call it in Greek) of the couple that runs this bussiness. They are really helpful and their purpose is to satisfy their guests as much as possible. They are the perfect hosts!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria3784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarinaValli, Owner at Eleonas, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
thank you for your kind remarks. They have a special value for as as you knew us from the start and you still trust us. Thank you for the book. I underlined several meaningfull sentences. One of them: (not a very literal translation) Are you so busy trying to "become" that you can not enjoy the simple fact that you "are"?
We enjoyed just being with you at "eleonas"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Our stay at the Eleonas on Evia Island, Greece was so relaxing and our welcome so warm that we will definitely return. The setting is beautiful amongst acres of olive groves, the hotel/apartments are very well maintained, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The owners have paid a lot of attention to detail which makes the atmosphere so appealing. There is plenty to do, if you enjoy walking, exploring the local area, flora and fauna and bird life. The sea and long, pleasant beach are a short walk down the hill, with its local cafe's and restaurants, if you want them. Stefanos produces excellent meals at the hotel however, so we ate in regularly, the breakfasts were especially good, being made from their own eggs, jams and home made bread. There were plenty of activities for children too, although there were none there during our stay. We hired a car at Athens airport through Rentalcars.com and took a leisurely drive across to Evia Island for our one week stay there. Costs in Evia are much more reasonable than other tourist islands and you feel you are in the real Greece.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank sva777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarinaValli, Owner at Eleonas, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
We are pleased that you found sa many positives. We think we are quite good at what we do, but it is always great to hear others say so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Finally, after having stayed at Eleonas for the eighth time it is about time we wrote a review.
Our first year -2004-we booked for four days- we stayed for eighteen. And we came back, summer after summer. And we will return this year!
If you appreciate peace and quiet, the only sounds being the wind in the trees, the cicadas, the frogs in the nearby irrigation canal and sometimes at night the screech of an owl then you’ve found the right place by staying in Eleonas. Surrounded by olive trees, the quiet beach only 500 m. away who could ask for more?
The rooms in the hotel are spacious, tastefully furnished and the beds are great. The bathroom has a good size and the shower is really spacious and has glass doors (no plastic shower curtains or wet bathroom floors). Everything is kept spotless. The towels are changed every other day. "Our” downstairs room has a verandah and a nice garden; perfect for a quiet afternoon with a book and a drink after returning from the beach.
Breakfasts where absolutely everything is home-made (the olivebread!), eggs from either ducks or chickens, marmelades, jam.
Marina and Stefanos will make you feel at ease and are good company and great fun to be with if you want to and discreetly in the background if you prefer that.

Eleonas is perfectly situated if you are arriving by plane either from Thessaloniki or Athens.
From Athens it’s a three hours drive, and you can start to relax immediately on the first evening of your holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IngePom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarinaValli, Owner at Eleonas, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Thank you for putting in writing your love for our place.
Thank you for visiting us every year, when there are thousand of places in Greece you have not visited yet. We take it as an honour. We consider you as friends and not just guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We were rather skeptical when we set off from Athens to North Evia past weekend. The weather was nasty and the perspective of driving the twisty road up and down the mountains through gloomy woods didn't inspire. But as we passed the scenic bridge of Chalkida and found us on Evia all the fears disappeared. The road to the North is simply fantastic: it offers total delight for your senses: breath-taking panoramas of the sea and lush vegetation of centuries-old forests, trill and twitter of birds, sweet smell of mountain herbs and flowers. A short stop at the town Prokopi, a visit to the church of St. John the Russian and both your body and soul are in total beatification. The rest of the road towards Rovies flies in a wink and we find ourselves under the hospitable roof of Eleonas. Simplicity, taste, tranquility and deep respect for nature: this is what best characterizes Eleonas. But it wouldn't be that perfect without Marina and Stephanos, without their infinite love for nature and for Evia in particular. All the warmth of their caring nature is felt in every single detail in and around Eleonas: from the hand-woven rugs in the rooms to the home-made breakfast in company of olive trees. Marina is a perfect guide once you decide to explore North Evia. Drymona waterfalls, Kerassia museum of petrified animals, Limni town, Monastery of Osios David, Edipsos and many other interesting places she will suggest are really worth seeing. And when in the evening you move your exhausted but invigorated body back to Eleonas for an "infant" sleep, you are so happy to know that the only "disturbers" of your quiet will be the first rays of sun, roosters, birds trilling and insects buzzing. Huge thanks to this wonderful couple that managed to create this paradisaical harmony on earth.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarMinT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarinaValli, Owner at Eleonas, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Thank you for your review. Please come again. There are more things that we like you to see and experience on Evia Island northern part.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rovies
12.3 mi away
Thalatta Seaside Hotel
Thalatta Seaside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Agia Anna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
5.7 mi away
Vateri Guest House
Vateri Guest House
#1 of 4 in Limni
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
7.7 mi away
Kaminos Resort
Kaminos Resort
#2 of 2 in Limni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Agrabeli Apartments
Agrabeli Apartments
#3 of 4 in Limni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
1.4 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Yades
#7 of 8 in Rovies
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.4 mi away
Agnadi Hotel
Agnadi Hotel
#3 of 8 in Rovies
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eleonas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eleonas

Property: Eleonas
Address: Rovies, Rovies 340 05, Greece
Region: Greece > Central Greece > Euboea Region > Rovies
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Rovies
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Eleonas 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is located on a natural and quiet site,500 m from the beach, on a hill surrounded by olive trees. The accommodation has been designed to be relaxed, informal. Twin and double rooms await you, discreetly decorated, climate controlled, with books instead of television and a breath-taking view. Open all year around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Eleonas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing