We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but disappointing in some respects”
Review of Aqualand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aqualand Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Agios Ioannis
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We have just returned from a week at this resort with son, daughter in law and grandchildren (aged 7 and 2). We had 2 one bedroom apartments.You must get your own luggage to your rooms without help and that is not easy given the site is spread out. Each apartment consisted of a lounge where the settee had been converted into a bed and another bedroom upstairs.The stairs were very steep so not child friendly. It was clean if fairly basic. We were near the wave pool which is probably the best place as rooms nearer the reception may suffer noise from the evening entertainment.
The hotel has 3 pools - a children's pool where the water is 0.5 metres deep, a large pool and a wave pool and these are all excellent. There is an indoor soft play area open until 8 pm which is good but the outdoor play areas (swings and slides) are very poor.There is an easy connection to the water park next door which has slides for all tastes from young children to those wanting something very much more exciting. Residents of the hotel can get in at 10am before the water park opens to outsiders at 11 am and this is very good as it avoids possible long queues.
The main restaurant is buffet style and there is a wide choice and the quality is fine though not a very high standard. You won't go hungry. There is another bookable smaller restaurant the other side of the wave pool which we went to once and that is buffet style too so we didn't see the point as the choice was less. The snack bar beside the children's pool was not very good so don't rely on this. It served things like chicken nuggets and chips but not good. We didn't find that much of a problem after big breakfasts, lunches and dinners. Drinks were ok. Evening entertainment was poor. A free hotel coach goes daily to a very nice beach or Corfu Town.
Overall we had a great time as the weather was as you'd expect and the pools were what the grandchildren wanted - us too given the heat. But the hotel is very much a 3 star standard.

Room Tip: Not too close to reception to avoid noise at night. Near the wave pool is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BirminghamWyvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (724)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 724 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

It's a great waterpark! We had a perfect time.. It's a place for every kind of man or taste! There's a mini waterpark for kids, relaxing pools , jacoozi pool, funny pool games.. And then..there are the amazing slides. The black hole and all the slides make have a great time with your friends! And if you are going solo you're gonna have a great time also! There are extreme slides for the brave ones as well! And then.. When you ll be hungry and exhausted..there are some restaurants inside the waterpark which serve classic tasty greek junk food!
It was my third time i visited aqualand and i am going again for sure!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Pauline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Went here for 2weeks in June, there was 13 of us altogether and we all really enjoyed. The water park was really great with lots to do for all ages. Our party ranged from 2yrs old upto 60yrs.
The food was good for all inclusive, I've been to a few and this was the best, they do get bit repetitive but we were there for 2weeks. The alcoholic drinks were ok but some was stronger then others i think it depends on which bottle they pour it out of.
The only thing I think they could do to improve things is open the pool side bar a bit later as it shut at 6pm, and our room was by the pool/park and it would av been nice to sit in the outside seatin area by there while the kids played in park. We had to get drinks from the lobby bar which was little wall away.
We did visit the beach via the free bus and was told we are allowed to use the other hotels pool and loungers but this was misleading as we were sakes to lay. We just payed on the sand with our own towels then.
We went into corfu town few times in evenin for change of scenery, was lively with lots of pubs/ coffee shops.
Overall I was really happy and would recommended hotel. Don't think I would go back as I do like to go new places.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank scott m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We arrived on 18th July for one week, at 5:30am, our flight was delayed but we had a very quick check in.Our room was lovely, we expected a double twin room but got a lovely apartment room with an upstairs room, fridge safe, tv and balcony over looking main pool. First impressions were great.
After a sleep we headed out to explore the complex, the main pool is a decsent size with plenty of sun longers. We missed breakfast so looked at the snack bar at the pool, chips, potato wedges and some pastries were on offer, not really our taste but it was edable. But that was the only time the snack bar was used!
The drinks are served from drinks machines, we tried the coke and spat it out, lemonade, apple & orange jucie the same!!! All of these drinks have been heavly watered down making them vile to drink!
The dinner was quite nice, lots of choice and staff were friendly enough. We only made breakfast a few times but wgen we did it was lovely, plenty of fruit on offer pancakes, cereal ans cooked breakfast. Again the drinks were vile even the tea/coffee was horrible!

The waterpark is on the hotel complex, using a side gate for entrance, it is used by the public so can get quite busy, plenty of sun longers.
Loads of slides for all ages, lazy river and main pool are great!
You do get discount when buying things in the water park.
Its open 10-5 well worth a few trips.

Not much entertainment, we found ourselves bored quite a bit, opting for playing cards/watching movies on our ipad in our room.
Because of the poor quality of the drinks we found ourselves buying drinks/snacka to take back to our room. The onsite shop a little expensive paying around €2.80 for a Koppaburg, but the supermarket across the rd you can buy beer for €1.50 so we stocked up there.
Apart from the shop and a garage there is nothing else out side the complex. But if you walk out turn right and take the first left about 10min walk there is a lovely Greek Tavern restruant, served lovely food.
You may see a sign for 'Go Karts' outside the hotel it is around 10mintues away via car & the man will pick you up, just ask reception to call him.
He has built a fab Kart track and has two Karts, Children age 7 and above can drive them. Costs €15 for 20mins, great fun :)
The hotel lay on coach transport to Corfu town 10am-2:30pm or 5:00-9:30. Well worth going to town, lots of shops places to eat etc.
DO NOT book with holiday reps instead go to town and book straight with the people. For example First choice wanted to charge us(family of three) €63 to go on a glass bottom boat ride which included travel.
We got the free coach and paid just €24 for the trip!!!

Check up is 12pm athough our flight wasnt until 12 hours later the hotel provide a luggage room with toliets and showers which was great :)

Overall lovely relaxing holiday, this is only a three* resort so dont expect anymore than that. My biggest complaint were
the soft drinks, my husband said the beer & cocktails were okay!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ckaps83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I've just returned from Aqualand where we (me and my 11 year old daughter) spent a week. We had a lovely holiday - very relaxing, the watermark is fabulous fun and in early July was fairly quiet and we never had to queue more than 5 minutes for any of the attractions. The hotel is very clean, we enjoyed the food - the kitchen and waiting staff work very hard. Good free ice cream.
We went with First choice - only criticism was the paid for excursions. We went on Theo's boat bbq. If you like the sound of a floating nightclub with plenty of booze, then go on this trip. If not, avoid at all costs. At Aqualand, the free buses to the beach and Corfu Town may well be the only excursions you need.
Airport transfer only 20 minutes!

Room Tip: This resort is in the middle of the island so you won't get a sea view. You will get a view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Just returned from an 11 night stay at this resort, it was our daughters honeymoon, along with a number of family and friends we all had a really enjoyable stay.
On arrival, at about 8.30pm, we were greeted by one of the managers and he took us to the restaurant so we could all eat before checking in.
The checking in process was very smooth and no problems in finding our very spacious rooms. My daughter and her husband, and three kids, were above us in a duplex apartment, very modern and plenty of space, we had a double room and everything we needed was in there, apart from a kettle and enough hangers, but I phoned reception at 9.30 PM and they brought them within 10 mins, very impressive!!!
The hotel grounds and rooms were kept in immaculate condition, we had clean towels and bedding every other day.
Never a rush to get sunbeds around the wave pool. We used these because of position to the water park, you are not allowed to take drink or food into the park and you get 25% off food inside the park, we just went in for an hour and kept coming back through for refreshments.
The food is what you would expect in an all inclusive resort but my only criticism was the lack of choice for kids at the evening meal.!! At 10.30 am the poolside snacks include chicken nuggets which dissappear within minutes! But at night there were none !! I did ask the manager and to his credit supplied us with chicken nuggets when we asked but surely a bit more variation for kids at night would not be too hard.!!!!!
We visited the local beach which is about 20mins away on the free bus and there is plenty of water sports there. We also went to Corfu City also on the free bus and this is a must do!!!
The entertainment is good for the kids, but beware the time shirt painting!!! 10 euro per shirt is a bit excessive!!!!
All in all a very enjoyable if not relaxing holiday, baby sitting !!!
A good place to come for the kids the water park is amazing plenty of slides for the thrill seekers!!!
All the staff and locals were really friendly and would recommend

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
7  Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed for a week happy with the hotel nice & clean the staff were friendly & the food was ok. Not much to do outside the resort but there was a free bus that the resort put on twice a day into the town centre.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
6  Thank kiki-nik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Ioannis
13.7 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
2,209 reviews
13.5 mi away
Sidari Water Park Hotel
8.8 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
2.5 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
4.7 mi away
Corfu Holiday Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqualand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqualand Resort

Address: Agios Ioannis Parelion, Agios Ioannis 491 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Ioannis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Agios Ioannis
Price Range: £84 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aqualand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqualand Hotel Agios Ioannis
Aqualand Hotel Corfu
Aqualand Village Corfu
Aqualand Resort Corfu/Agios Ioannis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing