We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - with kids”
Review of Sani Asterias

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sani Asterias
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Sani
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2008

We have stayed twice at Asterias and I am a huge fan.

The hotel itself is very attractive and calm - great landscaping, limited number of rooms, well laid out with short distances between beach, room, pool, restaurant. Second time here, we took a beach front suite which opens directly onto the beach (through your private garden) - great set up with kids.

On the subject of kids, I would estimate that 90% of the guests are families, generally with children under 5. It attracts a clientele where the kids don't run amok. But it really is a family resort.

Staff are fantastic. For example turning up at the door with milk and cookies when they see you come back from dinner in the evening. The airline lost my luggage and the reception sorted everything out to get my bag back.

Food is of a very high quality (and price) in the hotel. The restaurants in the marina widen the options and price points but basically plan on Central London - not Greek - prices. But quality matches.

The resort has great facilities. Young kids can rent bikes (with stabilisers etc.) and cycle the 500m to the marina for dinner. There are all types of sports (outside Asterias but in the Sani complex). The sea is calm and shallow, the private Asterias beach is great.

Basically, I can't think of (or find) a better family resort of this standard in the Med. The combination of Four Seasons style service, beautiful (if "could be anywhere") setting and welcoming set up for families is excellent.

Only other point to mention is that the room rates vary considerably with the size of the room - from €400 to over €1000 per night depending on number of people and season. I think the rates are reasonable for the standard of hotel but the price difference for the larger suites doesn't seem fully justified by their relative size.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JT14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (592)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 592 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2007

Recently stayed with my wife and 3 year old son in a Standard Suite.
Free transfer was incident free and smooth.
Suite was a little dissapointing, lounge and bedrooms were quite large but lacking character and seemed empty. Bathroom was tired and the touching up of paintwork poor.

However, the holiday still managed to be one of the best we have ever been on. The beach location of the suite was excellent. The staff very helpfull and polite. The food was exceptional. The beach clean and safe. The harbour an excellent setting. The beach watch girl for children was an angel. All sports and facilities without fault.

The standard of the suite initially disappointed but eventually was secondary as so many other factors made up for it.

I have stayed at many 5* suites far better kitted out if not as roomy. If you are used to 5* rooms - you will be disapponted. However the rest of the Hotel / Resort will make up for it.

Some of the reports I read make it sound like the Asterias suites are over run with kids. This was not the case. You could easily have a relaxing couples break without problems. Howewer the adjoining Hotels were rowdy with teenage kids. The Asterias families tended to have young children.

I will be booking for next year.

We will be booking for next year.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank WEVSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2007

The Sani Resort is truly beautiful. Superb suites, great marina with a wide choice of restaurants and a stunning coast line. My husband and I had a wonderful two weeks in the resort and were hard pushed to fault the service however, it is unlikely that we would go again as it really is a family resort and not necessarily the best place for couples. There were times when we felt out of place without a couple of kids in tow!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cshaw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2007

From the moment our family steped onto the property of this tropical paradise our family was treated like royalty. Our villa had the most breath taking view of the beach especially at sunset. This family friendly resort offered our two children more than enough activities to have each of them happy for the entire week. The spa was worth every penny for the diverse packages that were offered for both my husband and myself, allowing us the quite time together without worring about our children. Thanks to the General Manager and his wonderful staff our long trip blues were quickly soothed away, making this trip quite remarkable. Greece will be the excuse just to go back to this fantastic resort !

A well rested & happy family in Closter, NJ

Stayed: July 2007
1  Thank ladyofcaviar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2007

Although we are lucky enough to have several holidays during the year, this was only our second holiday with our little baby - now 1 at the time of this holiday.

We specifically choose the Sani Asterias Suites as it was recommended to us by other friends with children. I must admit that, initially, I felt that we'd made a mistake when we first arrived, however, by the time we left we had decided it was the PERFECT place to holiday. (NB: I would not particularly choose this resort except for the superb facilities that also happen to work for people with babies / children).

So.....the downside: the whole Sani "resort" was built as a new marina a couple of years ago. As with anything purpose built, it's great in many senses but somewhat lacking in atmosphere. The Sani marina itself is a lovely place to walk round in the evenings. There are some great restaurants, including the Japanese restaurant where we had some superb food (there are chefs there from Nobu in New York and Roka in London). Tomato is superb too, as is the pretty "local" Greek taverna with whitewashed walls and blue chairs.

The resort has quite a broad appeal in terms of the fact that there are several hotels dotted around, all with different star-ratings. The Asterias Suites is the most "boutique" and five star, however, there are some other fairly price sensitive hotels. This means that you get a great mix of people in the marina / resort - read into this what you will!

On the plus sides, we thought the Asterias Suites was fantastic. The main restaurant at the hotel serves truly sensational food. The bar is pretty cool too. The pool is very lovely and gently shelves from the edge (ie: a couple of inches deep) so it's great for babies to sit and play in for hours on end. There is also a lovely beach with great beach service ie: drinks / icecreams etc. There's also a free 30 minute "Babe watch" service to look after your kids, after which is chargeable. The rooms themselves work incredibly well for people with kids. As you enter, there's a lovely living room (great to put a cot in) and then a bedroom off it. Our baby slept in the living room which meant the babysitter could sit in our bedroom to watch TV. As there are French doors from both the living room and bedroom leading onto the terrace (with sofa / chairs / 2 sun loungers etc) you can access the Suite from the garden rather than having to go in via the living room. Also, if your baby is sleeping during the day, you can have lunch on your beautiful terrace & then sunbathe in the garden. I know this review sounds incredibly biased towards the experience with kids, however, it really does work so well! However, for those people without kids (and we're the kind of people who don't like to see other people's kids after 7pm at the latest) I think it can still work well. NB: the hotel think the best suites are the ones facing the beach, but actually many guests, like us, preferred the poolside ones - they're only a step away from the beach too. Finally, one last thing I forgot to mention - it's a great transfer from the airport - only 1 hour. We would give it a 10/10 for travelling with a baby and it's also great value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank S Boyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2007

Like a couple of the previous posters, we were surprised to find ourselves being rushed to the resort in a taxi that had clearly seen better days with our luggage hanging out of the boot. A rather "unusual" transfer and in stark contrast to the resort car we were provided with for the return

We stayed in one of the beach front suites - well equipped, clean and as far as we were concerned very comfortable. Not so for our children (12 and 9) who found their fold-down beds particularly uncomfortable even with a second mattress

There were a number of things that we really liked about the resort. Where else in Europe can you be guaranteed to get four sunbeds together in the sun or shade, by the pool or by the sea, in the middle of July at 11:30 am? The service was friendly and informal yet professional throughout. The Spa was excellent, and pretty good value too. The Marina offered a good quality range of dinner options - we liked See You Up (ridiculous name but good Japanese, allbeit with a strange interpretation of sashimi). Tomata was mixed but could be excellent and the daily specials seemed to go very quickly. The pizza restaurant was just about OK and the "traditional" Greek near the newsagent was great for lunch. The Water restaurant in the hotel itself was excellent for dinner too although the very good daily specials were the same each day

Lunch in the hotel was one of the few let-downs - a rather "heavy" menu that took a long time to serve. But we could go elsewhere and the flexibility was one of the highlights of a very successful relaxing break

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank seagulls77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2007

We have stayed in the Beach Standard Suite for 12 nights at the end of June- beg July this year with two kids of 4.5 and 2.5. I was sorry to read the previous negative review as for the money that you pay for the Suite you are definitely going to be disappointed should you suffer what the author of the review did. Luckily nothing like this happened to us: we had two taxies waiting for us to take us and the luggage: yes they were ordinary taxies, very hot when we got inside but ok. On the way back it was a nice large car belonging to the resort and a lady at the airpot meeting us with the trolley ready on hand. We have never had any problems with the beach beds while leaving our belongings there for the most part of the day while our litte one was sleeping in the room: we found the beach perfect for kids, shallow, warm and safe if a bit dirty. Our kids loved the swimming pool and again no swimming trunks turned green.. there were very few people in the pool and it has nice features so the kids were happy. The pool service was also very good.

We thought that the room cleaning could be improved and the timing of the evening service timed better but otherwise nothing much to complain.

We didnt like the fact that the dirty cups and glasses were left outside the door for few hours and we even had a broken glass just outside the door which took few attempts from the staff to clean properly!

These were of course annoying small things but overall the staff was very good, friendly and competent, always there for you. The Club car drivers were particulary friendly, our kids loved to go down to the marina on this small cars.

Other nice things: very good beds for kids: they loved them straight away with special beddings. Spacious room, 30 seconds to the beach, good variety of places to eat..

It has been a very relaxing and truly enjoyable holiday for the whole family.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MatiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sani
0.2 mi away
Sani Dunes
Sani Dunes
#1 of 6 in Sani
183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Porto Sani
Porto Sani
#3 of 6 in Sani
931 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sani Beach
Sani Beach
#5 of 6 in Sani
3,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sani Club
Sani Club
#4 of 6 in Sani
1,539 reviews
6.7 mi away
Achtis Hotel
Achtis Hotel
#1 of 9 in Afitos
1,112 reviews
2.4 mi away
Simantro Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sani Asterias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sani Asterias

Address: Sani Resort, Sani 630 77, Greece
Region: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Sani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sani
#2 Spa Hotel in Sani
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sani
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sani
Price Range: £205 - £1,637 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sani Asterias 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The turquoise waters of the Aegean gently lap the soft golden sands that enticingly await outside your door. The intimate Sani Asterias Suites are sublimely elegant with each luxuriously styled suite designed to make your stay truly memorable. Michelin-starred executive chefs have excelled themselves with a menu that both surprises and delights, and our team take great pleasure in meeting your every need.This luxury boutique hotel in a private beach setting sits comfortably in its own serenely landscaped surrounds with inspiring views over the tranquil ocean and direct access to its own exclusive beach. Everything you need is at hand and we are always more than happy to accommodate special requests however we can. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Prestigia, Expedia, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sani Asterias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sani Asterias Hotel Sani
Hotel Sani Asterias
Sani Asterias Suites
Sani Asterias Halkidiki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing