We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food great setting”
Review of Tomata Restaurant

Tomata Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 21 Restaurants in Sani
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$36 - US$143
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, View, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: For a Mediterranean menu with an innovative twist, the superb Tomata is a dining experience that cannot be missed. You'll also find a wine list featuring some of the best wines that Greece has to offer. Tomata is an inspiring culinary journey promising a fiesta of colours, aromas and tastes.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food great setting”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We went here on our last night. Wished we had gone earlier in r holiday. Food was great even the kids food was amazing. The chocolate brownie dessert should be on the adults menu. Setting was beautiful & loved the huge salad bowl sunk in the middle of the table.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    86
    62
    13
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Modern excellent restaurant”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This place was very different to anywhere else with a very special, modern approach. Food superb! Service excellent.

Would definitely return.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ANN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, Surrey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So disappointed”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We were so looking forward to going here as had heard rave reviews of their award wining chef. A bowl of vegetables and whole lemon were put on our table and we were told to prepare and marinade them ourselves!! My husband ordered moussaka and was given the tiniest portion with a splodge of tomato sauce on the side more suitable for a 2 year old. Very expensive and very disappointing meal.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ashfordelectrical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A unique gastronomic experience”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Situated in the Sani Marina, right in front of the sea, Tomata restaurant offers a beautiful late spring and summer environment to its guests. The decor is combines that of a traditional greek tavern and minimal modern arcitecture. Even if you know previously nothing about Tomata, from the very first moment you are politely welcomed and seated you can realise that this is a high standard restaurant. The Sani Resort Gourmet Festival is taking place (ends 18 May) and we selected Niko's Karathano's 5 course menu in the Tomata. All courses were fantastic, each one being accompanied by a different wine. Freshly baked bread was also served covered in a towel. The best course was in my opinion the hunkar with calf tail. The dessert was rice pudding-creme brulee with mastic foam. Tremendous. The service staff were exceptional. So professional, always smiling and welcoming, so helpful and aware of the menu. They provided us with many details about the courses and the wines, and in the end of each course they asked for our opinion. I absolutely loved the whole thing. Of course the price is high, but this is the expected for a place and a cretive menu like that.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pa_kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very very good”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Tomata is a great place to eat- we liked the pork spit, but everything we tried was very very good. You cannot go wrong eating here- just make sure you book in advance to avoid disappointment

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank TheSphinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tomata Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tomata Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing