We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You should pick this one”
Review of Melanthi Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melanthi Mansion
Ranked #3 of 18 Makrinitsa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
1 review
“You should pick this one”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I dont frequently take the time to post my impressions on the net but my stay at Melanthi made me change my mind. So, if you choose Pilio for your break or your holidays, I strongly suggest you choose to stay at this place.
Makrinitra is probably one of the most picturesque villages in Pilion. The mansion is a traditional establishment very comfortable and finely decorated to the slightest detail. All rooms are cosy and offer a wonderful view of the Gulf and the town of Volos. (I strongly advise you to ask for the top floor for the view and the jacuzzi).
The prices are very reasonalbe and hotel service is excellent. The owner/manager is a very helpful, smiles a lot, likes good jazz and makes you feel at home from the first moment. She cooks for every visitor a delicious and extremely large breakfast (no pre-made hotel breakfast here-you get to have your own dishes served right to your table while you watch the view!).
I will certainly visit this place again soon

Room Tip: If you travel with your friends (up to 4 people) you can book the top floor "arxontariki and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giorgos_Kasapas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    6
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
34
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Erlangen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The hotel melanthi feels more like a home than a hotel. The rooms are all individual furnished and the bed is a dream. It´s quiet, relaxing, impeccably clean and comfortable. The view from the hotel is fantastic, you can look all around volos. We enjoyed our stay at melanthi and we gonna come again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katharina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The Melanthi Mension is one of the best places in Greece and the time you will stay there surely isn’t enough, because you will simply want to stay forever.

Beside the wonderful rooms, the delicious food and the fantastic view over the whole city of Volos, a lovely atmosphere is provided by awesome and helpful people.

The location is perfect as a starting point to explore the Pilion mountains; by car, by bike or on foot. On your way through the mountains you should stop whenever you feel like to drink some greec coffee in one of the great cafés, which you can find in all the little villages on the green tour. But you absolutely have to make a detour and drive down to the ocean, as soon as you are passing near to the seaside, because you can be sure there is an extraordinary beach close by. So go to find the beach and have a refreshing swim. Mostly there are only a few other people or you can even be alone (without the mainstream tourist) to hear what the nature is trying to whisper into your ears.

This place is full of lovely details which are desperately waiting for your sense of curiosity to find them out. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nora H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Melanthi hotel is a small cosy place, where you can completely relax and escape from day to day life. It is situated right on the top of the village of Makrinitsa, where you get perfect morning view with you breakfast. The hotel is clean and it is furnished with great traditional style. The rooms are quite small, where perhaps someone can find it as negative, but in the end of the day, you come there to relax in nature and walk around, so this did not matter to us.

On a negative side; the hotel is not well accessible as there is no direct access with a car, so you have to walk there for about 5 minutes from parking place. It's not such a big deal, if you have no pushchairs or heavy luggages. The footpath is made out of stones which are sticking out and then, it gets really tricky as well, getting there you are walking up the hill :-)
Breakfast is very rich and made upon your request what you wish to eat. Generally, the service is good, but we have had experience few times, when the hotel was fully booked, it can get a little bit chaotic.
Generally, I would recommend this place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barborinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makrinitsa
0.0 mi away
Arhontika Saltis
Arhontika Saltis
#3 of 3 in Makrinitsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Archontiko Argyro
Archontiko Argyro
#1 of 3 in Makrinitsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xenia Palace
Xenia Palace
#4 of 12 in Portaria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Petrino
Hotel Petrino
#2 of 18 in Makrinitsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Archontika Karamarlis
Archontika Karamarlis
#2 of 3 in Makrinitsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mansion Margaritis
Mansion Margaritis
#1 of 18 in Makrinitsa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melanthi Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melanthi Mansion

Property: Melanthi Mansion
Address: Makrinitsa Village | Volos City, Makrinitsa, Volos 38771 , Greece
Region: Greece > Thessaly > Magnesia Region > Volos > Makrinitsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Makrinitsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Melanthi Mansion 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional hotel in Makrinitsa Pilio with exceptional view to Pagasitikos bay and the city of Volos; 10km from the sea, 15km from the nearest airport and 13km from one of the most beautiful in the world ski centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotel.de so you can book your Melanthi Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing